User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 62
  2. Negative: 1 out of 62
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    7
    Not a bad indie rock album from a very hyped up band. They can certainly bang out a tune and there are some great standout moments on their debut - Blow It Up and Post Break-Up Sex being the highlights for me. There isn't much variation in their style across the record and you'd wonder where the band will go on their next record but this first one is certainly worth a listen.
  2. May 3, 2011
    8
    The Vaccines don't really show much originality on this record, but it's all forgiven because this is a great album. It's a little bit of a mix between The Strokes and Interpol. The tracks are simple yet played out so well. Vocally, Justin Young is great. Perfect punk rock kinda voice. All In All, What Did You Expect From The Vaccines is a great debut album. B+
  3. May 30, 2013
    10
    I didn't know what to expect from the Vaccines. At first I though they were just another overhyped group dubbed the "saviours of rock music" just like Radiohead before them. Unlike Radiohead however, this hype might actually be true. Upon listening to the first few seconds of Wreckin' Bar I could tell that there was something special about this band; they make good old fashioned rockI didn't know what to expect from the Vaccines. At first I though they were just another overhyped group dubbed the "saviours of rock music" just like Radiohead before them. Unlike Radiohead however, this hype might actually be true. Upon listening to the first few seconds of Wreckin' Bar I could tell that there was something special about this band; they make good old fashioned rock music. There's no new ground being broken here, but the Vaccines have created a modern classic inspired by those great 60s guitar bands and aims it towards the youth culture, singing about growing up, sex, breakups, and post-breakup sex. The lyrical content isn't exactly impressive or original, but who cares? The album is meant for teenagers and parties, that's its audience and it delivers what it says it will (the older generation can still enjoy this album to since its inspired by their old favourite bands, despite the "teen" lyrics). I didn't expect much from the Vaccines, but after listening to this album it was far better than I expected. Expand
  4. Jan 24, 2013
    8
    I particularly liked this debut by post-punk revival band, The Vaccines. Songs varying from 3 minutes or less, This album is a grower and once you hear the album through, you would be hooked on the cigarette-stained lyrics this album provides. This album is memorable in many ways
  5. Aug 4, 2015
    10
    This album is for me certainly one of the best ones from this decade. The songs are simple and addictive, and the whole album transmits some cool and rocky feelings. It's definitely a band more focused on teen fans, but the songs can please to other fans with their more psychedelic and rock n' roll tones. What can we expect from the Vaccines? Answer: more masterpieces like these one.
  6. Jun 9, 2011
    8
    What did I expect? A short album full of catchy, fun pop/rock tunes with a throwback sound of crazed killer Phil Spector's wall of sound technique. And it looks like that's what i got. Great album, The Vaccines are gonna be huge.
  7. May 31, 2011
    10
    What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? Everything. The album of the year. And they delivered.
    At first they seemed like a la-di-da-di-da band. I heard the demo version of 'If You Wanna' a few months after the band was formed and I heard potential. Not until I heard 'Wreckin' Bar (Ra Ra Ra)' did I realise they will deliver and release a great album. Their debut features upbeat songs that
    What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? Everything. The album of the year. And they delivered.
    At first they seemed like a la-di-da-di-da band. I heard the demo version of 'If You Wanna' a few months after the band was formed and I heard potential. Not until I heard 'Wreckin' Bar (Ra Ra Ra)' did I realise they will deliver and release a great album. Their debut features upbeat songs that will probably rock any indie kids' party, and keep the crowd jumping during gigs. Along with 'Wreckin' Bar (Ra Ra Ra), there's one more song that runs past through you in a minute and a half. Nørgaard is a song about Amanda Nørgaard and it's about... well, Amanda Nørgaard going all wild and "she's only seventeen and she's probably not ready".
    What comes as a nice refreshment are songs like 'Post Break-Up Sex', 'Wetsuit' and 'All In White'. Slower and darker, they give this almost 'gothic folk' with its lyrics that speak of love, break-ups (obviously), sex and suffering. What makes this album my album of the year is its simplicity, its raw rock edge, fun lyrics that can be quite serious at times, and the unique atmosphere The Vaccines create. It's old school with a modern dressing. Favourite tracks: If You Wanna, Wreckin' Bar (Ra, Ra, Ra), All In White, Post Break-Up Sex, Wetsuit
    Expand
  8. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    Fantasic Album, every song could be a single apart from Under Your Thumb, tracks like Post Break-up Sex, If You Wonna, Blow It Up, A Lack of Understanding, Norgaard, Wreaking Bar, All In White are absolutely great, the whole album is filled with 50's/60's guitar sound effect, just a great album you will not be disappinted with, and if you like this album you will love their second!
  9. May 28, 2016
    10
    From start to finish this album oozes teenage angst through its delightfully playful and catchy rock tunes. Not afraid to be somber as well as fun this album is a perfect singalong. It's my favourite album and listen to it all the time in the car. Essential tracks are: Norgaard, Wreckin Bar, If you wanna and Wetsuit.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. What Did You Expect has its moments, albeit brief ones.
  2. Jun 1, 2011
    91
    The Vaccines do a good job of turning up the drama during their more restrained moments, resulting in a rare species: the well-rounded pop-jugular album.
  3. Jun 1, 2011
    50
    It's style for miles and miles unencumbered by hooks and accentuated by an attitude that carefully practices disdain for its audience, so if you're not inclined to buy into their gait there's not much reason to stick around.