Welcome To: Our House - Slaughterhouse
Welcome To: Our House Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length release from the rap supergroup features guest appearances from Eminem, Busta Rhymes, Skylar Grey, Cee-Lo Green, and Swizz Beatz.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    With welcome to: OUR HOUSE, Slaughterhouse has somehow managed to improve upon its already-absurd skill set.
  2. Sep 13, 2012
    80
    The debut was unexpectedly good and remains a classic. The official sequel to it was EXPECTED to be good and it is.
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    80
    Slaughterhouse's debut album has plenty of cuts that should satisfy their old fans and at least a few that should attract new ones. [#255, p.96]
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    70
    At 16 tracks, 20 on the deluxe version, this album manages to work in more than a couple joints featuring some of the vicious rap hardcore fans were hoping for.
  5. Sep 6, 2012
    70
    Despite this abundance of raps about the unadulterated greatness of rapping, the Slaughterhouse four pull it off with extraordinary sincerity, and Our House avoids devolving into some tired treatise about how these guys make "real hip-hop" and other rappers don't.
  6. Aug 29, 2012
    70
    Crotch-grabbing tracks might crash into a convincing emo-rap number and these proven wordsmiths might have left more room for guests and hooks than they probably should have, but just because their indie debut was a more cohesive showcase doesn't mean the joy and pain of Welcome to Our House isn't worth the required sorting.
  7. Nov 21, 2012
    40
    It's executive producer Eminem and his tin ear for a beat who dominate the LP's direction--or, rather, lack of it. [Dec 2012, p.112]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    overall its a great album
    production could be smoother , cleaner and simply better but it's flaws are covered by group's lyricism 4 MCs are
    overall its a great album
    production could be smoother , cleaner and simply better but it's flaws are covered by group's lyricism 4 MCs are viscus as ever with their rhymes and on point flows and smart bars which can make you hit the rewind button over and over again
    tracks like Throw It Away , Throw That and Walk Of Shame seemed non-Slaughterish and could have been cut off of album and released on the mixtape , the same can be said for the mixtape, there are some great songs on mixtape that could've fit right in the album. songs like "Goodbye" are easily slaughter at its finest and are up there between their best works so far like "Move on" and "Rain Drops"
    this album grows on you with every listen and in songs like Our House (with Skylar's charming and soulful voice) you can easily feel their improvement (in song crafting) over their debut album which had perfect bars and perfect flows but they failed to use those bars to make great and well rounded songs
    its an 8/10 but i rate it 10 because haters will rate this album the lowest score possible
    Expand
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Album oviously took time art cant be rushed produced by the best rapper alive and the lyrical content is amazing right on point SlaughterAlbum oviously took time art cant be rushed produced by the best rapper alive and the lyrical content is amazing right on point Slaughter House is doing something different then other labels like Cash Records Young Money and thats what the industry need something different Shady Records all day Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    The lyrics are amazing. You will be sifting trough each bar and find a different meaning each time. Great album, must buy for hip hop fans.The lyrics are amazing. You will be sifting trough each bar and find a different meaning each time. Great album, must buy for hip hop fans. They are a force to be reckoned with. Collapse
  4. Sep 6, 2012
    8
    Really looked forward to this. Their crazy hot rite now. I think the group is like a modern day wu-tang (smaller in # of MC's tho'). They canReally looked forward to this. Their crazy hot rite now. I think the group is like a modern day wu-tang (smaller in # of MC's tho'). They can each lyrically hit the mic. Crooked I is the weakest in my opinion (like ODB was for wu-tang). Anyway, this release played like a mix tape. Budden was crazy hot on this. BUt seemed each song had a distinct order in which they hit the mic-almost always started by Royce da 5'9. Which, by the 3rd or so song became very predictable. Throw it away, Hammer dance and Rescue Me were my favs. Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2014
    6
    Gets a few things right, but many things wrong. As expected, this album tried to appeal to people who just wouldn't want to listen to thisGets a few things right, but many things wrong. As expected, this album tried to appeal to people who just wouldn't want to listen to this album. The more generic sound of this album upset loyal fans of the supergroup. Even with Eminem's backing and a new label pushing the CD, this album didn't have much of an impact and leaves a lot to desire for their next outing. Expand
  6. Sep 14, 2012
    5
    There are highs and lows with this album. Tracks like "Rescue Me", "Goodbye", and "Our House", are all great tracks. However, then there areThere are highs and lows with this album. Tracks like "Rescue Me", "Goodbye", and "Our House", are all great tracks. However, then there are tracks like "Asylum", "Throw That", and "Throw It Away", which make you scratch your head. Basically, like with most supergroups, Slaughterhouse have moments when they really click, but other times when they're underwhelming. Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    3
    Before everyone gets mad, I am a honest to god Slaughterhouse fan. I have their debut album as well as various solo albums. I thought theyBefore everyone gets mad, I am a honest to god Slaughterhouse fan. I have their debut album as well as various solo albums. I thought they were a very strong rap clique focused on furious lyricism and with the boost from Eminem, they had the potential to be in the same league as Wu-Tang Clan, Public Enemy, The Roots and many more in the "legendary rap group category." With a strong EP from Bad Meets Evil and an amazing job at the BET Hip Hop Awards Cypher.

    But this? This was nothing I expected, I mean this is bad. Very, VERY BAD! I mean not K-Fed level bad. But bad nonetheless. Where do I begin? First off, the production. Yes, I know the production should take passenger side to the lyrics. But these beats sound like leftovers from Recovery, they are as poppy as Lasers. The only songs that sound like traditional Slaughterhouse songs are Hammer Dance, Coffin & Die. Aside from that, songs like Park It Sideways & My Life are just too sugary for me. I'll admit I liked the title track song, probably because it has the only Eminem verse on this album, it's the only Alex Da Kid beat where it's not too poppy, and the only Skylar Grey hook that's not too emo. Speaking of hooks, what the **** is up with these trashy hooks? Cee-Lo is on the song My Life to give you a hook where he drops multiple f-bombs on you (where have I heard that before?), Swizz Beatz is as awful as ever on Throw It Away, Eminem sounds bored as hell on both Throw That & Asylum and Skylar Grey (again) sounds emo on Rescue Me. On Goodbye, Joe, Crooked and Joell all give very personal, very touching verses and then some anonymous singer delivers the worst hook on the album. Aside from that Flip A Bird, Throw It Away and Frat House are obvious reaches for the club and on the song Our Way (another song I liked), they had the balls to say they didn't compromise their integrity. But to be fair, that could be true, maybe they wanted this all along. But the On The House mixtape proves otherwise, pretty much delivering the album that should've been. I would've happily paid money for that mixtape over this. You might ask why I've talked so much about the hooks and choruses on the album, when Slaughterhouse were always about lyrics. Well that's because the lyrics are practically non-existant, because they are drowned out by hooks & beats that never should've been there in the first place.

    Sorry if this was too long winded, it's just that I respect Slaughterhouse too much to let them become everything they stood against. Say whatever you want about Radioactive, but at least Yelawolf, for the most part, kept true to his Trunk Muzik sound. But here, there's very little redeemability and a definite dissapointment.
    Expand