Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
Buy On
  1. 60
    The Vaccines are clenching onto rock and roll, and this album is an amicable chapter in the genre. Amicable.
  2. Apr 1, 2011
    60
    The less they do big dumb bravado, it seems, the more there is to love about this London bunch.
  3. Apr 1, 2011
    60
    The overriding impression left by What Did You Expect from the Vaccines? is of a first effort by a fairly good indie band boosted far out of their league by an overexcited music press.
  4. Jun 1, 2011
    50
    It's style for miles and miles unencumbered by hooks and accentuated by an attitude that carefully practices disdain for its audience, so if you're not inclined to buy into their gait there's not much reason to stick around.
  5. May 5, 2011
    50
    "Post Break-Up Sex" feels like the album's centerpiece, and is certainly its most complete track, playing like a compromise between the saccharine punk and the sullen balladry that often polarizes the collection of songs.
  6. Apr 1, 2011
    50
    For the most part What Did You Expect From the Vaccines? fails to muster much sense of enthusiasm for itself beyond those first and last tracks.
  7. Apr 1, 2011
    50
    Much of, if not all of What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? suffers from a complete lack of intelligence, candidness or originality: elements that help make guitar-based music interesting.
  8. What Did You Expect has its moments, albeit brief ones.
  9. Presumably not this unremittingly OK collection of hazy pop-rock singalongs paying anodyne homage to the Ramones, Jesus and Mary Chain and, er, Interpol.
  10. 40
    Here, any trace of feedback or distortion has been eradicated to leave just a Fratelli-esque singalong punk-pop sheen to songs.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jul 1, 2011
    5
    Don't believe the hype. The songs are pleasant enough to be listenable but annoying enough to make me hate the band. Hopefully they drop offDon't believe the hype. The songs are pleasant enough to be listenable but annoying enough to make me hate the band. Hopefully they drop off the radar soon because, in my opinion, they've already overstayed their welcome. Full Review »
  2. May 3, 2011
    8
    The Vaccines don't really show much originality on this record, but it's all forgiven because this is a great album. It's a little bit of aThe Vaccines don't really show much originality on this record, but it's all forgiven because this is a great album. It's a little bit of a mix between The Strokes and Interpol. The tracks are simple yet played out so well. Vocally, Justin Young is great. Perfect punk rock kinda voice. All In All, What Did You Expect From The Vaccines is a great debut album. B+ Full Review »
  3. May 30, 2013
    10
    I didn't know what to expect from the Vaccines. At first I though they were just another overhyped group dubbed the "saviours of rock music"I didn't know what to expect from the Vaccines. At first I though they were just another overhyped group dubbed the "saviours of rock music" just like Radiohead before them. Unlike Radiohead however, this hype might actually be true. Upon listening to the first few seconds of Wreckin' Bar I could tell that there was something special about this band; they make good old fashioned rock music. There's no new ground being broken here, but the Vaccines have created a modern classic inspired by those great 60s guitar bands and aims it towards the youth culture, singing about growing up, sex, breakups, and post-breakup sex. The lyrical content isn't exactly impressive or original, but who cares? The album is meant for teenagers and parties, that's its audience and it delivers what it says it will (the older generation can still enjoy this album to since its inspired by their old favourite bands, despite the "teen" lyrics). I didn't expect much from the Vaccines, but after listening to this album it was far better than I expected. Full Review »