What Did You Expect from the Vaccines? Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut album for the British indie rock band was produced by Dan Grech.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    91
    The Vaccines do a good job of turning up the drama during their more restrained moments, resulting in a rare species: the well-rounded pop-jugular album.
  2. Apr 6, 2011
    80
    What Did You Expect is a breathlessly exciting debut, it's giddy raunch'n'revisionism hard to resist. [Apr 2011, p.100]
  3. Apr 7, 2011
    80
    Their true talent lies in creating songs replete with dreamy, late summer melancholy, shrouded in dusky reverb and topped off with Justin Young's oddly emotive quaver.[Apr 2011, p.84]
  4. Apr 1, 2011
    60
    The overriding impression left by What Did You Expect from the Vaccines? is of a first effort by a fairly good indie band boosted far out of their league by an overexcited music press.
  5. 60
    The Vaccines are clenching onto rock and roll, and this album is an amicable chapter in the genre. Amicable.
  6. May 5, 2011
    50
    "Post Break-Up Sex" feels like the album's centerpiece, and is certainly its most complete track, playing like a compromise between the saccharine punk and the sullen balladry that often polarizes the collection of songs.
  7. 40
    Here, any trace of feedback or distortion has been eradicated to leave just a Fratelli-esque singalong punk-pop sheen to songs.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. May 30, 2013
    10
    I didn't know what to expect from the Vaccines. At first I though they were just another overhyped group dubbed the "saviours of rock music"I didn't know what to expect from the Vaccines. At first I though they were just another overhyped group dubbed the "saviours of rock music" just like Radiohead before them. Unlike Radiohead however, this hype might actually be true. Upon listening to the first few seconds of Wreckin' Bar I could tell that there was something special about this band; they make good old fashioned rock music. There's no new ground being broken here, but the Vaccines have created a modern classic inspired by those great 60s guitar bands and aims it towards the youth culture, singing about growing up, sex, breakups, and post-breakup sex. The lyrical content isn't exactly impressive or original, but who cares? The album is meant for teenagers and parties, that's its audience and it delivers what it says it will (the older generation can still enjoy this album to since its inspired by their old favourite bands, despite the "teen" lyrics). I didn't expect much from the Vaccines, but after listening to this album it was far better than I expected. Expand
  2. May 31, 2011
    10
    What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? Everything. The album of the year. And they delivered.
    At first they seemed like a la-di-da-di-da band.
    What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? Everything. The album of the year. And they delivered.
    At first they seemed like a la-di-da-di-da band. I heard the demo version of 'If You Wanna' a few months after the band was formed and I heard potential. Not until I heard 'Wreckin' Bar (Ra Ra Ra)' did I realise they will deliver and release a great album. Their debut features upbeat songs that will probably rock any indie kids' party, and keep the crowd jumping during gigs. Along with 'Wreckin' Bar (Ra Ra Ra), there's one more song that runs past through you in a minute and a half. Nørgaard is a song about Amanda Nørgaard and it's about... well, Amanda Nørgaard going all wild and "she's only seventeen and she's probably not ready".
    What comes as a nice refreshment are songs like 'Post Break-Up Sex', 'Wetsuit' and 'All In White'. Slower and darker, they give this almost 'gothic folk' with its lyrics that speak of love, break-ups (obviously), sex and suffering. What makes this album my album of the year is its simplicity, its raw rock edge, fun lyrics that can be quite serious at times, and the unique atmosphere The Vaccines create. It's old school with a modern dressing. Favourite tracks: If You Wanna, Wreckin' Bar (Ra, Ra, Ra), All In White, Post Break-Up Sex, Wetsuit
    Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    Fantasic Album, every song could be a single apart from Under Your Thumb, tracks like Post Break-up Sex, If You Wonna, Blow It Up, A Lack ofFantasic Album, every song could be a single apart from Under Your Thumb, tracks like Post Break-up Sex, If You Wonna, Blow It Up, A Lack of Understanding, Norgaard, Wreaking Bar, All In White are absolutely great, the whole album is filled with 50's/60's guitar sound effect, just a great album you will not be disappinted with, and if you like this album you will love their second! Collapse
  4. Apr 21, 2012
    6
    They don't really sound like the strokes as people have been saying, they sound more like a mixture of we are scientists and the fratellis.They don't really sound like the strokes as people have been saying, they sound more like a mixture of we are scientists and the fratellis. Its definitely not original but is catchy, 'Wetsuit' and 'If You Wanna' being a couple of great tracks. Not exactly groundbreaking and will be slightly cringe worthy in years to come. Maybe not one to put at the top of your record collection. Expand
  5. May 31, 2011
    6
    When The Vaccines are raw, careless and imperfect, they deliver great tunes, and the first 82 seconds of the album prove infinitely moreWhen The Vaccines are raw, careless and imperfect, they deliver great tunes, and the first 82 seconds of the album prove infinitely more invigorating than the remaining 35 minutes. "Wreckin' Bar (ra ra ra)" is the brilliantly unabated surge of magically dumb garage rock we'd been warned to expect. Much of the rest is a collection of mainly dull mid tempo effigies of other bands influences. "Post Break Up Sex" may draw attention for its revealing lyric, but the melody is tired and formulaic and does nothing to enhance Justin Young's obvious feelings of emptiness and guilt. "What Did You Expect From The Vaccines?". Frankly not much, which was duly delivered, so one guesses its mission accomplished for another band yoked by the support of NME. They have my sympathy. http://hackskeptic.comâ Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2014
    6
    This one is a powerful record, in which you will find energy, catchy hooks, raw guitars and cool melodies. There's no innovation, the bandThis one is a powerful record, in which you will find energy, catchy hooks, raw guitars and cool melodies. There's no innovation, the band just wanted to make carefree music, not thinking too much on it, and they succeeded in doing it. Its problem is that it's just a fun record. Nothing more. For this reason, its vote can only be a 6. Nothing more. Expand
  7. j30
    Jan 18, 2012
    4
    The is a very average album at best, musically and lyrically. While some of the songs stick, most of them do not. Surprisingly, I'm interestedThe is a very average album at best, musically and lyrically. While some of the songs stick, most of them do not. Surprisingly, I'm interested in what they'll do next. This album is overrated (particularly by NME) and kind of boring (and I like this genre of music ex. Arctic Monkeys, The Strokes, etc.. Love it). Expand

See all 14 User Reviews