• Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Sep 30, 2008

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Mojo
    This bunch of Southend art school layabouts, constrastingly, really cut the mustard, kicking up a distinctively murky din. [Oct 2008, p.108]
  2. Ultimately, it's not that XX Teens throw everything including the kitchen sink at it, but rather that they drink everything under the sink and wait to see what happens. Welcome To Good Island is that kind of experience.
  3. Even if it’s not an instant classic, Welcome to Goon Island is a lot of fun, with its big booming drum cadences and excitable, yelp-prone voices.
  4. It's a hook to beat all hooks in the middle of a desolate recording: a desolate recording that demands several listens to truly penetrate but has worthwhile payoffs subtly placed throughout.
  5. It's not always hitting the mark, but over the course of eleven tracks and just under forty minutes, XX Teens certainly show they have some chops to keep an eye on.
  6. Too much nothing, too much that sort of fits… let’s go with it; not enough time spent on making the musical corners as sharp and interesting as they could be.
  7. Their power lies in drummer Pinstripe's jerky rhythms, which propel the band's adventures without lingering anywhere very long, which is sometimes a good thing.
  8. Uncut
    Peer behind the pose, owever, and you'll find a sparky outfit whose towering tunes, such as 'Sun comes Up,' match their lofty ideas. [Sep 2008, p.115]
  9. It sounds a bit like they're trying too hard, trying to be too clever in their pursuit of "technicolour joy".
  10. 30
    This is the sound of five British lads wanking about, unsuccessfully attempting to write ballsy yet progressive sounding rock/punk anthems when their musical calculations are painfully transparent.
  11. Under The Radar
    Welcome to Goon Island never seems to find dry land. [Winter 2008]
  12. By trying to define they’re own specific legacy, they’re actually ramming it down their listener's throats, and daring the music world to question them.

There are no user reviews yet.