Weezer [2001]

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 151 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 151

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 11, 2016
    7
    A successful comeback in its own right following a 5-year layoff from the limelight. Rivers was clearly still embarrassed at the time about Pinkerton and so the lyrics here are not very personal or retrospective. But like the music, they are still a lot of fun, all at a digestible 28 minutes.
  2. Apr 1, 2016
    6
    An enjoyable pop album. Some of the tunes are too mainstream for my tastes and aren't as exciting on the material on Pinkerton or Blue, but you can't go wrong with Photograph or Island in the Sun.
  3. Feb 24, 2016
    7
    The overall happiness and upbeat sound of The Green Album makes for one of Weezer's best albums they've made. Some of the band's essential songs appear on here, with the gentle Island In The Sun, the pot anthem Hash Pipe, and the pop love song Photograph.
  4. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    9/10 .................................................................................................................................................
  5. Jan 27, 2015
    6
    This album is not fantastic, but it's impossible to dislike. It's so irresistibly simple that you can't hate it. It's solid all the way through, and while it doesn't offer anything extra spectacular, it's consistent and unassuming. I don't know what it is about Weezer, but every one of their albums grows on me. I don't really get tired of them, no matter how much I convince myself they'reThis album is not fantastic, but it's impossible to dislike. It's so irresistibly simple that you can't hate it. It's solid all the way through, and while it doesn't offer anything extra spectacular, it's consistent and unassuming. I don't know what it is about Weezer, but every one of their albums grows on me. I don't really get tired of them, no matter how much I convince myself they're just average. Expand
  6. Sep 29, 2014
    5
    While the album is more upbeat and fun than it's predecessor, the writing is very bland, uninspired, and rushed. Which makes no sense since it's been almost 6 years sine the last one! I do feel that there are a few saving graces though. For starters, the energy is here, clocking in at just 30 minutes. This allows for some really fast paced power pop rockers, such as Hash Pipe and Don'tWhile the album is more upbeat and fun than it's predecessor, the writing is very bland, uninspired, and rushed. Which makes no sense since it's been almost 6 years sine the last one! I do feel that there are a few saving graces though. For starters, the energy is here, clocking in at just 30 minutes. This allows for some really fast paced power pop rockers, such as Hash Pipe and Don't Let Go. And Island in the Sun and O Girlfriend are super sweet, diabetic, geeky charms that show Weezer's softer side. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    Definitely not Weezer's best *coughPinkertoncough* but a solid album nonetheless. This is the kind of album that deserves to just be listened to straight through- a task which is, sadly, over in less than half an hour. Short but sweet, carefree power pop at its finest.
  8. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    The guitar work on the album is different than the first two but is still as great. Don't Let Go, Simple Pages, and Island in the Sun are my highlights of the album.
  9. Apr 8, 2013
    8
    Rivers have again shown that his songwriting hasn't gone down with the split up after Pinkerton. Though the two first albums are absolutely outstanding Weezer has still created an album that contains hit singles as well as other great "non single" songs. Sure, some of the brilliance has gotten away, compare "Falling for you" with "O girlfriend" for example, but it's still a great recordRivers have again shown that his songwriting hasn't gone down with the split up after Pinkerton. Though the two first albums are absolutely outstanding Weezer has still created an album that contains hit singles as well as other great "non single" songs. Sure, some of the brilliance has gotten away, compare "Falling for you" with "O girlfriend" for example, but it's still a great record that deserves attention. Expand
  10. Jun 25, 2012
    8
    Weezer's first 2 albums are absolute classics. Green, the bands 3rd record doesn't quite match up but is still a very strong record and still sounds great a decade after it's initial release. It's got the fantastic Island in the Sun and Hash Pipe, two of the bands best tracks. It's got a couple of other really strong tracks (Photograph, Glorious Days, Oh Girlfriend) as well butWeezer's first 2 albums are absolute classics. Green, the bands 3rd record doesn't quite match up but is still a very strong record and still sounds great a decade after it's initial release. It's got the fantastic Island in the Sun and Hash Pipe, two of the bands best tracks. It's got a couple of other really strong tracks (Photograph, Glorious Days, Oh Girlfriend) as well but unfortunately too much of the record doesn't have the edgy quirkiness that made their first 2 records so great. It almost feels a bit sanitised. I don't feel they ever struck the right balance between killer tunes and quirkiness after Pinkerton and I would say Green and Maladroit were their last really good records. Expand
  11. j30
    Aug 15, 2011
    7
    Their most forgivable album, but this where they started to stray. I started listening to them when this record came out. "Photograph" and "Island in the Sun" are great Weezer songs
  12. Sep 7, 2010
    9
    Solid effort from Weezer... Probably third best album behind The Blue Album and Pinkerton, "Island in the Sun" is especially fun live and the songs flow nicely and make for a hell of a listen.
  13. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    Nothing can compare to Blue and Pinkerton, but Green manages to hold its own and deliver a very good pop rock album. All of the songs are catchy and you can listen to the whole album in just 30 minutes. Not as deep as most Weezer records, I still find myself listening to it if I just want good fun rock.
  14. BenjaminT
    Jun 28, 2007
    8
    it was a good album. it was a change from the blue album and pinkerton. but i like it. no song is bad on this album, and some songs are just pure awesome. one thing a didnt really like about the album is alot ( almost all) guitar solos were the product of duplicating the melody of the chorus. but overall, a good album
  15. Jazza
    Mar 7, 2007
    2
    Absolute garbage, the most agonising half hour of my life. (I actually thought it could get better)
  16. mated
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    of course, you can't compare Weezers Green Album to their prior work. TGA is a beautiful Pop Album with fantastic melodies and a sing-a-long feeling.
  17. HomieBB
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    this is weezers best album
  18. dannys
    May 28, 2005
    10
    good
  19. Jonas
    May 13, 2005
    2
    Oh, this album makes me so sad. What have you done Weezer? What have you done Rivers? The songs are so shallow and lacking of depth, while in comparison to Pinkerton and Blue. But this..this..thing, I cannot begin to believe was made by the same artist. Why?! I am sad that Weezer will never be the same again. I give 2 for Island in the sun, Hash Pipe is okay too, but I also give points Oh, this album makes me so sad. What have you done Weezer? What have you done Rivers? The songs are so shallow and lacking of depth, while in comparison to Pinkerton and Blue. But this..this..thing, I cannot begin to believe was made by the same artist. Why?! I am sad that Weezer will never be the same again. I give 2 for Island in the sun, Hash Pipe is okay too, but I also give points because I once loved Weezer. Now they are gone. Expand
  20. BenA
    May 6, 2005
    10
    This album is different from Blue and Pinkerton. It's straightoforward chord pop without all the versitality of the previous two. Its still great though, and should be welcome as a bunch of catchy songs that are fun. I find it to be incredible if I can get away from constantly comparing it to their other albums. Its different. Its still good!
  21. JohnM
    Apr 25, 2005
    6
    Admit it, compared to the blue album and pinkerton this album is flat.
  22. Spree
    Sep 13, 2004
    7
    This is a great album, though not as good as Pinkerton...
  23. Jonas
    Jul 17, 2004
    3
    They should have stopped at number 2, when they were perfect.
  24. superman
    Jan 4, 2004
    9
    needs a couple more tracks to be perfect
  25. ShaunT.
    Dec 15, 2003
    8
    Weezer's sugar-coated Green Album is a simple, short album that suffers a bit because of its length. The hands-down best song on this CD is the sardonic, humorous hit, 'Hash Pipe', which tells the story of a hooker in such a jolly-sounding way that your mother would even enjoy hearing it. Other stand-out tracks include 'Island in the Sun' and 'Knock-down, Weezer's sugar-coated Green Album is a simple, short album that suffers a bit because of its length. The hands-down best song on this CD is the sardonic, humorous hit, 'Hash Pipe', which tells the story of a hooker in such a jolly-sounding way that your mother would even enjoy hearing it. Other stand-out tracks include 'Island in the Sun' and 'Knock-down, Drag-out'. More hard-edged tracks would definately make this CD more enjoyable, but goodie-goodie rock doesn't get any better than this! It's too bad that its running time is slightly under 1/2 hour, though... Expand
  26. RyanT
    Oct 3, 2002
    6
    Basically its a second rate version of the blue album. Besides Hash Pipe, and Island in the Sun all the songs are basically blue album like retreads.
  27. IziT
    Aug 23, 2002
    8
    I think it's a great effort. Not one of the best albums in the world (that's why it's not a 10), but you have to admit it's a LOT better than most of the albums being released today. Not as good as the Blue album (which I think gets an 9). Well, it's been in my cd player for the last 48 hours. I mean, you can't expect albums tha deserve 10 all the time, so I think it's a great effort. Not one of the best albums in the world (that's why it's not a 10), but you have to admit it's a LOT better than most of the albums being released today. Not as good as the Blue album (which I think gets an 9). Well, it's been in my cd player for the last 48 hours. I mean, you can't expect albums tha deserve 10 all the time, so don't complain! Expand
  28. djdj
    Apr 11, 2002
    0
    horrible i cant believe this is weezer
  29. DaniloS
    Mar 17, 2002
    6
    In my opinion, blue album's melodies were far more elaborated than those from this album. It seems to me that I'll soon get tired of them, unfortunately. Where is their amazing creativity that made them my favorite band?
  30. GuidoR.
    Nov 25, 2001
    10
    It´s only Weezer
  31. Kate
    Oct 25, 2001
    10
    ahhhh i love these guys
  32. wiggyc.
    Oct 23, 2001
    10
    this album really is classic, i could listen to the thing on repeat for hours...
  33. kt
    Oct 17, 2001
    9
    photograph is awesome
  34. DanielP.
    Oct 16, 2001
    10
    They've once again proved true to be the best band out there...welcome back!
  35. EthanW.
    Oct 5, 2001
    10
    I dont know about u guys, but this album is still great no matter what.
  36. StephenD.
    Sep 25, 2001
    10
    each album is better than the last
  37. StephenD.
    Sep 25, 2001
    10
    each album is better than the last
  38. AaronL.
    Sep 13, 2001
    10
    I bought this album as soon as it came out. I have always been a major Weezer fan since their first single Buddy Holly. I found this cd is exactly what Weezer fans want. Weezer keeps their songs short, but sweet, very sweet. Never once did I have to stop my cd player because of a song I didn't like. This is a definate buy for Weezer fans, as for people who just heard of Weezer, well I bought this album as soon as it came out. I have always been a major Weezer fan since their first single Buddy Holly. I found this cd is exactly what Weezer fans want. Weezer keeps their songs short, but sweet, very sweet. Never once did I have to stop my cd player because of a song I didn't like. This is a definate buy for Weezer fans, as for people who just heard of Weezer, well I don't know... Expand
  39. GeorgeL.
    Sep 10, 2001
    10
    Yeah Buddy!
  40. DanielM.
    Sep 9, 2001
    9
    needless to say, anything by weezer is bound to be good. by far pinkerton is their best album with it's more diverse musical arrangements but the green album definately rocks! i can't wait for their next album.
  41. KevinP.
    Aug 31, 2001
    10
    This album matches their first one. I can't wait for the next one.
  42. ZezeN.
    Aug 19, 2001
    10
    Definitely a 10...this CD rocks!
  43. nincc
    Aug 17, 2001
    10
    hell yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  44. emily
    Aug 9, 2001
    10
    I bought this album recently, and I think it is one of the best CDs I've ever listened to. If you were alienated by Pinkerton, this album will once again endear Rivers and the rest of the boys to you. To put it simply, it rocks.
  45. DianaM.
    Jul 29, 2001
    9
    This is the second best Cd this year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  46. HollyR.
    Jul 28, 2001
    8
    This album is really good. I didn't give it a 10 just because I think it could have been better. By better I mean more on the lines of Pinkerton's sound. I love Pinkerton, all the emmotions in River's lyrics. To me it's the perfect album. But The Green Album doesn't show those emmotions that I love. Don't get me wrong...i really really like the album, This album is really good. I didn't give it a 10 just because I think it could have been better. By better I mean more on the lines of Pinkerton's sound. I love Pinkerton, all the emmotions in River's lyrics. To me it's the perfect album. But The Green Album doesn't show those emmotions that I love. Don't get me wrong...i really really like the album, it's just not another Pinkerton. Expand
  47. Emma
    Jul 27, 2001
    10
    This album was totally worth the wait! Rivers Cuomo is a brilliant guy. It totally rocks, I listen to it at least once a day, Weezer rule!!
  48. Erin
    Jul 17, 2001
    10
    this is the perfect album! if u don't have it get it they totally rock!!!! rivers is a total genius!
  49. jeNNNa...............
    Jul 10, 2001
    10
    the best yet! all the albums are wicked awsome! a must buy! If you don't like it then download their newest stuff. can't wait for their next one due out by the end of this year!
  50. LanetteH.
    Jul 10, 2001
    10
    Its so cool. they always have great music!! GO WEEZER!!
  51. jaygee
    Jun 17, 2001
    10
    Awesome!!!!
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. The 11 tracks trundle along in a generally inoffensive slipstream of occasionally admirable but mainly dull AOR silliness.
  2. Feels a bit repetitive and perfunctory the first time through, but it's resolutely unpretentious and airtight throughout, without a wasted moment or false move.
  3. Weezer have faced their challenge with confident, easy-going nonchalance, offering one hell of a tight little record.