User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 729 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 729

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 12, 2017
    10
    It’s gritty in its presentation but you will always find yourself bobbing your head while listening to the distortion and unique vocals of Alex Turner. The album has surprisingly strong songwriting and only seems to get better with every listen. At it’s core, it is fun, exciting, and the perfect anthem for partying youth. It also is the fastest selling debut album in the UK ever so, thatIt’s gritty in its presentation but you will always find yourself bobbing your head while listening to the distortion and unique vocals of Alex Turner. The album has surprisingly strong songwriting and only seems to get better with every listen. At it’s core, it is fun, exciting, and the perfect anthem for partying youth. It also is the fastest selling debut album in the UK ever so, that means something right?
    Favorite Tracks: “Dancing Shoes”; “Riot Van”; “From the Ritz To The Rubble”
    Expand
  2. Dec 10, 2016
    10
    The Arctic Monkeys debut album is not only my favorite album from them but it is also my favorite album ever. AM deliver with their most energetic rock album where there isn't one bad song. The guitars on this album are loud and prominent and Alex Turner delivers both fast paced rocking songs and soft songs that are beautiful and some that have a mix of both. Songs, like I Bet You LookThe Arctic Monkeys debut album is not only my favorite album from them but it is also my favorite album ever. AM deliver with their most energetic rock album where there isn't one bad song. The guitars on this album are loud and prominent and Alex Turner delivers both fast paced rocking songs and soft songs that are beautiful and some that have a mix of both. Songs, like I Bet You Look Good On the Dancefloor and Fake Tales of San Fransico, are some of the most energetic and the best songs. However my favorite song on the album is When The Sun Goes Down which starts off soft and then goes hard and then ends soft and is just fantastically beautiful.

    There isn't much to say about this album as every song is great and none are bad which is why it gets a 10/10 from me.
    Fantastic Songs: When The Sun Goes Down
    Great Songs: Literally all of them
    Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2016
    10
    79 negative ratings? What the hell? This is one of the best debut albums of all time! Alex Turner is one of the best songwriters of all time! Looking back on this album ten years after it was released, I really find it amazing that people are calling Arctic Monkeys "overhyped". Alex may have said "don't believe the hype", but the fact is, people should have done.
    Best tracks: Every single
    79 negative ratings? What the hell? This is one of the best debut albums of all time! Alex Turner is one of the best songwriters of all time! Looking back on this album ten years after it was released, I really find it amazing that people are calling Arctic Monkeys "overhyped". Alex may have said "don't believe the hype", but the fact is, people should have done.
    Best tracks: Every single track is absolutely brilliant. But the best of the best are The View From The Afternoon, Fake Tales of San Francisco, Riot Van, When The Sun Goes Down, From The Ritz To The Rubble and A Certain Romance.
    Worst tracks: I can't name any. I just can't.
    Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2015
    9
    This debut album must have been a great surprise and achievement back in 2006: a young band with a new yet known rocky sound, very powerful and fearless, with a bunch of great songs and a rebel spirit. And it may turn into a modern classic also. Though their slower songs are not as good, this a great and enjoyable work of art that will certainly be positioned in several Best Of... lists inThis debut album must have been a great surprise and achievement back in 2006: a young band with a new yet known rocky sound, very powerful and fearless, with a bunch of great songs and a rebel spirit. And it may turn into a modern classic also. Though their slower songs are not as good, this a great and enjoyable work of art that will certainly be positioned in several Best Of... lists in the near future. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2015
    8
    A fun, cool rock album by Arctic Monkeys. At this time they were very young.

    I think it's a fun album. I've liked it.

    FAV TRACKS:

    - The view From the Afternoon
    - I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor
    - Riot Van
  6. Nov 17, 2014
    9
    A brilliant debut album which shows that there is still hope for good old British Rock 'n' Roll.
    Best Tracks : Fake Tales of San Francisco, When the Sun Goes Down, A Certain Romance
    Worst Track : Perhaps Vampire is a Bit Strong But...
  7. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    Favourite album to be honest. Arctic monkeys started off great and although they're music is a little different today, they still know how to make good tunes that'll stick with you.
  8. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    the first album of arctic monkeys, is the best album since parachutes of coldplay & hopes & fears of keane, in this new era, remian like one of the best brithis albums of the new era, great album, an instant classic
  9. Feb 26, 2014
    8
    Absolute, sheer rock-and-roll fun from start to finish, but Turner was right in stating 'don't believe the hype' as this album is only the aforementioned definition. They're not here to save the world; they're here to have a good time, and that's okay.
  10. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    All I can say is, "Where did it all go wrong?" Arctic Monkeys burst on to the scene here with some of the ballsiest, catchiest, most energetic rock music to come out of Britain's housing estates. This is the type of album you can attach memories to; the type of album that encourages repeated listening, and the type of album Arctic Monkeys haven't created in some time.
  11. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    This debut album from the British Indie Rock band is really good, like it's seldomly seen for debut albums. Rough garage rock with this specially voice (meant in a good way!) from Alex Turner. 'Riot Van' tells a interesting story with smooth guitar sounds in the back. 'Mardy Bum' gives us one great chorus and a really great guitar solo like you don't see it anywhere nowadays. The firstThis debut album from the British Indie Rock band is really good, like it's seldomly seen for debut albums. Rough garage rock with this specially voice (meant in a good way!) from Alex Turner. 'Riot Van' tells a interesting story with smooth guitar sounds in the back. 'Mardy Bum' gives us one great chorus and a really great guitar solo like you don't see it anywhere nowadays. The first three songs are cool start for the disc; the last three songs are a cool ending for it. Between this are also good songs - some better, some less. Expand
  12. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    One of my favourite albums ever. I would love to go back in time and listen to this album for the first time once more, it has lots of great songs; in conclusion... one of the best records of the last 10 years.
  13. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    Very nice, upbeat album with many catchy song. "Riot Van" provides a breather in all of the loud songs. One of the rare moments when the band is as good as the hype. Except for the song "Perhaps Vampires is a Bit Strong But.." That's a bad song.
  14. Oct 20, 2011
    9
    One of the great British rock records of the 00's and an amazing debut album considering how young the band were when this came out. The Arctic monkeys came along with their own unique style and blew the competition of the time out of the water (does anyone remember the likes of Maximo Park). The opening and closing tracks are epic. Sandwiched in between is the tale of a night out inOne of the great British rock records of the 00's and an amazing debut album considering how young the band were when this came out. The Arctic monkeys came along with their own unique style and blew the competition of the time out of the water (does anyone remember the likes of Maximo Park). The opening and closing tracks are epic. Sandwiched in between is the tale of a night out in Sheffield told through some of the catchiest melodies and cleverest lyrics to come out of that city since Pulp. Still sounds great 5 years on and I have no doubt this will still be regarded as a classic for decades to come. Expand
  15. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    8
    Stellar debut album by the kids from Sheffield and happens to be one of the best records of the past decade.
  16. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Just wonderful. Alex turners ability as a wordsmith is truly magnificent with his dissection of youth turning simple daily experiences into exhilarating tales . Well Done Mr turner.
  17. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    Uno dei più bei album di sempre, sound fresco ed originale.
    Ogni canzone potrebbe essere un singolo.
    C'è poco da dire questo è un album che tutti gli amanti del rock devono possedere.
  18. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    I most say the Monkeys are a hard version of The Strokes far ahead stronger musical scores and a superior lyric. If you're into the inde/alternative genre or simply love The Strokes ( or anything related to them) try to see if they fit you. Because really, I think you will like them.
  19. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    An album full of infectious and compelling pop songs. Brilliant hooks and riffs, sophisticated drumming, clever lyrics and amazing composition. A complete and utter indie classic.
  20. May 31, 2011
    9
    What a fantastic album. Arctic Monkeys have a real talent. They combine great indie rock with far from subtle, yet genius lyrics by front man Alex Turner. Tunes such as "When the Sun Goes Down" and "I Bet That You Look Good on the Dance Floor" are my favourite, but I think the majority of the tracks on this album are very well worked to make a great album
  21. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    This is one of the greatest albums of modern times! The fact that this is the fastest selling debut album in British history tells you everything. Alex Turner is just a genius with his lyrics. For a debut album the quality of each is song is outstanding. The standout singles from the album are When The Sun Goes Down, a real anthem and catchy as hell, I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor,This is one of the greatest albums of modern times! The fact that this is the fastest selling debut album in British history tells you everything. Alex Turner is just a genius with his lyrics. For a debut album the quality of each is song is outstanding. The standout singles from the album are When The Sun Goes Down, a real anthem and catchy as hell, I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor, features some terrific riffs and Matt Helders on the drums owns this track. The View From The Afternoon is another great track, Fake Tales of San Francisco is an under rated track. From the Ritz To Rubble is a nice alternative on the album and the incredible Dancing Shoes is short and sweet. A more softer sound is showing in the awesome Mardy Bum and particularly A Certain Romance. Still remains one of the greatest debut albums ever. Expand
  22. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Whatever People Say is one of my favorite rock albums. The hooky guitar riffs and Alex's lyrics always get me in the mood. Every song feels like a single. Fake Tales From San Francisco, A Certain Romance, Riot Van, and I Bet That You Look Good On The Dance Floor are all amazing songs. All In All, Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not is an astonishing record that needs to beWhatever People Say is one of my favorite rock albums. The hooky guitar riffs and Alex's lyrics always get me in the mood. Every song feels like a single. Fake Tales From San Francisco, A Certain Romance, Riot Van, and I Bet That You Look Good On The Dance Floor are all amazing songs. All In All, Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not is an astonishing record that needs to be listened too as soon as possible. A Collapse
  23. dannyboy
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Like ok computer and definitely maybe before it you just cannot dent this album. despite being played on the basic set up of guitars bass and drums it strill manges to sound utterly unique. following on from the libertenes and the strokes anyone who likes popular music of anykind should find something to like about this album. it doesn't matter if the NME seem to like them a lot. Like ok computer and definitely maybe before it you just cannot dent this album. despite being played on the basic set up of guitars bass and drums it strill manges to sound utterly unique. following on from the libertenes and the strokes anyone who likes popular music of anykind should find something to like about this album. it doesn't matter if the NME seem to like them a lot. what is important is that this is damn good old fashioned British indie rock. buy it now. Expand
  24. AlS
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    This album is excellent.
  25. AlonsoC
    Jun 27, 2009
    10
    Just one of the best albums of the new popular music.
  26. benedictb
    May 30, 2009
    10
    This is the album of the 21st century so far. every song is genius, a brilliantly relevant punk revival infused with dance and modern indie music. it takes from the past but never once looks back and everything is brilliantly modern. when im 50 this will have been my album, my generations album.
  27. AndrewW
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    This album is an absolute masterpiece. Too many people think brilliant lyricists are those where the words are so obscure noone can understand them (ala Radiohead). Alex Turner has started to go down this route with some of his most recent songs but this album has intelligent laugh out loud lyrics like no album anywhere and tells the story of a night out in northern England (from dancing This album is an absolute masterpiece. Too many people think brilliant lyricists are those where the words are so obscure noone can understand them (ala Radiohead). Alex Turner has started to go down this route with some of his most recent songs but this album has intelligent laugh out loud lyrics like no album anywhere and tells the story of a night out in northern England (from dancing at a nightclub in Dancing Shoes through to catching the cab home in Red Light Indicates Doors are Secure). There isnt a single filler track in here and I'm convinced this will be the best album the Arctic Monkeys will ever make and imo will go down as a true modern great. Expand
  28. prostitute_finger
    May 26, 2008
    3
    Too primitive and boring commercial shit. Only few interesting and fun moments exist.
  29. ByronH.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    This album is great by all standards. It takes the music of its forebears and polishes it to a shine (it has its misses, but there is no such thing as a ABSOLUTELY perfect album. Even OK Computer has its similarities in songs like No Suprises and Let Down, and that album is a definite ten.) To people with their heads up their asses about them being overhyped and saying that the band is This album is great by all standards. It takes the music of its forebears and polishes it to a shine (it has its misses, but there is no such thing as a ABSOLUTELY perfect album. Even OK Computer has its similarities in songs like No Suprises and Let Down, and that album is a definite ten.) To people with their heads up their asses about them being overhyped and saying that the band is sub-par based on that, screw yourselves. I found this band by accident before I even had an idea what NME was. This album is great and takes music in agood direction. Expand
  30. JackD.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    This album is amazing.
  31. AlanB.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    The best alternative rock album in ages....and the best debut since Oasis.
  32. TiagoR.
    Oct 19, 2007
    0
    Bad really bad.
  33. Will
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    A genius debut album that takes all the best bits of British rock music. The guitar work and drumming it stunningly good, especially when you consider the young age of the group members. Alex Turner's poetic lyrics really make the songs though. This is one of the best indie/pop rock debuts since time began.
  34. KateB.
    Sep 20, 2007
    9
    An extremely good album indeed. I can see how his voice makes all the songs similar, but I also love the infectious melodies and witty lyrics. I also think it could wear thin very quickly though through more albums, and already has.
  35. MikeW.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    I bet that string of zero scores all come from the same looser putting in different names. Anyway, if you are into rock music this album is essential. There isn't a bad track on it. Its a powerhouse of energetic beats and infectious lyrics. This will be remembered as one of the great albums of the decade. Don't listen to the haters, make your own mind up. Oh, and Favourite Worst I bet that string of zero scores all come from the same looser putting in different names. Anyway, if you are into rock music this album is essential. There isn't a bad track on it. Its a powerhouse of energetic beats and infectious lyrics. This will be remembered as one of the great albums of the decade. Don't listen to the haters, make your own mind up. Oh, and Favourite Worst Nightmare is even better! Expand
  36. TodorI.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    This album changed the way I listen to music.
  37. JamesM.
    Sep 1, 2007
    1
    Just can't stand his voice and the wannabee working class attitude.
  38. Shes_soLoose
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    As strong a debut as any you could care to mention. Energetic, catchy, and with strong lyrics. The only song I dislike is Perhaps Vampires... Well done Monkeys.
  39. RobS.
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    Alex turner is a god of this age :) with the great lyrics and all round music to back it up makes for the greatest album ever!!!! buy it listen and love join the revolution!!!!!!
  40. RyanJ.
    Aug 7, 2007
    8
    Firstly, anyone who gave this album a ten is a moron. In no way is it perfect. Secondly, anybody who gave it a zero is a bigger moron. You think this of all albums is the worst ever and more importantly you think this is worse than K-Fed? Lastly, this is good album which has several catchy tunes and a lot of raw energy. It deserves 8 to 9 out of 10 but I went with 8 because after several Firstly, anyone who gave this album a ten is a moron. In no way is it perfect. Secondly, anybody who gave it a zero is a bigger moron. You think this of all albums is the worst ever and more importantly you think this is worse than K-Fed? Lastly, this is good album which has several catchy tunes and a lot of raw energy. It deserves 8 to 9 out of 10 but I went with 8 because after several listens the songs start to get annoying. Expand
  41. ScottM
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    Did any of the people who gave this a bad review even listen to the freakin CD....I'm American and nothing from the US comes close to the music coming out of England...these kids are great...keep it up so I don't have to listen to the rap/pop/hip-hop crap from the US.
  42. men59
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    I love this. Bomb shit man. Sound never heard.
  43. RachelL.
    Jun 23, 2007
    9
    This album is amazing Alex Turner's unique voice and clever lyrics combined with catchy hooks and melodies make for a fantastic album.
  44. tonje
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    I simply love every fucking song, and the lyrics are awesome.
  45. ChristopherD
    May 15, 2007
    10
    a true masterpiece. everything good about the strokes, franza ferdinand, the kinks, the who and more rolled into one record
  46. bobr
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Love the vocal style and lyrics. This album's awesome. "When the sun goes down" is my favorite.
  47. tobiasj
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    i cant believe people even bothered to rate this at zero , TYPICAL AMERICANS alll they can do is compare this album to other english bands , such a load of crap, this album is amazing lyrically brilliant , dont give an album like this a zero just because you dont understand the lyrics,
  48. AC
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    This was the best album I heard in all of 2006. Whoever said they're trying to sound like Oasis needs they're head read. The lyrics are just brilliant!
  49. DudeGuy
    Apr 23, 2007
    8
    Amazing stuff Buy and enjoy and no they're not Franz Ferdinand (they suck!) they're much better screw hype! can't wait for the new album
  50. Tommy
    Apr 16, 2007
    9
    Not the greatest band since the Beatles, true, but they still got one hell of an album here! Situation's a little different where I am though.. Even now, one year after it came out, AM are (almost) never played on swedish radio. Whats positive is that with no hype-backlash, I can just sit back enjoy the killer songs instead!
  51. patrickM
    Apr 14, 2007
    10
    WOW!! who the hell gave this a bad rating??? These are the best lyrics that I have heard in a long time. The songs are right up there with the Arcade Fire, and the lyrics are as good as The Roots. This is the most accurate and amazingly non-emo depiction of the troubles of youth that I have ever heard.
  52. RhysE
    Apr 12, 2007
    5
    Obviously, this album his horribley over hyped, which, will give the Monkey's a disadvantage as people will buy the album, expecting an album of Revolver or OK Computer quality. Whilst they aren't particularly bad, they aren't great. After the first couple of songs, it will just seem like the whole album is one long song. There is no change in tone on the guitars, no real Obviously, this album his horribley over hyped, which, will give the Monkey's a disadvantage as people will buy the album, expecting an album of Revolver or OK Computer quality. Whilst they aren't particularly bad, they aren't great. After the first couple of songs, it will just seem like the whole album is one long song. There is no change in tone on the guitars, no real change in pace (except for Riot Van, which is quite slow) and no change in the style of music. All just barre chords being played in a regular 4/4 time signature. Nothing that hasn't been heard before, by the other mainstream bands such as Razorlight, The View, The Fratellis, The Kooks etc. What you get, is a repetetive, unremarkable and moderately bland (although not quite as bland as Razorlight) album, that, if it had not sold so many copies, would be forgotten in the coming years. Unfortunatley, NME is still around, so alot of this stuff will probably be around for a while. Saviours of rock, I hope not. Expand
  53. JimK
    Apr 8, 2007
    1
    All youth culture and no music, Oasis could write melodies and had taste. England apologises for this music
  54. NickB
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    All you stupid fucks who gave this a 0 or a 1, how about you actually listen to the album before commenting based on hype.
  55. kt
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    These lads are the most talented and exciting band for years and tower over any other band out there. It's not particularly hard to see that, i therefore pity the fools below who do not appreciate fine music.
  56. MJPisces
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    WOW, I'm really shocked and frankly pissed at all of the people that gave them a bad rating. There's a ton of Indie/Rock bands in England, and maybe these guys aren't up to par with the rest but let me tell you...in America...the ARCTIC MONKEYS ROCK!! They are so much better then so many other musicians out there... you guys have bad taste!! Go listen to your Elton John!!
  57. HelenB
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    amazing & sexy
  58. Pukki-PukkiWoosabi
    Mar 23, 2007
    2
    I have to wonder about the type of people who rate this so highly. You are fully entitled to your (incorrect) opinion, but this is a terrible album. From start to finish it is devoid of beauty.
  59. AaronL
    Mar 23, 2007
    1
    I only give them one, because they are from my hometown os sheffield. This is an uninspired mess of an album. The lead singer cant even sing for gods sake! I dont know where this hype gets generated. I gave this album a huge chance but it is just not worth the money.
  60. RyanT
    Mar 21, 2007
    0
    Nothing compared to Oasis, Radiohad, Futureheads etc. These guys are fakers. Torture to listen through!
  61. CarlP
    Mar 21, 2007
    0
    Whoah, I thought that they were meant to be the next Oasis. Ummm... such a massive letdown I have to give it 0!
  62. NiallP
    Mar 21, 2007
    0
    These gus are amazingly overhyped!! There is nothing inspired or beautiful about this. A barage of noise and commercial garbage. Stay clear if you are a fan of indie.
  63. MichaelR
    Mar 20, 2007
    0
    Based on the album's title, somebody must have said they were not absolute rubbish.
  64. KidA
    Mar 19, 2007
    0
    Who listens to this rubbish? There is nothing special here. No originality. No talent. This is why I don't pay attention to hype (excluding Arcade Fire). These monkeys are really bad. If you like pop and dance you will love this.
  65. tristant
    Mar 17, 2007
    1
    Every couple of years the british press and media like to hype a new amazing britishband. So this time its the Arctic Monkeys. Well, dont believe the hype!!! If you find music with absolutely no depth, imagination and generally lacking in talent youll like the arctic monkeys. If however you want depth, melody, writings skills and half decent vocals, youll hate them!!! So dont be a like a Every couple of years the british press and media like to hype a new amazing britishband. So this time its the Arctic Monkeys. Well, dont believe the hype!!! If you find music with absolutely no depth, imagination and generally lacking in talent youll like the arctic monkeys. If however you want depth, melody, writings skills and half decent vocals, youll hate them!!! So dont be a like a bunch of sheep, have a mind of your own. Arctic monkeys are for spotty teenagers who havnt quite yet understood what good music is. In other words they are british press overhyped shit who probably wont be around in a year. Very forgettable!!!!! Expand
  66. MarkD
    Feb 18, 2007
    5
    If you ever needed proof that the British music press are a bunch of sheep who know nothing about music then just look at the bandwagon jumping hype that this album got. Ther's nothing exceptional or even slightly original about this music, just a few simple yet catchy pop/punk songs with smug "how clever are we" (despite the awful grammer) lyrics. In fact it's borderline middle If you ever needed proof that the British music press are a bunch of sheep who know nothing about music then just look at the bandwagon jumping hype that this album got. Ther's nothing exceptional or even slightly original about this music, just a few simple yet catchy pop/punk songs with smug "how clever are we" (despite the awful grammer) lyrics. In fact it's borderline middle of the road. The bottom line is this - i've heard it all before and i've heard it done a thousand times better. I hate the critics, i hate the Artics self satified attitude and (mark my words) in 10 years time everyone will wonder what all the fuss was about. DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE!!! Expand
  67. AbelD
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    Amazing album. Probably the best debut album in the last decade.
  68. ReviewBoy15
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    Listen to me everyone. I'm going to tell everyone the truth about albums these days. I myself (15 years) am the front man of an up and coming band in Brussels, Belgium. I know ALL about indie, alternative, punk, rock, etc. My reviews and scores are the final word. The Arctic Monkeys are my favourite band of all time. ALL TIME. They have something that other indie bands dont really Listen to me everyone. I'm going to tell everyone the truth about albums these days. I myself (15 years) am the front man of an up and coming band in Brussels, Belgium. I know ALL about indie, alternative, punk, rock, etc. My reviews and scores are the final word. The Arctic Monkeys are my favourite band of all time. ALL TIME. They have something that other indie bands dont really have. Their lyrics are incredible, he just sings about anything and makes it sound like a magical story. And the instrumental work (in particular the drums) is unparallelled. I dont give out tens for nothing but this is something special. Go out and get yourself a copy now! Expand
  69. ILOVETHEARTICMONKEYS
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    What the hell is wrong with everyone!!!!! Average mark 6.9!!!!!!!! You got it all wrong!!!!!! They combine INCREDIBLY powerful and imaginative lyrics with a raw and unparallelled beat to it. The're one of a kind and i'll recommend this album to anyone who has been blessed with the gift of a pair of ears that work.
  70. juanp
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    wow!! this album it's fantastic number 1 of the year
  71. ChrisL
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    A truly exceptional album, ignore the naysayers this is a piece of true class and raw energy
  72. CaleW
    Dec 27, 2006
    7
    Really solid debut. The band's great sense of rhythm and Turner's endearing accent make it a winner. Still, the energy level remains too high too long, and you'll probably grow weary trying to listen to the whole thing in one sitting. Turner's lyrics are good, though his sketches of place and character seldom develop into complete portraits. Their next album will Really solid debut. The band's great sense of rhythm and Turner's endearing accent make it a winner. Still, the energy level remains too high too long, and you'll probably grow weary trying to listen to the whole thing in one sitting. Turner's lyrics are good, though his sketches of place and character seldom develop into complete portraits. Their next album will probably be a true classic or truly miserable, but I can't imagine a band this energetic simply treading water. Expand
  73. ReubenF
    Dec 18, 2006
    7
    The British Tabloids are well-known for over-hyping bands, and the Arctic Monkeys are the latest case in point. It is impossible now to know what to make of it all, as their over-hyping at the start of 2006 has been predictably followed by an equally extreme backlash. The winds of Brit-Pop indie fashion are notoriously fickle, especially when a band that even remotely resembles The Smiths The British Tabloids are well-known for over-hyping bands, and the Arctic Monkeys are the latest case in point. It is impossible now to know what to make of it all, as their over-hyping at the start of 2006 has been predictably followed by an equally extreme backlash. The winds of Brit-Pop indie fashion are notoriously fickle, especially when a band that even remotely resembles The Smiths happens to come along. That they combine that influence with The Streets probably explains the initial enthusiasm for the band. They are young. If they are as good as initially they were claimed to be, it will probably still take a few albums to regain credibility. Which is kinda unfair, as the over-hyping was not their fault. Expand
  74. AndyS
    Dec 18, 2006
    3
    Extremely overrated.
  75. EricL
    Dec 17, 2006
    1
    We get it. You go to a club. Every song is absolute filth. The music is not only lackluster but sloppy, the lyrics uninspired. And this is what the Brits think is the 5th best Brit album of all time. Pathetic.
  76. DERMOT
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    people say they are too muck like the jam......wat pre-tel is the problem with this may i ask?????/ cant.make your own fukin music if it bothers u this much...or just dont listen...moan bags
  77. mikka
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    really like this album, one of the best of 2006
  78. Victoria
    Nov 15, 2006
    0
    SHIT
  79. VedranK
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    The best album of 2006 so far
  80. MaxB
    Oct 19, 2006
    7
    These songs are nice, pretty little morsels of raw, blunt but poppy rock n roll. The songs are fun, especially the single "I Bet You Look Good on the Dance Floor". But that song is about as good as they get, and towards the end they start to blend together.
  81. amuror
    Sep 27, 2006
    2
    Don't believe the evaluation of the mass communication. No CD that the rock lover should hear.
  82. bernardoc
    Sep 26, 2006
    5
    is not so awful and not so awesome...just common whit a few sparks...that is easily forgotten
  83. BenB
    Sep 18, 2006
    7
    This is an honest try at something new that has a couple amazing songs (Mardy Bum, When The Sun Goes Down, that Dancefloor track)...it just becomes a little repetitive, more annoying, then just sucks. They aren't Oasis (better in fact)and have a completely different view than the Gallaghers (Oasis=depressed girls in Omaha, Arctic Monkeys=Liverpool club hoppers)
  84. ChristopherM
    Sep 7, 2006
    5
    I'd give it more but this sure seems like it's been done a few times before.....and the name really bites...sheesh..arctic monkeys..??????
  85. GraceLC
    Sep 6, 2006
    0
    Arctic Monkeys? Mo' like the Average Monkeys! Seriously, though. These guys are a bunch of stale Jam rip-offs. Also: "Remember folks, these are the same people that brought us the Spice Girls." ... and Gang of Four, the Fall, the Associates, Joy Division, Jesus and Mary Chain, PiL, The Jam, The Who, Led Zeppelin, the Buzzcocks, the Rolling Stones, the Beatles and the Futureheads, Arctic Monkeys? Mo' like the Average Monkeys! Seriously, though. These guys are a bunch of stale Jam rip-offs. Also: "Remember folks, these are the same people that brought us the Spice Girls." ... and Gang of Four, the Fall, the Associates, Joy Division, Jesus and Mary Chain, PiL, The Jam, The Who, Led Zeppelin, the Buzzcocks, the Rolling Stones, the Beatles and the Futureheads, along with MANY other excellent bands. You were saying? Expand
  86. madelineh
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    Awesome!
  87. SAVAGETOAST
    Aug 18, 2006
    7
    Good, but not the best of the year. Id say its third best behind Destroyer's Rubies and #1 and Return to Cookie Mt. at #2. Pretty good but his voice gets annoying for us americans and they sort of get repetitive. A 7.
  88. JohnL
    Aug 16, 2006
    10
    The British Strokes.The libertines have nothing on these Monkeys.Best album of the year and debut since "Is This it".
  89. Rev.Rikard
    Aug 13, 2006
    9
    This is just great kickin rock and roll. The album reminds me of Grand Funk Railroad (at GFRs best). The driving bass and rythm section accompaned by guitar work that is intense. This album will not allow you to relax. It has the power to shake us out of complacency and awaken the ear to a sound long missed.
  90. Ethan
    Jul 29, 2006
    9
    This cd is awesome nothig more.
  91. TheCritic
    Jul 17, 2006
    8
    While it is overrated, the Monkeys are really not as bad as some people say they are. Even though the album is not consistent and it falls short halfway through, the Monkeys show here that they are definately going to mature and they do have potential and talent. The best tracks are "Mardy Bum" "A View From the Afternoon" and the ever-so-popular single "I bet You Look Good on the While it is overrated, the Monkeys are really not as bad as some people say they are. Even though the album is not consistent and it falls short halfway through, the Monkeys show here that they are definately going to mature and they do have potential and talent. The best tracks are "Mardy Bum" "A View From the Afternoon" and the ever-so-popular single "I bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor." Another thing... if anybody saw Saturday Night Live with the Arctic Monkeys on it, who agrees with me that they sped the "Dancefloor" song up double the speed on the album. Am I right? Expand
  92. LoganM
    Jul 16, 2006
    7
    this album was ok, nothing higher than a seven because you cant listen to this whole album. Half the songs stink on this album and another minus to the band is that I saw them doing "I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor" on many different showes and they were pretty darn bad. It may have gotten good ratings from the critics but I don't get how people can enjoy and listen over and this album was ok, nothing higher than a seven because you cant listen to this whole album. Half the songs stink on this album and another minus to the band is that I saw them doing "I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor" on many different showes and they were pretty darn bad. It may have gotten good ratings from the critics but I don't get how people can enjoy and listen over and over to some of the tracks on this record. Oh yeah, Doesn't the guy on the cover of the cd look like Adam Sandler????????? Expand
  93. antoniop
    Jun 23, 2006
    3
    I really don't understand why the music media talk so much about these guys. Their sound is so previsible and boring.
  94. jasonm
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    fukin great
  95. ThomasW
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    Their the best in the genre. Great lyrics, drums and guitare. First I wasen't convinced, Iput it aside for a month and listende to it again and it suddenly clicked. My favourite song is "From the Ritz to the rubble"
  96. laxNSnaxK
    May 31, 2006
    3
    Well, this album is not as good as anything put out by the White Stripes, or Franz Ferdinand, or Super Furry Animals, or Flaming Lips, or Kaiser Chiefs. While it may be about as good as the highly overated The Strokes, that's nothing to be overly proud of. All the songs sound the same and the singing is terrible, in fact it's hard to find anything good about the album, but I Well, this album is not as good as anything put out by the White Stripes, or Franz Ferdinand, or Super Furry Animals, or Flaming Lips, or Kaiser Chiefs. While it may be about as good as the highly overated The Strokes, that's nothing to be overly proud of. All the songs sound the same and the singing is terrible, in fact it's hard to find anything good about the album, but I have to admit I have heard much worse, so I'll give it a 3. Expand
  97. Luis
    May 29, 2006
    9
    Awesome music & lyrics...so fresh
  98. House
    May 22, 2006
    8
    What would you get if Ray Davies had joined the Clash...Artic Monkeys? There EPs were smart and sharp and this, there first full length record is even better. Can't wait for their Sophmore effort. This one rocks and surprises and makes you laugh all the way through.
  99. HackTheplanet
    May 22, 2006
    0
    Highly overrated.
  100. Monkeyman
    May 19, 2006
    10
    The best British debut album since The Stone Roses. Absolutely essential.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. It’s exciting stuff, simple yet deadly effective.
  2. Such is the depth and quality of Turner's songwriting, it plays like a best of.
  3. It's not a totally perfect record, for which we should be thankful - remember what happened to The Stone Roses after they'd released their flawless debut? - but it is an excellent first album, and gives notice that Alex Turner is already one of this country's best lyricists.