• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Oct 19, 2004
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. adolfoc
    Feb 10, 2006
    10
    this album rocks
  2. NorthFreedomFighter
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    Shame crits didn't seem to take to this record, another huge Music album in scope, but it was executed with such beautiful elegence and captured such a deep passion that if you seriously have an ear for music with integrity, it will be hard to turn this one down. . . unfortunately since most seem set in the traditional view of 'daring' records (just look at the top 40s), it Shame crits didn't seem to take to this record, another huge Music album in scope, but it was executed with such beautiful elegence and captured such a deep passion that if you seriously have an ear for music with integrity, it will be hard to turn this one down. . . unfortunately since most seem set in the traditional view of 'daring' records (just look at the top 40s), it may not appeal to all. Startlingly brilliant record. Expand
  3. johnp
    Nov 5, 2004
    9
    this album is awsome, just listen ic
  4. NandoG.
    Dec 3, 2004
    10
    These guys are getting paid to rate CD's? Give me their job and salary since they obviously can't rate a great CD if they had to. This CD has not left my stereo. It is amazing. I am going to see them in a small club venue and I can't wait. Their first was impressive and their second is brilliant.
  5. LauraB
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    a new kind of indie rock that just makes you want to dance
  6. elisar
    Feb 14, 2005
    10
    i really love this album
  7. RomeoS
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    Great album
  8. arnold
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    One of my favorites albums. A marked improvement on their debut, which was still pretty good.
  9. richard
    Oct 21, 2004
    10
    Ignore the media reviews........how they on mass seem to have missed the brilliance of this album is quite beyond me. ambitious and fantastically executed this is the best album i've bought for years. i've had it over a month now and it has still barely left the stereo
  10. FergalK
    Dec 2, 2004
    9
    Great follow-up the their 1st album but distinctively more raw-rock than their first offering, Harvey's vocals somtimes unintellible but that doesn't matter - it's the sound of his voice, not the lyrics that matter on this album - great fast-driving music!!
  11. Kelly
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    I think that the music's second effort is great! The songs are so energetic. The band is so incredible live!!!! If you don't do anything else, at least see them live.
  12. JefferyJ
    Feb 11, 2007
    7
    It's a rather underrated effort by The Music. It's not amazing, but it is solid.
  13. KennyC
    Nov 13, 2004
    9
    Fantastic album. The raw energy of their first album grabbed at my soul and the second is just as good. O'Brien seems to have "cleaned" the overall sound up some but nowhere near to the point of "over producing" it...thank god. The Jane?s Addiction vs. Your Local Progressive Jam Band sound is still there, but it works. The lyrics may be unimportant, but Robert Harvey's vocals Fantastic album. The raw energy of their first album grabbed at my soul and the second is just as good. O'Brien seems to have "cleaned" the overall sound up some but nowhere near to the point of "over producing" it...thank god. The Jane?s Addiction vs. Your Local Progressive Jam Band sound is still there, but it works. The lyrics may be unimportant, but Robert Harvey's vocals are more of an instrument anyhow, and are indeed very important to the overall "feel" and the atmospheric intentions. With grooves and energy that doubly surpass their age and life experience I can barely contain my excitement for future releases! Expand
  14. PaulF
    Dec 21, 2004
    9
    Another underrated gem by The Music. I must admit it took me a while to properly get into it after listening to their awesome first album. However, now I do much prefer it. It just sounds so much better. More grown up. And Bleed From Within is probably one of the best songs I've heard for a long time.
  15. JoeD
    Oct 25, 2004
    9
    What are these critics talking about? Have they really listened to this CD. I cannot take it out of my CD player. This album is absolutely brilliant. The Music have created a slightly modified sound as compared to their first album and have smashed all barriers. I only dream of seeing them in concert and crave more of the same. Wonderful album, pick it up and forget these coporate critics.
  16. AaronT
    Jan 19, 2005
    9
    A fantastic album. Open Your Mind soars, Breakin is a ripper, Into the Night is epic.... Buy this album, see these guys live and don't read magazine reviews.
  17. KenB
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    I thought this album was absolutely stunning. I prepared for it to be rubbish as I bought it on a whim, but was absolutely blown away. Solid rock, great melodies and some unbelievably memorable tracks make for an essential purchase.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Alternative Press
    80
    A marked improvement over their eponymous debut, North sounds like Muse and the Stone Roses on steroids. [Jan 2005, p.113]
  2. Fans of The Music will love 'Welcome To The North' but it is unlikely that detractors will be converted.
  3. Blender
    60
    As hipsters, the Yorkshire quartet are still total non-starters, but [North] sees producer Brendan O'Brien honing their gonzo essence to more sizeable effect. [Nov 2004, p.138]