User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 629 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 629

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 3, 2015
    9
    This debut album must have been a great surprise and achievement back in 2006: a young band with a new yet known rocky sound, very powerful and fearless, with a bunch of great songs and a rebel spirit. And it may turn into a modern classic also. Though their slower songs are not as good, this a great and enjoyable work of art that will certainly be positioned in several Best Of... lists inThis debut album must have been a great surprise and achievement back in 2006: a young band with a new yet known rocky sound, very powerful and fearless, with a bunch of great songs and a rebel spirit. And it may turn into a modern classic also. Though their slower songs are not as good, this a great and enjoyable work of art that will certainly be positioned in several Best Of... lists in the near future. Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2015
    8
    A fun, cool rock album by Arctic Monkeys. At this time they were very young.

    I think it's a fun album. I've liked it.

    FAV TRACKS:

    - The view From the Afternoon
    - I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor
    - Riot Van
  3. Nov 17, 2014
    9
    A brilliant debut album which shows that there is still hope for good old British Rock 'n' Roll.
    Best Tracks : Fake Tales of San Francisco, When the Sun Goes Down, A Certain Romance
    Worst Track : Perhaps Vampire is a Bit Strong But...
  4. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    Favourite album to be honest. Arctic monkeys started off great and although they're music is a little different today, they still know how to make good tunes that'll stick with you.
  5. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    the first album of arctic monkeys, is the best album since parachutes of coldplay & hopes & fears of keane, in this new era, remian like one of the best brithis albums of the new era, great album, an instant classic
  6. Feb 26, 2014
    8
    Absolute, sheer rock-and-roll fun from start to finish, but Turner was right in stating 'don't believe the hype' as this album is only the aforementioned definition. They're not here to save the world; they're here to have a good time, and that's okay.
  7. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    All I can say is, "Where did it all go wrong?" Arctic Monkeys burst on to the scene here with some of the ballsiest, catchiest, most energetic rock music to come out of Britain's housing estates. This is the type of album you can attach memories to; the type of album that encourages repeated listening, and the type of album Arctic Monkeys haven't created in some time.
  8. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    This debut album from the British Indie Rock band is really good, like it's seldomly seen for debut albums. Rough garage rock with this specially voice (meant in a good way!) from Alex Turner. 'Riot Van' tells a interesting story with smooth guitar sounds in the back. 'Mardy Bum' gives us one great chorus and a really great guitar solo like you don't see it anywhere nowadays. The firstThis debut album from the British Indie Rock band is really good, like it's seldomly seen for debut albums. Rough garage rock with this specially voice (meant in a good way!) from Alex Turner. 'Riot Van' tells a interesting story with smooth guitar sounds in the back. 'Mardy Bum' gives us one great chorus and a really great guitar solo like you don't see it anywhere nowadays. The first three songs are cool start for the disc; the last three songs are a cool ending for it. Between this are also good songs - some better, some less. Expand
  9. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    One of my favourite albums ever. I would love to go back in time and listen to this album for the first time once more, it has lots of great songs; in conclusion... one of the best records of the last 10 years.
  10. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    Very nice, upbeat album with many catchy song. "Riot Van" provides a breather in all of the loud songs. One of the rare moments when the band is as good as the hype. Except for the song "Perhaps Vampires is a Bit Strong But.." That's a bad song.
  11. Oct 20, 2011
    9
    One of the great British rock records of the 00's and an amazing debut album considering how young the band were when this came out. The Arctic monkeys came along with their own unique style and blew the competition of the time out of the water (does anyone remember the likes of Maximo Park). The opening and closing tracks are epic. Sandwiched in between is the tale of a night out inOne of the great British rock records of the 00's and an amazing debut album considering how young the band were when this came out. The Arctic monkeys came along with their own unique style and blew the competition of the time out of the water (does anyone remember the likes of Maximo Park). The opening and closing tracks are epic. Sandwiched in between is the tale of a night out in Sheffield told through some of the catchiest melodies and cleverest lyrics to come out of that city since Pulp. Still sounds great 5 years on and I have no doubt this will still be regarded as a classic for decades to come. Expand
  12. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    8
    Stellar debut album by the kids from Sheffield and happens to be one of the best records of the past decade.
  13. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Just wonderful. Alex turners ability as a wordsmith is truly magnificent with his dissection of youth turning simple daily experiences into exhilarating tales . Well Done Mr turner.
  14. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    Uno dei più bei album di sempre, sound fresco ed originale.
    Ogni canzone potrebbe essere un singolo.
    C'è poco da dire questo è un album che tutti gli amanti del rock devono possedere.
  15. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    I most say the Monkeys are a hard version of The Strokes far ahead stronger musical scores and a superior lyric. If you're into the inde/alternative genre or simply love The Strokes ( or anything related to them) try to see if they fit you. Because really, I think you will like them.
  16. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    An album full of infectious and compelling pop songs. Brilliant hooks and riffs, sophisticated drumming, clever lyrics and amazing composition. A complete and utter indie classic.
  17. May 31, 2011
    9
    What a fantastic album. Arctic Monkeys have a real talent. They combine great indie rock with far from subtle, yet genius lyrics by front man Alex Turner. Tunes such as "When the Sun Goes Down" and "I Bet That You Look Good on the Dance Floor" are my favourite, but I think the majority of the tracks on this album are very well worked to make a great album
  18. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    This is one of the greatest albums of modern times! The fact that this is the fastest selling debut album in British history tells you everything. Alex Turner is just a genius with his lyrics. For a debut album the quality of each is song is outstanding. The standout singles from the album are When The Sun Goes Down, a real anthem and catchy as hell, I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor,This is one of the greatest albums of modern times! The fact that this is the fastest selling debut album in British history tells you everything. Alex Turner is just a genius with his lyrics. For a debut album the quality of each is song is outstanding. The standout singles from the album are When The Sun Goes Down, a real anthem and catchy as hell, I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor, features some terrific riffs and Matt Helders on the drums owns this track. The View From The Afternoon is another great track, Fake Tales of San Francisco is an under rated track. From the Ritz To Rubble is a nice alternative on the album and the incredible Dancing Shoes is short and sweet. A more softer sound is showing in the awesome Mardy Bum and particularly A Certain Romance. Still remains one of the greatest debut albums ever. Expand
  19. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Whatever People Say is one of my favorite rock albums. The hooky guitar riffs and Alex's lyrics always get me in the mood. Every song feels like a single. Fake Tales From San Francisco, A Certain Romance, Riot Van, and I Bet That You Look Good On The Dance Floor are all amazing songs. All In All, Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not is an astonishing record that needs to beWhatever People Say is one of my favorite rock albums. The hooky guitar riffs and Alex's lyrics always get me in the mood. Every song feels like a single. Fake Tales From San Francisco, A Certain Romance, Riot Van, and I Bet That You Look Good On The Dance Floor are all amazing songs. All In All, Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not is an astonishing record that needs to be listened too as soon as possible. A Collapse
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. It’s exciting stuff, simple yet deadly effective.
  2. Such is the depth and quality of Turner's songwriting, it plays like a best of.
  3. It's not a totally perfect record, for which we should be thankful - remember what happened to The Stone Roses after they'd released their flawless debut? - but it is an excellent first album, and gives notice that Alex Turner is already one of this country's best lyricists.