User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 109
  2. Negative: 22 out of 109

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    This album is definitively much better than her last two, it has a more mature sound and better vocals. She has more input in this album and actually co-writing some of the songs. It's different in a good way, she is growing into a serious artist for sure.
  2. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    This album is amazing! The first time selena gomez as a confident artist. This album is sweet and sexy with a hint of fun to it. Def. better than her last two albums.
  3. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Love this Album, and all of Selena Gomez & The Scene, Specially Love you like a love song and Who Says. I'd like to My Dilemma 2.0 were a fourth single.
  4. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    A much appreciated step up from their previous work, both in vocals and overall musical content. Armed with the famous producers such as Rock Mafia, Toby Gad, and Sandy Vee and lyrical contributions from Britney Spears and Katy Perry, this is perhaps the band's album yet, and surely the most mainstream. Imagine a Katy Perry album, but with more slick production, less suggestive lyrics, andA much appreciated step up from their previous work, both in vocals and overall musical content. Armed with the famous producers such as Rock Mafia, Toby Gad, and Sandy Vee and lyrical contributions from Britney Spears and Katy Perry, this is perhaps the band's album yet, and surely the most mainstream. Imagine a Katy Perry album, but with more slick production, less suggestive lyrics, and far better vocals: that is what this comes down to. Some (10-year-olds) may complain about the three times she says the "d word" in the album, but it really just shows that she is growing more mature, yet still keeping her distance from becoming another Miley Cyrus (aww!) Fans of electropop music, especially from Britney, GaGa, Christina, Katy and Miley, are sure to find several songs on this album that they adore. Move aside Lavato and Cyrus, we have a new Disney Queen coming through! Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Selena Gomez's third album, "When The Sun Goes Down", is surprisingly good and well done. It's amazing how, after two previous albums, she gets to the point of sounding as a true singer, and just as another Disney's marketing plan. The album has strong, well-written and gorgeously-produced songs. Emphasis on "We Own The Night", "Whiplash" (brilliantly written by Britney Spears) and "MiddleSelena Gomez's third album, "When The Sun Goes Down", is surprisingly good and well done. It's amazing how, after two previous albums, she gets to the point of sounding as a true singer, and just as another Disney's marketing plan. The album has strong, well-written and gorgeously-produced songs. Emphasis on "We Own The Night", "Whiplash" (brilliantly written by Britney Spears) and "Middle of Nowhere". Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    I went into this album expecting it to be terrible, just another manufactured Disney actress-turned-singer to milk their crowd. How wrong I was...

    Selena Gomez here makes an incredibly done dance album that has plenty of beats that stand out themseves and will keep you listening over and over. My personal favourites are Whiplash and Love You Like A Love Song, the latter of which recalls
    I went into this album expecting it to be terrible, just another manufactured Disney actress-turned-singer to milk their crowd. How wrong I was...

    Selena Gomez here makes an incredibly done dance album that has plenty of beats that stand out themseves and will keep you listening over and over. My personal favourites are Whiplash and Love You Like A Love Song, the latter of which recalls some of the best 80s dance songs.
    Expand
  7. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Qt & Sassy album. Selenita is bringing down the house imo, and as for your faves? Well, bang bang bang, she's breaking in, stealing all the their spots fast, and going for the win. Oop @ you haters.
  8. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    When I first listened to the album, it was bitter. The songs were so "noisy" that I was not even sure why I bought the album, and apparently, many people thought so too. It's obviously hard for the listeners to accept this supposedly abrupt change for the Disney star - there is so many new stuff in her songs and hence made those who were used to her family-friendly style confused. Still,When I first listened to the album, it was bitter. The songs were so "noisy" that I was not even sure why I bought the album, and apparently, many people thought so too. It's obviously hard for the listeners to accept this supposedly abrupt change for the Disney star - there is so many new stuff in her songs and hence made those who were used to her family-friendly style confused. Still, if you could just listen to the album with a little tolerance, you'd see that it's quite of good quality. She's learned a lot from each of her two previous albums and was able to take it to the next level of excellence, that is what people are expecting from a young pop star. Being perfect overnight isn't as easy as you think it would be. Being a modest learner is actually for the best. Having listened to the album for many times, I'd say that it's definitely a milestone for Gomez. Bravo. Expand
  9. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Oh My God. When Selena became a disco diva? I definitely loved the album. When The Sun Goes Downs is vibrant enough to the point of make a paralytic to dance (really). Selena is a light amid much garbage music that comes out of Disney. Love You Like A Love song is more than just danceable, it's revolutionary. It's dance music with quality that we haven't seen since the 80s. I want moreOh My God. When Selena became a disco diva? I definitely loved the album. When The Sun Goes Downs is vibrant enough to the point of make a paralytic to dance (really). Selena is a light amid much garbage music that comes out of Disney. Love You Like A Love song is more than just danceable, it's revolutionary. It's dance music with quality that we haven't seen since the 80s. I want more Selena and less Miley. Expand
  10. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    I have heard some **** music and this my friend is pretty good. I mean people like to hate things that critics like ugh it annoys the hell out of me.
  11. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Selena Is So Amazing!!
    Maturity And Beauty are the key words for this Album, Selena shows her grown up. DIsney Star to woman who knows what want.
    Wonderful & Amazing!!!
  12. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    She's growing and growing as an artist. Even though her vocals aren't the best, these songs are catchy and fantastic. Will she have the success that Britney had? I really hope so.
  13. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    I think it is her best album, all of the musics are great. Who Says is beautiful, Bang Bang Bang and Whiplash are sexy, Outlaw is awesome. Selena Gomez is one of the best Disney singers.
  14. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    It's the best album of Selena by far
    She show that she is one of the best teen artists ever
  15. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    This Album Is A BIG Step Up For Selena Is Is Really Amazing And Show's She Is A REAL SINGER
  16. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee it! It's Selena showing how it's done, Reductives will cry
  17. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    I loooooooooove it so much! Please Selena's do this album and the real message is: " I came to stay!" Music's like "Middle of Nowhere" is so incredible and "Love You Like A Love Song" is so different and a-m-a-z-i-n-g!!!! Selena is absolutely the best teen-adult long! Excited for the next album!
  18. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    This Album Is Just Great! Selena Has Improved Vocally! Every Song Is A Massive Hit In My Book!
  19. Mar 14, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was pretty boring at first, but if you listen to all of Selena's albums, you'll find that it's the best she released so far. Kiss & Tell was fun, but her voice is so sloppy in most tracks. A Year Without Rain was fun as well but it sounds like she can spit any minute. When the Sun Goes Down finally shows how good her voice is, even if it is auto-tuned. I basically like all the tracks except for That's More Like It. It's pretty childish, even for Selena, and the fact that Katy Perry wrote it makes it even more so. But other than that, if you need music to listen to, consider When the Sun Goes Down. It's a great album. Expand
  20. Apr 28, 2015
    10
    como deram amarelo tour pra esse cd? pro farofa dançante eu até entendo e tals, mas esse? porran q merda viu o jogo vai virar pra rainha vem verde tour no proximo album
  21. Jan 25, 2015
    9
    In every possible way, Selena proves you don't need to be mature to be good. When the Sun Goes Down is not the most intense, but probably her best album so far.
  22. May 4, 2015
    10
    This album is definitively much better than her last two, it has a more mature sound and better vocals. She has more input in this album and actually co-writing some of the songs. It's different in a good way, she is growing into a serious artist for sure
  23. May 4, 2015
    10
    yessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 9, 2011
    50
    On When the Sun Goes Down you get a teenybopper posing as a dorm-hardened college junior, and we all know how convincingly that scenario plays.
  2. Aug 4, 2011
    40
    Throughout this dance-pop album there's a catch in her throat that suggests an embryonic personality.
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    40
    Gomez may be the most boring teen-pop star of her generation. She makes Ashley Tisdale seem like Lady Gaga.