Welcome 2 My Nightmare Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The theatrical rock singer returns with the long-awaited sequel to his classic 1975 album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 28, 2011
    This is both an unpredictable, risk-taking venture and the truest hearted Alice Cooper album in many years. [10 Sep 2011, p.52]
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    Alice may be the star but much of the success of Welcome 2 My Nightmare is due to the man behind the curtain, as Ezrin gives this album flair and focus that not only make it an unexpectedly successful sequel but the best Alice Cooper record in decades.
  3. Oct 13, 2011
    With the band firing off riffs and the songwriting top drawer, Cooper sounds like he is having a lot of fun.
  4. Dec 22, 2011
    This new nightmare falls short of the original, with several songs misfiring. [Nov 2011, p.93]
  5. Sep 12, 2011
    The fun comes when he abandons the sequel concept in favor of a New Wave duet with Ke$ha and a decades- tardy anti-disco tune ("Disco Bloodbath Boogie Fever") in which Alice tries to rap. Slapstick was always his strong suit.
  6. Oct 6, 2011
    Ultimately, the only nightmarish aspect about Welcome 2 My Nightmare is how dully predictable it is.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Mar 3, 2013
    Welcome 2 My Nightmare is one of those albums that is not only as good as it's predecessor, but it may even be better. It's concept is much like the original, but it has a new story that is a continuation of a story, and not a rehash. Expand
  2. Apr 8, 2013
    Welcome 2 My Nightmare is a good album with some excelent songs and others quite disappointing. I'll Bite Your Face Off, Something To Remember Me By and The Congregation are part of the first group of songs, as well as the "unconventional" Disco Bloodbath Boogie Fever (wonderful lyrics!). The best example for the second group is surely What Baby Wants, with the unhappy attempt to get closer to pop hits (why Ke$ha?). However, this album is worth buying. Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2011
    Although it may lack the shiver down the spine brilliance of the original, Alice's WELCOME 2 MY NIGHTMARE shows a true return to form for the shock rocker, after the somewhat lacklustre performance of ALONG CAME A SPIDER. The opening song, I AM MADE OF YOU, features Alice's first ever foray into auto-tuning, resulting in an other-worldly tone that perfectly sets up the weirdness to follow. THE LAST MAN ON EARTH is an instant classic, with the paranoid delusions of Alice's I AM LEGEND existence mixed with a old school arrangements. Musical echoes of 1975's original album are sprinkled throughout, but Alice is at his best WHEN HELL COMES HOME and he still inspires a cackle in tracks like I'LL BITE YOUR FACE OFF and WHAT BABY WANTS. Never exactly subtle, Alice has easily the best sense of humour in rock and roll, and fans will be pleased with what he and producer Bob Ezrin have crafted here. Expand