User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 713 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 713

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Whatever People Say is one of my favorite rock albums. The hooky guitar riffs and Alex's lyrics always get me in the mood. Every song feels like a single. Fake Tales From San Francisco, A Certain Romance, Riot Van, and I Bet That You Look Good On The Dance Floor are all amazing songs. All In All, Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not is an astonishing record that needs to beWhatever People Say is one of my favorite rock albums. The hooky guitar riffs and Alex's lyrics always get me in the mood. Every song feels like a single. Fake Tales From San Francisco, A Certain Romance, Riot Van, and I Bet That You Look Good On The Dance Floor are all amazing songs. All In All, Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not is an astonishing record that needs to be listened too as soon as possible. A Expand
  2. markc
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    the best debut album in 15 years absolute class
  3. GiacomoP
    Jan 29, 2006
    9
    Very powerful!
  4. Kris
    Jan 27, 2006
    9
    This is truly a remarkable album. "Soon it'll be cool to hate the Arctic Monkeys" Alex Turner said in an interview, and to judge by some reviews, this is true. It's like they're being punished for NME's enthusiasm about the band. Arcitc Monkyes reviews often turn into an NME-frenzy, which is a pity, as this album is worth much more than e.g. the Stylus and Playlouder This is truly a remarkable album. "Soon it'll be cool to hate the Arctic Monkeys" Alex Turner said in an interview, and to judge by some reviews, this is true. It's like they're being punished for NME's enthusiasm about the band. Arcitc Monkyes reviews often turn into an NME-frenzy, which is a pity, as this album is worth much more than e.g. the Stylus and Playlouder reviews. Let's have some reviews about the Arctic Monkeys, please! Not about the hype. Expand
  5. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    8
    Stellar debut album by the kids from Sheffield and happens to be one of the best records of the past decade.
  6. Mick
    Jan 27, 2006
    9
    Deserves this score simply for 'I bet you look good on the dancefloor', 'AView from the Afternoon', 'Still Take You Home', and 'Fake Tales of San Fransisco'. I don't think it is the best debut of all time and niether does NME, however, if guitar music is your thing then the Arctic Monkeys are well worth checking out.
  7. Alex
    Feb 6, 2006
    8
    There's no way this CD could live up to the hype being generated. But that doesn't mean it's not a good record. (It's at least /very/ good.) And the more I listen to it, the more I like it. The sound is just different enough from Franz Ferdinand and their ilk to make it refreshing. And you've got to love those accents.
  8. Jabu
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    My album of the year so far, a must buy! I know there is alot of hype and i too was sceptical but simply its brilliant.
  9. snilsen
    Apr 5, 2006
    8
    This is not just a good record, it's really quite good, and if it had any real originality to it I'd score it higher. Basically, to me it sounds like an amalgam of current trends: Franz Ferdinand, The Strokes and White Stripes. Roll it all together and add in some Built to Spill riffing, i.e. control and quality is solid, that';s what you've got. Lyrics are pretty This is not just a good record, it's really quite good, and if it had any real originality to it I'd score it higher. Basically, to me it sounds like an amalgam of current trends: Franz Ferdinand, The Strokes and White Stripes. Roll it all together and add in some Built to Spill riffing, i.e. control and quality is solid, that';s what you've got. Lyrics are pretty decent, if not good. Most importantly, there's sarcasm or awareness in the band's delivery, with the closer being an over rip off of a Strokes tune that they riupped off from something more obscure. Talant doing what's cool and doing it well. The album is pretty much 100%. If you liked Radio 4 - Gothem, you should like this too. Expand
  10. VedranK
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    The best album of 2006 so far
  11. Andy
    Jan 30, 2006
    8
    Goes a bit awry in the middle but likely to be up there come the envitable Albums of the Year listings. Great upbeat tunes abound with only Riot Van slowing things down somewhat. Red Lights Indicates Doors are Secured drives along at a fantastic rate and is simply about the problems in trying to get into a taxi late at night.
  12. madsl
    Jan 30, 2006
    8
    All the massive hype will probably spurn their initial downfall..but for now this is a refreshing and vital album that sits comfortably along other great British artists of the last three decades. The song about vampires, though, is really dreadful crap. Mardy Bum and The ritz to the rubble is top of the class and future classics in indiedom.
  13. reeset
    Feb 1, 2006
    8
    brilliant!
  14. TimmyH
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    The best debut for a long, long time. Fun, exciting and made to be played loud. The hype machine is in full force, but this time theres something of substance behind it.
  15. MaliniR.
    Feb 20, 2006
    9
    After a couple of listens I was hooked. But the only thing that I feel deserves recognition on this album is the lead singer. It's his energy that brings everything together.
  16. damian
    Feb 3, 2006
    10
    SIMPLY GREAT!
  17. carl
    Feb 6, 2006
    10
    fucking great !!!!
  18. MartinJ
    Feb 6, 2006
    7
    Not bad. But why some people can't stop acting rashly?
  19. JohnH
    Mar 5, 2006
    10
    Uhhh... Clash..... Class.... rock... Beatles... what more can be said... great.
  20. JMcCartha
    Mar 6, 2006
    7
    May be the best at what they do, the personal factor is whether or not you care about what they do.
  21. JimmyR
    Apr 20, 2006
    9
    very good album, full of catchy tunes. Probably the highlight of the album is the vocals. if your unsure on whether getting this album or not i'd have a listen to "mardy bum" from the album. if you like that you should like the album and vice versa.
  22. AliB
    Apr 28, 2006
    10
    This album rocks!! An album that has you gripped right until the very end deserves all the acclaim in the world, and this is certainly one that falls into that category.
  23. RobbieM
    May 3, 2006
    10
    I can´t remember to anything better than this (maybe except White Stripes)
  24. ClaytonC
    May 5, 2006
    8
    A BritPop classic... worth all the hype!
  25. jasonm
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    fukin great
  26. ReviewBoy15
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    Listen to me everyone. I'm going to tell everyone the truth about albums these days. I myself (15 years) am the front man of an up and coming band in Brussels, Belgium. I know ALL about indie, alternative, punk, rock, etc. My reviews and scores are the final word. The Arctic Monkeys are my favourite band of all time. ALL TIME. They have something that other indie bands dont really Listen to me everyone. I'm going to tell everyone the truth about albums these days. I myself (15 years) am the front man of an up and coming band in Brussels, Belgium. I know ALL about indie, alternative, punk, rock, etc. My reviews and scores are the final word. The Arctic Monkeys are my favourite band of all time. ALL TIME. They have something that other indie bands dont really have. Their lyrics are incredible, he just sings about anything and makes it sound like a magical story. And the instrumental work (in particular the drums) is unparallelled. I dont give out tens for nothing but this is something special. Go out and get yourself a copy now! Expand
  27. AbelD
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    Amazing album. Probably the best debut album in the last decade.
  28. bobr
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Love the vocal style and lyrics. This album's awesome. "When the sun goes down" is my favorite.
  29. dannyboy
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Like ok computer and definitely maybe before it you just cannot dent this album. despite being played on the basic set up of guitars bass and drums it strill manges to sound utterly unique. following on from the libertenes and the strokes anyone who likes popular music of anykind should find something to like about this album. it doesn't matter if the NME seem to like them a lot. Like ok computer and definitely maybe before it you just cannot dent this album. despite being played on the basic set up of guitars bass and drums it strill manges to sound utterly unique. following on from the libertenes and the strokes anyone who likes popular music of anykind should find something to like about this album. it doesn't matter if the NME seem to like them a lot. what is important is that this is damn good old fashioned British indie rock. buy it now. Expand
  30. [Anonymous]
    Jan 27, 2006
    9
    Those that say the Arctic Monkeys are simply and overhyped band need to remember this point, the hype surrounding this album come from the fact that most people have had access to the songs on this album for months now, as well as a handful of other great tunes. The Arctic Monkeys hype is, not hype based on nothing it's hype based on great tunes and amazing live performances.
  31. ToddK
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    Why do you americans just brush off anything brittish straight away. The monkeys are better than anything i have heard come out from america for a long time. This is an awsome album and should be owned by all!
  32. sk
    Jan 29, 2006
    10
    10 out of 10.
  33. MattB
    Jan 30, 2006
    9
    Hype or not - both the album and the preceding bootleg (widely available online) were great. I also saw them play live last year and they were awesome. This album consists of great tunes and I will eat my hat if it doesn't end up on the critics' 2006 yearlists in december.
  34. jamesh
    Jan 30, 2006
    8
    a great observation into working class england but really just a result of the libertines genius
  35. myopinion!
    Jan 31, 2006
    7
    Great songs, not much new here, but the ·$%&ers have incredible talent. Denying it can only mean youre jealous, cause theyre hugely talented and young... As far as rock goes, 2006 is lookin good already
  36. mikim
    Jan 30, 2006
    10
    great, best british act in 2006. it seems that is going to be a great year for r'n'r music.
  37. Bens
    Feb 12, 2006
    7
    Yeah their good but christ not THAT good. ' Bet you look good on the dancefloor' is magnicent as are 'sun goes down', ' a certain romance', 'mardy bum' and ' fake tails of san fransisco', they all sound like hits but some of the rest is dour, 'dancing shoes' slips by, 'viabsb...' grates ( as does the full title), and Yeah their good but christ not THAT good. ' Bet you look good on the dancefloor' is magnicent as are 'sun goes down', ' a certain romance', 'mardy bum' and ' fake tails of san fransisco', they all sound like hits but some of the rest is dour, 'dancing shoes' slips by, 'viabsb...' grates ( as does the full title), and riot van is very very average Expand
  38. RaülJ
    Feb 14, 2006
    10
    Music should always be this fun. Hard to find a record with more catching tunes
  39. ArkiM
    Feb 15, 2006
    8
    Although their debut is very good it does not push up to the levels that The Strokes entered when they introduced the genre.
  40. MichaelW
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    Have not heard a fresher sound in rock since The Strokes. Great Humor and melodies. Will be listening to this 5 years from now
  41. YokS
    Feb 18, 2006
    7
    Insanely energetic and catchy, but hardly life-changing. They've got some great tracks but they miss the target with their fillers more often than not which makes the album ring a bit hollow.
  42. MattE
    Feb 21, 2006
    8
    Good album well worth a listen just for the lyrics which in some places are inspired. Not particularly groundbreaking music but good nonetheless
  43. JJHoldijk
    Feb 22, 2006
    9
    This album is the definition of rock music in 2006. Not life changing, but it'll definitely push a lot of people's button. The youthfull excitement which this album is loaded with will even cause a 40-year old man living in his parents' basement to tap his feet and shake his head. Lyrics are jsut amazing, especially the way Turner spits them out at some points. Tall black This album is the definition of rock music in 2006. Not life changing, but it'll definitely push a lot of people's button. The youthfull excitement which this album is loaded with will even cause a 40-year old man living in his parents' basement to tap his feet and shake his head. Lyrics are jsut amazing, especially the way Turner spits them out at some points. Tall black men with a certain amount of bullets in their body could learn from this. To the people who think this sounds like everything else or just don't get it: just don't bother, if you dont get it now, you'll probably never get it. Expand
  44. andrewt
    Feb 23, 2006
    8
    Always a good sign of a good new album - strongly divergent views - a very strong album - imperfect buit then again, Never Mind the Bollocks was not a perfect album - I think it has balls - This is a modern punk band and it ain't meant to be pretty....
  45. shawnsavage
    Feb 23, 2006
    10
    Great album...
  46. joec
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    best lyrics since morrisey and great hooky riffs. simple classic!
  47. GarethM
    Feb 25, 2006
    9
    This is proof that Americans just don't "get" british culture, the fact is we have the greatest music scene in the world and Arctic Monkeys top it off. Forget the hype, listen to the music. What Alex Turner and his band have managed to do is make songs that tell you more about true british culture than anything else. Creative people who come from the North will always get a backlash This is proof that Americans just don't "get" british culture, the fact is we have the greatest music scene in the world and Arctic Monkeys top it off. Forget the hype, listen to the music. What Alex Turner and his band have managed to do is make songs that tell you more about true british culture than anything else. Creative people who come from the North will always get a backlash of biterness for being intelligent but that just goes with our territory. The reason the monkeys are so popular is that they are anything but pretentious, with simple catchy tunes but punctuated with clever lyrics that capture the current culture, oh, and the vocals are fantastic. Listen to "From The Ritz to the Rubble" or "A Certain Romance", The Arctic Monkeys ARE England, take it or leave it. Expand
  48. GeorgeC
    Feb 25, 2006
    7
    There's a couple of great under 3:00 songs.....and it's fresh.....but it's not London Calling or even close to the brilliance of Let is Bleed....
  49. JoeH
    Feb 27, 2006
    9
    Upon first hearing the album i did not realise how great it actually is, this album definitely grows on you and then infects you with its catchy riffs and very clever and humerous lyrics. For an album full of high points the pinnacle for me is When the Sun goes down. The only song which lets the album down is Riot Van, But this fails to change my opinion that The Arctic Monkeys are the Upon first hearing the album i did not realise how great it actually is, this album definitely grows on you and then infects you with its catchy riffs and very clever and humerous lyrics. For an album full of high points the pinnacle for me is When the Sun goes down. The only song which lets the album down is Riot Van, But this fails to change my opinion that The Arctic Monkeys are the best new band around! Expand
  50. TheRealAlfonsoDeBong
    Feb 28, 2006
    8
    Yeah I didnt want to believe the hype either, but this one will get under your skin. Good raucous rock and roll with catchy lyrics - hardly thought provoking but hey you can't always get watcha waaant... I give them two albums...then BOOM! But in the meantime they are out there - go see them.
  51. MaxM
    Feb 3, 2006
    8
    Tom B.. (see above)... wrote that this was pumped up by a relentless British music press... (he's wrong) ...the real story here is that some talented, cocky, guys wrote songs that make you think of the Jam... and the Streets... and put the tracks online (free) where they got passed around (I got them early last year) like old fashioned mix tapes until the buzz burst out with 360,000 Tom B.. (see above)... wrote that this was pumped up by a relentless British music press... (he's wrong) ...the real story here is that some talented, cocky, guys wrote songs that make you think of the Jam... and the Streets... and put the tracks online (free) where they got passed around (I got them early last year) like old fashioned mix tapes until the buzz burst out with 360,000 people buying a copy in a week... was at their gig last night and the great thing is that they can still improve (!) but boy the atmosphere was electric... amazing... why do people who can't perform, sing, write consider it necessary to so flippantly damin those, at 19 (!) who can? It's like the Razorfish song "Golden Touch", that they mind because they can never do the things that you can I do so well. Expand
  52. cristianp
    Feb 3, 2006
    10
    excelente disco con canciones increibles y altamente adictivas de principio a fin!
  53. mikep
    Feb 5, 2006
    9
    Original lyrics and excellent delivery help to make what would sound like quite a normal album into a great one. Not quite as great as the 'hype', but then what is. That said, does have some cracking tunes that will be filling indie dancefloors for years. Filling stadiums will be trickier, but that's their charm. Whether they will be able to cross over the countries that Original lyrics and excellent delivery help to make what would sound like quite a normal album into a great one. Not quite as great as the 'hype', but then what is. That said, does have some cracking tunes that will be filling indie dancefloors for years. Filling stadiums will be trickier, but that's their charm. Whether they will be able to cross over the countries that dont undertand the phrase 'mardy bum' remains to be seen! Expand
  54. Mart
    Feb 6, 2006
    10
    Who reads Stylus Magazine?
  55. jordand
    Feb 7, 2006
    9
    Great sound. Fun and upbeat. Great album.
  56. Shantie
    Feb 8, 2006
    7
    very enjoyable album would probably have rated it 7 1/2 if that had been possible above par songwriting, some nice (early) Sonic Youth kinda music some great tracks not worth the great hype (but, let´s face it, no album is) but very enjoyable
  57. ChrisB
    Feb 9, 2006
    8
    Not as good as the Brits are saying it is but not as bad as the Americans are saying it is.
  58. JasonR
    Mar 10, 2006
    8
    Best record of it's type since "Up the Bracket". In response to the "don't let NME tell you what to think" rhetoric... Sure it's a whopping bucket of hype, but if this record deserves a 1, I'd like to know what you'd rate higher. Are you seriously saying that 90% of the music being released is be better than this. How about you think for yourself... Ignore the Best record of it's type since "Up the Bracket". In response to the "don't let NME tell you what to think" rhetoric... Sure it's a whopping bucket of hype, but if this record deserves a 1, I'd like to know what you'd rate higher. Are you seriously saying that 90% of the music being released is be better than this. How about you think for yourself... Ignore the hype and stop hangin with the holier than thou "backlash" kids. Don't believe the hype, but definately don't believe the backlash. Expand
  59. barryq
    Mar 1, 2006
    9
    Buy it. Listen to it a few times. You will love it. It can be a bit spotty but the good bits are fantastic.
  60. Darren
    Mar 10, 2006
    7
    It's most certainly a good album, but it's inconsistent from song to song, and outside of 'When the Sun Goes Down', no track really blows me away. It doesn't live up to the hype it has received, but it's a decent album nevertheless.
  61. tylerl
    Mar 15, 2006
    9
    Say what you want about the English hype, just make shure to buy, listen to, and crank these lads to Eleven!!
  62. Rumpy05
    Mar 17, 2006
    8
    A very promising debut album. I for one cannot understand the backlash against this record. Yes, we all know that it had been hyped beyond all reason, but lets not forget this a a great effort. The saviour of british music?...no not really but why do we need a saviour? lets just enjoy what is one of better albums of the last ten years
  63. joseluizs
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    Welcome to the Future....The Future is now !
  64. AlexC
    Mar 2, 2006
    9
    How anyone can give this less than a 7 is beyond me, and to the person that said 1)it was suited to imprssionable teenagers or 2)dads tring to be hip, you are probably the latter of the 2 buddy but prefer the osmonds or the carpenters. Quite simply outstanding for 19/20 year olds...... one for the yanks as much as the brits, turn it up loud!!!
  65. William
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    Honestly- when you buy this album, listen to it straight through once and then walk away for a bit... its right wicked, the songs will stick in your head until you cant help but listen again, and again, and again. Best debut I've heard in years.
  66. Ann
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    An absolutely great album. Not sure what the other voters are listening to. Can't get the tunes out of my head. Lyrics are great. Definitely a breath of fresh air.
  67. EskimonoBooYah
    Mar 4, 2006
    10
    This album is the best thing since sliced bread, which I invented. I was listening to this album the other day and this guy came up to me and asked me what I was listening to. I told him the arctic monkeys and then (because the album is so good) he tried to steal it from me but the album knew it's true owner and vaporized the man right in front of me with it's built in lazer This album is the best thing since sliced bread, which I invented. I was listening to this album the other day and this guy came up to me and asked me what I was listening to. I told him the arctic monkeys and then (because the album is so good) he tried to steal it from me but the album knew it's true owner and vaporized the man right in front of me with it's built in lazer system. It was CrAzY!!! Then the album said "I love you, Eskimono" and we hugged. If you want this or a similar experience, buy this album. Expand
  68. RyanL
    Mar 5, 2006
    7
    Solid album. If you're a fan of somewhat frantic rock, pick it up. You'll probably find it's not as good as the hype, but not nearly as bad as the people backlashing are making it out to be.
  69. DanB
    Mar 8, 2006
    9
    Excellent debut album here. Extremely creative lyrics and melodies. Very catchy. Overall it's fun to listen to. Don't listen to the idiots who are saying it's no good. Those people are just saying that stuff because they think that they won't be "cool" if they listen to something that other people are listening to. The reason there is so much hype around these guys is Excellent debut album here. Extremely creative lyrics and melodies. Very catchy. Overall it's fun to listen to. Don't listen to the idiots who are saying it's no good. Those people are just saying that stuff because they think that they won't be "cool" if they listen to something that other people are listening to. The reason there is so much hype around these guys is because they have made a genuinely great album. Expand
  70. MaxF
    Mar 9, 2006
    8
    You know what's worse than hype? The pretentious anti-mainsteam hordes who denounce any product getting massive critical acclaim. For if they were to admit that the hype was real, then that would affect their individualism. I am around music (popular and underground) nearly every waking moment of my life and consider myself very well versed in every genre. I usually don't post You know what's worse than hype? The pretentious anti-mainsteam hordes who denounce any product getting massive critical acclaim. For if they were to admit that the hype was real, then that would affect their individualism. I am around music (popular and underground) nearly every waking moment of my life and consider myself very well versed in every genre. I usually don't post ratings or discuss art on a message board because art/music means different things to different appreciators. However, any poster giving this album a zero or a 10 needs to check themselves. Save your scores below 5 for those that deserve it (Hillary Duff, Britney Spears, Backstreet Boys) and save your 10's and 9's for thos albums that change the landscape of popular music (Nevermind, London Calling, The Joshua Tree) This album might not be perfect, but it's a nice departure from the Shinedown's, Godsmacks, Seether's, Pop-Punk's and disposable teen acts of today's musical landscape. I haven't taken it out of my CD player for a week. It is truly an exceptional album. Anyone comparing it to Oasis should get their heads out of their a**es, it sounds nothing like it (unless anything british is Oasis). In fact, judge it on it's own merit. I don't recognize any rip off, just awesome riffs and great punkish sensibility. For God's sake...they're not JET. Don't get overrun by the hype either way, but definately buy this album. So far the best of 2006. Expand
  71. BrianM
    Apr 11, 2006
    7
    It's amazing how this band went from underheard to SNL within a few weeks, but I still don't get it. Praise from tons of publications yet their sound isn't that original. Songs are kinda catchy I will admit. But why the hype?
  72. DLa
    Apr 13, 2006
    8
    it's pretty enjoyable beyond the ever-so-popular "i bet you look good on the dancefloor". they deserve more respect from music critics as they follow the tradition of grungy britt bands with catchy tunes. good record.
  73. JoeC
    Apr 18, 2006
    10
    This is a definitive album about moderbn day brittain told with comedy stories. It is the streets in rock and roll
  74. KevinR
    Apr 2, 2006
    7
    A formidable album, laced with very catchy, quick moving lyrics. However, they just don't live up to the overwhelming hype they received in Britain.
  75. DecepticonPom
    Apr 21, 2006
    7
    Get the beers in, grab yer mates by the scruff of the neck, have a good time with this albo and in five years time think back to great laughs but think how sad it is yer can't really sit through the whole album any more coz it reminds you of how great a crap band have become since. Or something.
  76. SimonA
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    Brilliant. From Mardy morning to sunshine afternoon. Tops.
  77. FredericoM
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    Great album all around.
  78. Mr.E
    Apr 4, 2006
    8
    Firstly, let me state I don't usually write reponses to what other people have said but, Frasier Crane wound me up a little. Since the 1990's many bands have been producing excellent music. Radiohead, RHCP, Muse, The Streets, Antony & the Johnsons, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Franz Ferdinand, Eminem, Fat Boy Slim, The Prodigy, Bjork, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, Bloc Party, The Firstly, let me state I don't usually write reponses to what other people have said but, Frasier Crane wound me up a little. Since the 1990's many bands have been producing excellent music. Radiohead, RHCP, Muse, The Streets, Antony & the Johnsons, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Franz Ferdinand, Eminem, Fat Boy Slim, The Prodigy, Bjork, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, Bloc Party, The White Stripes, QOSA, Daft Punk, Modest Mouse, the Arcade Fire, Kate Bush, and Regina Spektor. So Frasier Crane if you think new modern bands sound the same stop listening to NME and turn on to BBC Radio 2. As for the Monkeys album let the people decide if its a classic, I enjoyed it and who says an album needs to be varied to be a classic, after all The Sex Pistols debut is considered a classic. Expand
  79. RobbH
    May 8, 2006
    9
    Although many have turned away from it due to "overhype", the Arctic Monkeys have put together the best dance rock album since "Silent Alarm"
  80. ktbronk
    May 9, 2006
    10
    love it all. well done monkeys. all i listen to.
  81. WilliamO
    May 9, 2006
    10
    Best new band!
  82. ThomasW
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    Their the best in the genre. Great lyrics, drums and guitare. First I wasen't convinced, Iput it aside for a month and listende to it again and it suddenly clicked. My favourite song is "From the Ritz to the rubble"
  83. TheCritic
    Jul 17, 2006
    8
    While it is overrated, the Monkeys are really not as bad as some people say they are. Even though the album is not consistent and it falls short halfway through, the Monkeys show here that they are definately going to mature and they do have potential and talent. The best tracks are "Mardy Bum" "A View From the Afternoon" and the ever-so-popular single "I bet You Look Good on the While it is overrated, the Monkeys are really not as bad as some people say they are. Even though the album is not consistent and it falls short halfway through, the Monkeys show here that they are definately going to mature and they do have potential and talent. The best tracks are "Mardy Bum" "A View From the Afternoon" and the ever-so-popular single "I bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor." Another thing... if anybody saw Saturday Night Live with the Arctic Monkeys on it, who agrees with me that they sped the "Dancefloor" song up double the speed on the album. Am I right? Expand
  84. SAVAGETOAST
    Aug 18, 2006
    7
    Good, but not the best of the year. Id say its third best behind Destroyer's Rubies and #1 and Return to Cookie Mt. at #2. Pretty good but his voice gets annoying for us americans and they sort of get repetitive. A 7.
  85. madelineh
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    Awesome!
  86. HelenB
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    amazing & sexy
  87. AC
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    This was the best album I heard in all of 2006. Whoever said they're trying to sound like Oasis needs they're head read. The lyrics are just brilliant!
  88. tobiasj
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    i cant believe people even bothered to rate this at zero , TYPICAL AMERICANS alll they can do is compare this album to other english bands , such a load of crap, this album is amazing lyrically brilliant , dont give an album like this a zero just because you dont understand the lyrics,
  89. NickB
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    All you stupid fucks who gave this a 0 or a 1, how about you actually listen to the album before commenting based on hype.
  90. Shes_soLoose
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    As strong a debut as any you could care to mention. Energetic, catchy, and with strong lyrics. The only song I dislike is Perhaps Vampires... Well done Monkeys.
  91. RyanJ.
    Aug 7, 2007
    8
    Firstly, anyone who gave this album a ten is a moron. In no way is it perfect. Secondly, anybody who gave it a zero is a bigger moron. You think this of all albums is the worst ever and more importantly you think this is worse than K-Fed? Lastly, this is good album which has several catchy tunes and a lot of raw energy. It deserves 8 to 9 out of 10 but I went with 8 because after several Firstly, anyone who gave this album a ten is a moron. In no way is it perfect. Secondly, anybody who gave it a zero is a bigger moron. You think this of all albums is the worst ever and more importantly you think this is worse than K-Fed? Lastly, this is good album which has several catchy tunes and a lot of raw energy. It deserves 8 to 9 out of 10 but I went with 8 because after several listens the songs start to get annoying. Expand
  92. RobS.
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    Alex turner is a god of this age :) with the great lyrics and all round music to back it up makes for the greatest album ever!!!! buy it listen and love join the revolution!!!!!!
  93. TodorI.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    This album changed the way I listen to music.
  94. ReubenF
    Dec 18, 2006
    7
    The British Tabloids are well-known for over-hyping bands, and the Arctic Monkeys are the latest case in point. It is impossible now to know what to make of it all, as their over-hyping at the start of 2006 has been predictably followed by an equally extreme backlash. The winds of Brit-Pop indie fashion are notoriously fickle, especially when a band that even remotely resembles The Smiths The British Tabloids are well-known for over-hyping bands, and the Arctic Monkeys are the latest case in point. It is impossible now to know what to make of it all, as their over-hyping at the start of 2006 has been predictably followed by an equally extreme backlash. The winds of Brit-Pop indie fashion are notoriously fickle, especially when a band that even remotely resembles The Smiths happens to come along. That they combine that influence with The Streets probably explains the initial enthusiasm for the band. They are young. If they are as good as initially they were claimed to be, it will probably still take a few albums to regain credibility. Which is kinda unfair, as the over-hyping was not their fault. Expand
  95. ChrisL
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    A truly exceptional album, ignore the naysayers this is a piece of true class and raw energy
  96. BenG
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    Some of the songs should probably have been b-sides but the quality of the rest more than makes up for a few dodgy ones. Brilliant album. Brilliant band. Can't wait to see them live!
  97. PaulW
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    Uber cool album with great lyrics for such a young band, brilliant album!
  98. cdk
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    best rock album in years, revitalizing and addictive and so very full of that brit swagger
  99. MachuzzlewitSweedlepipe
    Jan 28, 2006
    9
    Yes, they sound like a school band, but they sound like the best school band you'll ever hear. Grin inducing tunes, sharp, unpretentious lyrics. A rare case of the hype being true.
  100. FearghalL
    Jan 29, 2006
    10
    this band tell it like it is there lyrics are as clever as anything the smiths ever produced believe the hype these guys are set for world domination
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. It’s exciting stuff, simple yet deadly effective.
  2. Such is the depth and quality of Turner's songwriting, it plays like a best of.
  3. It's not a totally perfect record, for which we should be thankful - remember what happened to The Stone Roses after they'd released their flawless debut? - but it is an excellent first album, and gives notice that Alex Turner is already one of this country's best lyricists.