What About Now

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
What About Now Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 12th studio release for the New Jersey rock band was produced with Jon Shanks.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    It's easy to excoriate this band for producing another corporate-rock album, dominated as ever by Jon Bon Jovi's increasingly leathery bark and Richie Sambora's relentlessly uplifting guitar lines, but it's hard to slate them for still feeling kinship with their own blue-collar backgrounds.
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    60
    The 12th Bon Jovi album extends the Springsteen liberalism in JBJ's stadium­rattling Jersey cheese into full-on "social commentary" (his term).
  3. Kerrang!
    Apr 12, 2013
    60
    There's enough gritty social commentary and songwriting class amid the occasional cheese to suggest that, on the long road to credibility, Bon Jovi are finally more than halfway there. [9 Mar 2013, p.52]
  4. Entertainment Weekly
    Mar 11, 2013
    42
    What About Now has enough always-darkest-before-the-dawn positivity and bland arena-country warm fuzzies to chock a true believer. [15 Mar 2013,, p.62]
  5. Q Magazine
    Apr 10, 2013
    40
    Jovi's delivery of the usual cliches has a curious, sickly sheen. [May 2013, p.96]
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    40
    The best way to enjoy What About Now is to not listen too closely, ignore the clumsy lyrics (“I feel just like Picasso, and you’re my masterpiece”), and ignore that it’s watered down U2 flirting with pop-country.
  7. Classic Rock Magazine
    Jun 6, 2013
    20
    Their most self-important but least memorable, engaging or relevant album yet. [Apr 2013, p.98]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    One of the best Bon Jovi's Album, the songs bring back the same style of their most recent albums like Lost Highway and The Circle. Because WeOne of the best Bon Jovi's Album, the songs bring back the same style of their most recent albums like Lost Highway and The Circle. Because We Can like the first single does show pretty much how the new album sounds. And it even contain a Richie's Sambora solo song: Every Road Leads Home to You, what is unusual, but great. Expand
  2. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    Amazing album The Guitar Sound On the album Is Great Jon's Voice Sounds Great Fantastic Songs The Drum Parts Are Great One Of The Best AlbumsAmazing album The Guitar Sound On the album Is Great Jon's Voice Sounds Great Fantastic Songs The Drum Parts Are Great One Of The Best Albums In Hair Metal Expand
  3. Jul 6, 2015
    10
    Mesmerizing,Supe phenomenal album after the great The Circle the great no the perfect The Circle. Bon Jovi comes with another amazingMesmerizing,Supe phenomenal album after the great The Circle the great no the perfect The Circle. Bon Jovi comes with another amazing album,underrated for **** critics and some idiot audiences listeners Expand
  4. May 9, 2013
    10
    amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this is the best album of bon jovi i've ever heard............great arena rock oh like something you were long foramazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this is the best album of bon jovi i've ever heard............great arena rock oh like something you were long for and finally come back,,,,,,,,,every time i hear this album make me happier Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2013
    7
    What About Now is an average record. It has its ups and downs. It is not at all bad, but it is the worst Bon Jovi album I've seen. It has What About Now is an average record. It has its ups and downs. It is not at all bad, but it is the worst Bon Jovi album I've seen. It has good songs, such as Because We Can, I'm With You, Army Of One and Beautiful World but the ballads are awful. JBJ insists. Thick as Thieves is simply awful and Pictures of You is the worst song they have done in years. Sambora's solos dissapeared. I'm With You is the only song with an awesome solo. In the next album, they should return to their rock and roll roots Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    7
    To me i liked Bon Jovi best when they had some stories to tell. Sure the big songs like 'Prayer' and 'It's My Life' have their place but whatTo me i liked Bon Jovi best when they had some stories to tell. Sure the big songs like 'Prayer' and 'It's My Life' have their place but what the last album 'The Circle' lacked were good songs (it might have had around 3 in my opinion).

    So what do i make of 'What About Now'? I did not have high hopes at all but after hearing it through i certainly did not see it as throwaway as what some reviewers have. Sure it is not 80's and 90's Jovi but there is plenty to enjoy here and it is better than 'The Circle'.... i am not whincing as much but probably not as good as 'Have A Nice Day', which i thought was their best album of the 2000's with 'Lost Highway' a close second.

    Highlights for me were:
    * Because We Can (i initially did not like this song but it has grown on me over the last few weeks. Plus my fiance loves it and says it is her favourite BJ song..... i know, i know...)
    * What About Now (there is always one good rock song on each Bon Jovi album; this is it)
    * That's What The Water Made Me (another BJ rock song, similar to 'Superman Tonight' which i liked off The Circle)
    * What's Left Of Me (i have a soft spot for the 'Lost Highway' album which was very underrated and has a lot of great songs on it. This sounds like it could have come straight off that 2007 album)
    * The Fighter (i hear a lot of criticism of BJ ballads, but this one is simple and deserves praise)
    * With These Two Hands [bonus track] (another great BJ rock track)
    * Not Running Anymore [bonus track] (another ballad and technically a JBJ solo song, but this has great storytelling lyrics, something that was missing off the last record)

    I really liked the maturity of some of the songs here. My only criticism of this record is that it could have done with some more rock songs over ballads (like 'Bounce') and some more 'meaty' guitar shredding by Richie Sambora, but at least the ballads are good here. If buying definitely pick up a copy with the bonus tracks as i have enjoyed them a lot.
    Expand
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    1
    They were more enjoyable when they copied Loverboy. Jon Bon Jovi had more fire than Loverboy in the 80's when they targeted that demographicThey were more enjoyable when they copied Loverboy. Jon Bon Jovi had more fire than Loverboy in the 80's when they targeted that demographic of fans with sound and style. They hired Loverboy's producer, Bruce Fairbairn to make it happen. Listen to the similarities between Loverboy's “Turn Me Loose” and BJ's “Let It Rock.” By Keep The Faith they nailed it down. They were better than any other band playing/writing that style of music. But then every release since has them searching for a new identity. They finally nailed it with What About Now, they are the kings of boring rock. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews