Weezer (Red Album)

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Jun 3, 2008
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 161

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisK.
    Jan 15, 2009
    3
    if weezer's debut was a 10 and pinkerton an 8.5 this is a 3 at best. weezer was the first album i ever bought and i'm embarassed that 14 years later this is what they've come up with. "everybody get dangerous"? who do they think they're singing to?
  2. SandenoS.
    Jun 10, 2008
    2
    Awful awful stuff, this record will destroy this band.
  3. TomK
    Jun 5, 2008
    0
    Biggest let down since Make Believe.
  4. PaulC
    Jun 6, 2008
    3
    Bland and boring.
  5. JackG.
    Jun 6, 2008
    2
    These guys should just quit. This music is disgusting.
  6. TomH.
    Jun 7, 2008
    3
    Worst album in the Weezer catalog. 2 good songs on standard album, 1 extra on the Limited Edition. Cuomo rapping, really?
  7. DW
    Jun 17, 2008
    0
    Horrendous. A malformed abortion of an album with no focus, no themes, no art. The biggest waste of $1 million ever spent by humanity.
  8. MikeC
    Jun 3, 2008
    3
    While it is a step up from the god awful "Make Believe" it is still a very very bad record. It leaves one wondering the eternal question, "How did weezer get this bad?"
  9. ArikK.
    Jun 6, 2008
    1
    I can't think of a positive thing to say about this album. It does make me feel bad for Weezer though. The one point I gave them was a pity point.
  10. TBone
    Jun 7, 2008
    3
    Yes, sad to say, it's over for weezer. Blue album and pinkerton were defining for the 90s, but other 90s heroes have lapped the hell out of weezer. This album makes me think they should hang it up... Thom Yorke, Stephen Malkmus and Beck have all released much better stuff than this in 2008. Hell, Kurt Cobain could probably best this effort.
  11. JohnC.
    Jul 8, 2008
    0
    I have done a full listen scott v And this album is a complete let down. What happened to this band?
  12. sydneyo.
    Aug 5, 2008
    2
    What happened to this band? thought they were better than this... they seem so pathetic on this album! wat a shame. i liked thembetter a long time ago.
  13. Michelle
    Jun 19, 2008
    0
    If I didn't already know it was Weezer, I'd be saying, "Who's this awful band that's trying to sound like Weezer?" What a shame. The most ironic thing is that Rivers specifically wrote a song about refusing to sell out, and ended up making the most contrived piece of garbage imaginable. I could have tolerated this from any other band. Not Weezer.
  14. JustinC.
    Jun 4, 2008
    3
    Just really disappointing. When I saw the Pork and Beans video I thought that this album would be awesome, but in the end it just didn't work out.
  15. moonwaffle6
    Jun 4, 2008
    2
    You know it's bad when the best song on the album is the one you let the drummer sing.
  16. MartinL
    Jun 7, 2008
    0
    Weezer has become the pit of jokes in the music community, and this album is a perfect reason why. The band claims to be experimenting by allowing other members to provide lead vocals, but instead it comes off as some sort of mid life crisis, a band trying desperately to appear cool, but instead failing to do so. The album may have 1 or 2 decent tracks, but as a whole it fails - miserably Weezer has become the pit of jokes in the music community, and this album is a perfect reason why. The band claims to be experimenting by allowing other members to provide lead vocals, but instead it comes off as some sort of mid life crisis, a band trying desperately to appear cool, but instead failing to do so. The album may have 1 or 2 decent tracks, but as a whole it fails - miserably (Cold Dark World, Heart Songs are some of the worst material I have heard all year). Expand
  17. TomJ.
    Jun 19, 2008
    1
    Wow, I'm surprised by the amount of ratings above 5. This album is truly terrible. It goes one step further into the mindset that Weezer writes material that is witty, humorous and ironic, where in fact there was a time that Cuomo honestly adored music and wrote his true feelings without attempting to relate to the mainstream and it was matched by music that wasn't remastered Wow, I'm surprised by the amount of ratings above 5. This album is truly terrible. It goes one step further into the mindset that Weezer writes material that is witty, humorous and ironic, where in fact there was a time that Cuomo honestly adored music and wrote his true feelings without attempting to relate to the mainstream and it was matched by music that wasn't remastered pop rock. The new sound doesn't bode well for the future, as that the majority of 90's fans have been completely rejected. Please breakup. Expand
  18. PaulB.
    Jun 19, 2008
    2
    Nothing like the bands beginning, and far more immature, which is weird for a bunch of old dudes. Obnoxious at times.
  19. AlisaM.
    Jun 19, 2008
    2
    I only enjoyed Pork & Beans, The Angel and the One, and King from the Deluxe version. Do Not Spend Money This Album!
  20. JoeG.
    Jun 19, 2008
    0
    Didn't like anything past the Blue Album, do not like the bands modern sound and this album is by far the worst. Thanks Weezer. Does anyone remember Undone?
  21. JulieM.
    Jun 19, 2008
    1
    I feel like I cannot relate to this band anymore. Make Believe was terrible, terribly pop, but this, man, I can't even comprehend some of this drool.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. Cuomo turns the mic over to the other three members of Weezer for a song each (the best: "Automatic," sung by drummer Pat Wilson), unironically salutes the influence of Nirvana ("Heart Songs") and marries fake crowd noise and piano to the thick power chords of "Greatest Man." Rock on.
  2. A number of plays through and it’s still not clear who, exactly, the band are taking the proverbial out of: themselves, playfully and absolutely intentionally, or us, fans who’ve become conditioned to not expecting the best from a band who, personally, have been a shadow of themselves since that first ‘sequel’ release.
  3. Like the YouTube culture the "Pork and Beans" video depicts so well, the song--and this album--relies on a high quantity of short-lived pretty good ideas to distract from a shortage of great ones.