Weezer (Red Album)

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Weezer (Red Album) Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 160 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth studio album for the Los Angeles band was produced by Rick Rubin and Jacknife Lee.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. A cheerfully restless record, one where all the parts don't fit and it's better because of it, as it has a wild, willing personality, suggesting that Weezer is comfortable as a band in a way they never quite have been before.
  2. Q Magazine
    80
    Everything is supercharged and melodic, like a poppy version of Nirvana. [July 2008, p.111]
  3. There are a few clunkers, and the three songs sung by other band members don't add much, but the so-called "Red Album" is better for its unevenness.
  4. All in all, this is pretty good album and it is by no means horrible.
  5. Aside from a few missteps like 'Everybody Get Dangerous,' there really isn’t anything to get all pissy about here because it’s an older Weezer willing to take a few chances and still doing what they want to do.
  6. Like the YouTube culture the "Pork and Beans" video depicts so well, the song--and this album--relies on a high quantity of short-lived pretty good ideas to distract from a shortage of great ones.
  7. Weezer seems to have driven their old shtick into the ground so perfectly, it almost seems like they've purposely become tired and boring.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 85
  2. Negative: 21 out of 85
  1. BlakeW
    Oct 5, 2008
    10
    First off , buy the deluxe album . If you don't you're an Idiot. Secondly , these guys are progressing on every album (minus make First off , buy the deluxe album . If you don't you're an Idiot. Secondly , these guys are progressing on every album (minus make believe). Tehy will never sound like the blue album or pinkerton ever again so the cool thing for peopel to do is bash them. but let's cut the crap, Pork and Beans was a #1 song for a while , this album is great and brings Weezer back on track from the last album that was MEH. This band is growing and people don't wanna let it grow , it's a shame. This Album kicks ass as well as the band itself. Expand
  2. jro
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    I love this cd. Weezer has been a favorite of mine for a long time, but they almost lost me with efforts like "maladroit." But every "color" I love this cd. Weezer has been a favorite of mine for a long time, but they almost lost me with efforts like "maladroit." But every "color" album has been great, with the "red" album finishing a close 2nd to the incredible debut "blue." So come on folks, "everybody get dangerous." Expand
  3. R.H.
    Jun 7, 2008
    9
    It's truly remarkable how critics will bash a band for being too predictable, only to complain when their next album is wildly It's truly remarkable how critics will bash a band for being too predictable, only to complain when their next album is wildly different. The criticism for "Make Believe" was mostly deserved, but critics are way off-base for this one. This album is without a doubt the band's best since Pinkerton and needs time to grow. The songwriting is daring and succeeds on most fronts. Cuomo could have easily churned out another Green Album or Make Believe, but takes the band in a bold new direction. The deluxe edition is certainly recommended since it contains 3 of the best tracks that Cuomo has ever written. Erase all expectations for what a Weezer album should sound like and give it a fresh listen. It's a grower. This album will be hailed as one of their best many years from now. Expand
  4. AdamP.
    Jun 4, 2008
    8
    I find the critic reviews hilarious in their range. It's almost as if they haven't paid attention to Weezer's discography I find the critic reviews hilarious in their range. It's almost as if they haven't paid attention to Weezer's discography other than just the Blue Album. You may not find too many top 40/video songs here, but the song writing and arrangement are extremely entertaining. Songs twist and turn direction, seldom staying on pace for more than a few minutes at a time. My only beef is the second track, it seriously disrupts the tempo and would probably fit better latter in the disc with the B sides. Check it out, and force yourself not to skip any songs, they will string you a long just for a later payoff. Expand
  5. ChrisM.
    Jun 6, 2008
    7
    I agree word for word with the NME review. This is a fun, light hearted album in the vien of Maladroit . . . which I also enjoyed. Nobody I agree word for word with the NME review. This is a fun, light hearted album in the vien of Maladroit . . . which I also enjoyed. Nobody does power pop better; weezer is one of the truly funny bands out there. Not many records can intentionally make me laugh out loud. Expand
  6. Nique
    Jun 12, 2008
    4
    without the bonus tracks on this cd the rating would be lower. There are exactly 4 songs on this cd worth a damn. The drummer song hasnt made without the bonus tracks on this cd the rating would be lower. There are exactly 4 songs on this cd worth a damn. The drummer song hasnt made it past 5 seconds after the 1st time I heard it. wow is it bad. Expand
  7. TomK
    Jun 5, 2008
    0
    Biggest let down since Make Believe.

See all 85 User Reviews