• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
What We Saw from the Cheap Seats Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth studio album for singer-songwriter Regina Spektor was produced with Mike Elizondo and includes songs she had until now, only sung live.
  • Record Label: Sire
  • Genre(s): Folk, Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Singer/Songwriter, Alternative Singer/Songwriter, Anti-Folk
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. May 24, 2012
    100
    Her best effort yet.
  2. Many of these songs are merely bemused, and when she revises "I'm just a soul whose intentions are good," all she achieves is a different singalong from the one you expected.
  3. 80
    It might be coming from the cheap seats, but for the most part, this is classy stuff.
  4. May 29, 2012
    70
    Even tighter and more flamboyant than 2009's Far, [What We Saw From the Cheap Seats] may be her best.
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    60
    There is much here to be thankful for, but there is nothing as immediately thrilling as some of her past pop gems. [Jun 2012, p.150]
  6. May 31, 2012
    60
    Unfortunately, What We Saw is heavy on overlong ballads, and when she adds that trademark whimsy to the mix, it's nearly unbearable.
  7. Oct 12, 2012
    40
    The occasional glimmer of pop genius seen in the albums past is mostly absent, with plodding piano ballads in place instead. [Jul 2012, p.112]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. May 30, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing album from one of the most talented and unique pop singers out there. She channels the quirkiness we all love brilliantlyAbsolutely amazing album from one of the most talented and unique pop singers out there. She channels the quirkiness we all love brilliantly in this album, and if you're a new listener you may want to start somewhere else; however, for those already-established fans, this is the best thing Regina could have done for us. Not a bad song on the album. Expand
  2. May 29, 2012
    9
    a fantastic display of everyone's favorite Regina that perfectly shows her skill from boppy strange pop songs to her classic instantlya fantastic display of everyone's favorite Regina that perfectly shows her skill from boppy strange pop songs to her classic instantly recognizable beautiful piano melody's! her voice floats from song to song making it an absolute delight to just sight there and try to take everything in ( which there is a lot of!). If you are a fan like me of Regina's work before then this is an absolute must have! Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2012
    9
    A typical Regina Spektor record. Simplistic lyrics with a dreamy vocal lead and sometimes overpowering instrumental, and of course, theA typical Regina Spektor record. Simplistic lyrics with a dreamy vocal lead and sometimes overpowering instrumental, and of course, the signature piano riffs Spektor has become known for. This record takes a more poppy sound than its' predecessor 'Far' and despite being a bit darker, deceives the listener by fronting it with light, fluffy piano and brass section. Lead single 'All The Rowboats' is probably the standout track on the record, others are 'Small Town Moon' and 'The Party'. Expand
  4. May 29, 2012
    9
    Really interesting new album. A bit darker than last album. Great melodies, quirky voice that is totally infectious. Hard not to like herReally interesting new album. A bit darker than last album. Great melodies, quirky voice that is totally infectious. Hard not to like her after hearing several tracks. A real story teller. Collapse
  5. May 31, 2012
    8
    Full review available at http://www.manikmusic.net/reviews/regina-spektor-what-we-saw-from-the-cheap-seats/#

    When you play a Regina Spektor
    Full review available at http://www.manikmusic.net/reviews/regina-spektor-what-we-saw-from-the-cheap-seats/#

    When you play a Regina Spektor album for the first time, you never really know what you are going to get, which is the appeal of this now-32-year-old singer-songwriter. Since her first major album, Soviet Kitsch, was released in 2004, Spektor has entertained listeners not only with her impressively broad vocals but with beatboxing, dolphin noises, mesmerizing French and Russian lyrics, and many other interesting stylistic choices. Her songs tell stories rather than list emotions (she told Rolling Stone in 2009 that â
    Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2012
    5
    Don't get me wrong: I absolutely love Regina Spektor. She is an amazing artist who I found one day and who I have been obsessed with everDon't get me wrong: I absolutely love Regina Spektor. She is an amazing artist who I found one day and who I have been obsessed with ever since. I delved deeper into her older albums and found simply amazing music, pure and not clouded with unnecessary bells and whistles.

    I love the songs on this album, but they all seem like filler songs. Not to mention 3 or 4 of these songs have already been on youtube for years, they're just redone with special sound effects. I had been looking forward to this album for years and it just fell short. The lyrics do seem much more shallow than they were in Far, Soviet Kitsch, and ESPECIALLY Begin to Hope. Some of them just didn't seem like Spektor at all! How isn't original at all, something I would never expect from my favorite musician. I hope she makes another album, but I also hope it's more spektor-tastic! I still have so much ReSpekt for her though :) She's still amazing! The album just sadly fell short :(
    Expand
  7. May 31, 2012
    3
    You Come Out Being A Great Artist.. And Attempt 110% To Do Your Best..
    Sadly This Wasen't Anything Special For Me Regina Has A Amazing Voice
    You Come Out Being A Great Artist.. And Attempt 110% To Do Your Best..
    Sadly This Wasen't Anything Special For Me Regina Has A Amazing Voice But This Album Seemed Shallow And Bland...
    I Know What We Saw From The Cheap Seats.. Some Dreadful Music
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews