Welcome To Mali - Amadou & Mariam
Welcome To Mali Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The African duo met at a school for the blind and have since written a song for the 2006 World Cup and their latest album features production by Damon Albarn.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 100
    Where Manu Chao might have smoothed off some of the rough edges during his spell as co-producer, this album positively celebrates those grungier moments.
  2. Welcome To Mali sounds heavily produced but not overproduced, and even with the pings and whizzing, Amadou’s playing and the pair’s singing insure it never sounds less than organic.
  3. Like all of Welcome To Mali, the underpinnings of 'I Think Of You' are fantastically layered, with a combination of precision timing and in-the-moment passion. [Winter 2009, p.68]
  4. A couple of 50 year olds have just made the most vibrant, youthful record you'll hear all year. What's not to love?
  5. Truely, a voyage of discovery. [Jan 2009, p.121]
  6. This is Amadou and Mariam's album, and their Africa-pop crossover success continues.
  7. If the album is frustratingly uneven--if, despite moments of exuberance, it can also feel like a mundane grind--well, I suspect that also mirrors life in Mali. And almost everywhere else, too.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. danielh.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    Fantastic, I love them!!!!
  2. JesseR.
    Dec 12, 2008
    10
    awesome.. album of the year..
  3. JohnP.
    Feb 4, 2009
    10
    Some do just what they can, others shoot for the stars. This album is a stunning masterpiece, and what some people can't seem to understand, is the fact that this album was created in attempt of perfecting the balance of complexity and simplicity. Neither is the perfect route to success, though like a political party, many subscribe to a pole rather than a balance of the two. This album travels great distance in an attempt to blend a wide variety of musical backgrounds, exposing what the "dull" lyrics as described below stretch to yell, that there is much more to Africa than tribal rhythms and chants. Amadou and Mariam reach there mark, and then some. Expand
  4. WillB.
    Dec 12, 2008
    9
    On the one hand, I'm not qualified to speak about this album, since I have not heard the rest of their catalogue. On the other hand, if there is any other album out right now that can top this for catchiness, poignancy, musical genius, good times, back story, and a healthy multiplier of long-time-coming, please show it to me. Expand
  5. brendank.
    Dec 6, 2008
    8
    This was my first introduction to this duo and loved them. But I have to admit that if you like this album, you will LOVE their earlier album 'Dimanche à Bamako'. Both are excellent Collapse
  6. Liamd
    Feb 26, 2009
    7
    After all the hype this album got, and after Dimanche a Bamako (their last album) which is one of my favourite albums of the last few years, I can't help feelling just a little disappointed. It's a great album, no mistake, but it's very similar to the last album, and the last album had better tunes (Sabali aside, which is a stonking track). If you've never heard of these two before and are wondering which album to get to give them a try, go for Dimanche a Bamako. Expand
  7. GillI
    Feb 4, 2009
    0
    Sorry guys but i can't rate this clone of Manu Chao higher. Absolutely nothing interesting to listen.

See all 19 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2009

    The Best Albums of 2009 Image
    Published: December 29, 2009
    We recap the best-reviewed albums of 2009 and collect dozens of music critic top ten lists to determine the best album of the year. While the results point to a clear winner, you can listen to songs from the top 50 albums to help you find your own favorites.