User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 3, 2011
    8
    The Vaccines don't really show much originality on this record, but it's all forgiven because this is a great album. It's a little bit of a mix between The Strokes and Interpol. The tracks are simple yet played out so well. Vocally, Justin Young is great. Perfect punk rock kinda voice. All In All, What Did You Expect From The Vaccines is a great debut album. B+
  2. Jul 1, 2011
    5
    Don't believe the hype. The songs are pleasant enough to be listenable but annoying enough to make me hate the band. Hopefully they drop off the radar soon because, in my opinion, they've already overstayed their welcome.
  3. May 31, 2011
    6
    When The Vaccines are raw, careless and imperfect, they deliver great tunes, and the first 82 seconds of the album prove infinitely more invigorating than the remaining 35 minutes. "Wreckin' Bar (ra ra ra)" is the brilliantly unabated surge of magically dumb garage rock we'd been warned to expect. Much of the rest is a collection of mainly dull mid tempo effigies of other bands influences. "Post Break Up Sex" may draw attention for its revealing lyric, but the melody is tired and formulaic and does nothing to enhance Justin Young's obvious feelings of emptiness and guilt. "What Did You Expect From The Vaccines?". Frankly not much, which was duly delivered, so one guesses its mission accomplished for another band yoked by the support of NME. They have my sympathy. http://hackskeptic.comâ Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2012
    6
    They don't really sound like the strokes as people have been saying, they sound more like a mixture of we are scientists and the fratellis. Its definitely not original but is catchy, 'Wetsuit' and 'If You Wanna' being a couple of great tracks. Not exactly groundbreaking and will be slightly cringe worthy in years to come. Maybe not one to put at the top of your record collection.
  5. May 31, 2011
    6
    Okay, yeah they aren't original at all. They sound like a load of different bands, the Ramones, Sex Pistols, Strokes, Interpol, all those bands and more. I can sit here and name them all but that'll be a waste of time. This album is a good album, that's it. They have some catchy tunes on here like Norgaard, If You Wanna, Blow It Up, All In White. There's nothing wrong with having influences. It's their debut effort, this album can only make us wait for their sophomore release when perhaps they mature more and take all these great sounds they have going right now and develop it into their own. Collapse
  6. May 31, 2011
    10
    What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? Everything. The album of the year. And they delivered.
    At first they seemed like a la-di-da-di-da band. I heard the demo version of 'If You Wanna' a few months after the band was formed and I heard potential. Not until I heard 'Wreckin' Bar (Ra Ra Ra)' did I realise they will deliver and release a great album. Their debut features upbeat songs that
    will probably rock any indie kids' party, and keep the crowd jumping during gigs. Along with 'Wreckin' Bar (Ra Ra Ra), there's one more song that runs past through you in a minute and a half. Nørgaard is a song about Amanda Nørgaard and it's about... well, Amanda Nørgaard going all wild and "she's only seventeen and she's probably not ready".
    What comes as a nice refreshment are songs like 'Post Break-Up Sex', 'Wetsuit' and 'All In White'. Slower and darker, they give this almost 'gothic folk' with its lyrics that speak of love, break-ups (obviously), sex and suffering. What makes this album my album of the year is its simplicity, its raw rock edge, fun lyrics that can be quite serious at times, and the unique atmosphere The Vaccines create. It's old school with a modern dressing. Favourite tracks: If You Wanna, Wreckin' Bar (Ra, Ra, Ra), All In White, Post Break-Up Sex, Wetsuit
    Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2011
    8
    What did I expect? A short album full of catchy, fun pop/rock tunes with a throwback sound of crazed killer Phil Spector's wall of sound technique. And it looks like that's what i got. Great album, The Vaccines are gonna be huge.
  8. Jul 5, 2011
    6
    After seeing these guys do an awesome performence of If You Wanna on Jay Leno, or Letterman, or whatever, I did expect a lot from The Vaccines. However, I was disappointed for the most part. The songs are too simple, the lyrics are too dull and there are only two songs that I find to be worthy of further listening (If You Wanna and Wetsuit). All in all, its not an awful album and its not a great album. Its merely ok. Expand
  9. j30
    Jan 18, 2012
    4
    The is a very average album at best, musically and lyrically. While some of the songs stick, most of them do not. Surprisingly, I'm interested in what they'll do next. This album is overrated (particularly by NME) and kind of boring (and I like this genre of music ex. Arctic Monkeys, The Strokes, etc.. Love it).
  10. Jun 19, 2012
    7
    Not a bad indie rock album from a very hyped up band. They can certainly bang out a tune and there are some great standout moments on their debut - Blow It Up and Post Break-Up Sex being the highlights for me. There isn't much variation in their style across the record and you'd wonder where the band will go on their next record but this first one is certainly worth a listen.
  11. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    Fantasic Album, every song could be a single apart from Under Your Thumb, tracks like Post Break-up Sex, If You Wonna, Blow It Up, A Lack of Understanding, Norgaard, Wreaking Bar, All In White are absolutely great, the whole album is filled with 50's/60's guitar sound effect, just a great album you will not be disappinted with, and if you like this album you will love their second!
  12. Jan 24, 2013
    8
    I particularly liked this debut by post-punk revival band, The Vaccines. Songs varying from 3 minutes or less, This album is a grower and once you hear the album through, you would be hooked on the cigarette-stained lyrics this album provides. This album is memorable in many ways
  13. May 30, 2013
    10
    I didn't know what to expect from the Vaccines. At first I though they were just another overhyped group dubbed the "saviours of rock music" just like Radiohead before them. Unlike Radiohead however, this hype might actually be true. Upon listening to the first few seconds of Wreckin' Bar I could tell that there was something special about this band; they make good old fashioned rock music. There's no new ground being broken here, but the Vaccines have created a modern classic inspired by those great 60s guitar bands and aims it towards the youth culture, singing about growing up, sex, breakups, and post-breakup sex. The lyrical content isn't exactly impressive or original, but who cares? The album is meant for teenagers and parties, that's its audience and it delivers what it says it will (the older generation can still enjoy this album to since its inspired by their old favourite bands, despite the "teen" lyrics). I didn't expect much from the Vaccines, but after listening to this album it was far better than I expected. Expand
  14. Aug 5, 2014
    6
    This one is a powerful record, in which you will find energy, catchy hooks, raw guitars and cool melodies. There's no innovation, the band just wanted to make carefree music, not thinking too much on it, and they succeeded in doing it. Its problem is that it's just a fun record. Nothing more. For this reason, its vote can only be a 6. Nothing more.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. What Did You Expect has its moments, albeit brief ones.
  2. Jun 1, 2011
    91
    The Vaccines do a good job of turning up the drama during their more restrained moments, resulting in a rare species: the well-rounded pop-jugular album.
  3. Jun 1, 2011
    50
    It's style for miles and miles unencumbered by hooks and accentuated by an attitude that carefully practices disdain for its audience, so if you're not inclined to buy into their gait there's not much reason to stick around.