Welcome To The Monkey House Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth release for the Portland, Ore. four-piece is a trip through 70's glam- and 80s synth- rock, complete with contributions from Duran Duran's Simon Le Bon and Nick Rhodes (the latter produced much of the album), Chic's Nile Rogers, Bowie/T. Rex producer Tony Visconti, and, well, Evan Dando.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Clever and droll but also hypnotic and mysterious.
  2. 83
    The progression into synthetics and New Order-isms seems so natural, it's almost hard to imagine the Dandys could ever have made music any other way. [#7, p.86]
  3. 80
    It's arrogantly risky. That's their best feature. [Jun 2003, p.100]
  4. An unlikely but not unwieldy combination of New Order and later Sparks. [22/29 Aug 2003, p.132]
  5. 70
    Comes on like an evil Duran Duran making future music for damaged teens.... It's both disturbingly compelling and very, very wrong. [Jun 2003, p.112]
  6. Guest stars (from Simon LeBon to Tony Visconti) arrive at a faster clip than truly memorable songs, but the slick vibe allows the album to slink by until it arrives at bright spots like the transcendently trashy "You Were The Last High."
  7. These songs highlight the poseur mentality and insincerity that paradoxically plagues and blesses The Dandy Warhols.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. PaulS
    Oct 31, 2003
    10
    This has been probably my favourite release of the year. Its an irreverant take on 80's pop, and has some truely driving songs (in fact This has been probably my favourite release of the year. Its an irreverant take on 80's pop, and has some truely driving songs (in fact its what I use biking to work every day!). I actually think that its significantly better than 13 tales, which had some high spots but overall lacked the coherance of Monkey House. Collapse
  2. TysonB
    May 30, 2003
    10
    Wow. I'm not even a Dandies fan- I've heard less than ten of their songs from other albums- but after listening to this album, they Wow. I'm not even a Dandies fan- I've heard less than ten of their songs from other albums- but after listening to this album, they have been permanently added to my top 5 favorite groups. This CD is simply amazing. Expand
  3. JohnC
    Mar 6, 2007
    9
    Man .... I love this album and have played it more often than any other album I own.
  4. GinaF
    Mar 1, 2004
    8
    i love this album. i have a slight addiction to it. the lyrics are simple, and u can really feal the music as it plays. the first song i i love this album. i have a slight addiction to it. the lyrics are simple, and u can really feal the music as it plays. the first song i heard off the album was "we used to be friends" and i get it stuck in my head every day. Expand
  5. JustinA.
    Sep 17, 2003
    7
    A fun album you have to be in the right mood to enjoy. Very different than their last album musically, but most of the attitude, party feel, A fun album you have to be in the right mood to enjoy. Very different than their last album musically, but most of the attitude, party feel, and good tunes remain. Not intellectually or emotionally stimulating, but a good time for sure Expand
  6. EricY
    Sep 15, 2003
    7
    Not as good as their previous album, but a worthy effort nonetheless.
  7. toddp
    May 28, 2003
    2
    WOW! What a dissapppointment. I thought they were able to handle eclecticism after how erradic yet solid their previous album was. This is WOW! What a dissapppointment. I thought they were able to handle eclecticism after how erradic yet solid their previous album was. This is vacuousness at levels that seem almost celebrated. Their is nothing here. Nick Rhodes has taken any and all of Duran Duran's irreverence, removed all playfullness and replaced it with insipid minimalist disco. I respect the artist's bravery, but this is a very bad piece of self-expression. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews