What About Now - Bon Jovi
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    40
    On the proper What About Now, the group is striving to sound big and important yet winds up sounding small.
  2. Mar 11, 2013
    40
    The best way to enjoy What About Now is to not listen too closely, ignore the clumsy lyrics (“I feel just like Picasso, and you’re my masterpiece”), and ignore that it’s watered down U2 flirting with pop-country.
  3. 20
    Their most self-important but least memorable, engaging or relevant album yet. [Apr 2013, p.98]
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    50
    Over and over again What About Now pitches itself at the same commercially anthemic middle ground as U2, ideal for talent show montages and inspiring moments at award shows but ultimately anemic, soulless and forgettable.
  5. 42
    What About Now has enough always-darkest-before-the-dawn positivity and bland arena-country warm fuzzies to chock a true believer. [15 Mar 2013,, p.62]
  6. Apr 12, 2013
    60
    There's enough gritty social commentary and songwriting class amid the occasional cheese to suggest that, on the long road to credibility, Bon Jovi are finally more than halfway there. [9 Mar 2013, p.52]
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    40
    Jovi's delivery of the usual cliches has a curious, sickly sheen. [May 2013, p.96]
  8. Mar 12, 2013
    60
    The 12th Bon Jovi album extends the Springsteen liberalism in JBJ's stadium­rattling Jersey cheese into full-on "social commentary" (his term).
  9. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    It's easy to excoriate this band for producing another corporate-rock album, dominated as ever by Jon Bon Jovi's increasingly leathery bark and Richie Sambora's relentlessly uplifting guitar lines, but it's hard to slate them for still feeling kinship with their own blue-collar backgrounds.
  10. Mar 11, 2013
    50
    What About Now suggests a few paths for progress, and an ambivalence about committing to any one of them, all under a comfort-zone haze of undifferentiated, low-ambition, lightly rootsy hard rock.
  11. Mar 11, 2013
    40
    Bon Jovi's 12th studio album finds them on familiar ground, arena-pleasing blue-collar anthems of everyday struggle sitting alongside overblown power ballads.
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    One of the best Bon Jovi's Album, the songs bring back the same style of their most recent albums like Lost Highway and The Circle. Because We Can like the first single does show pretty much how the new album sounds. And it even contain a Richie's Sambora solo song: Every Road Leads Home to You, what is unusual, but great. Full Review »
  2. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    Amazing album! The songs on this is absolutely fantastic! Thick as thieves is a really heartwarming song, and "The Fighter" has the best lyrics i've ever seen on a Bon Jovi album. A perfect 10 from me! Full Review »
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    1
    I have been a Bon Jovi fan since 1983. I have every album they have released, including releases in other countries. Without a doubt, this is the worse album in Bon Jovi's career.

    I have been very critical of their releases since These Days, but at least in the releases since that album we had elements of rock. Some glimpses of hard rock. Sadly it appears those days are long gone. It appears that JBJ is more concerned with pleasing his 36-52 year old female demographic than actually staying true to what he is. JBJ is a rock star, who for whatever reasons appears to be very ashamed of his past. The past that built his legacy, the past that fans who purchase the concert tickets to catch a glimpse of what he and his band used to be.

    If JBJ cares what the critics and fans say, then hopefully he will read what is being written. JBJ needs to go back to a time that made him and his band what they were, an amazing hard rock act. Put out a New Jersey type of album. Then and only then will he reclaim what was once his. Sadly, I don't think he cares.
    Full Review »