When the Sun Goes Down

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 249 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 249
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 28, 2012
    8
    Sambaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa Purooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
  2. Apr 28, 2015
    10
    como deram amarelo tour pra esse cd? pro farofa dançante eu até entendo e tals, mas esse? porran q merda viu o jogo vai virar pra rainha vem verde tour no proximo album
  3. Oct 27, 2015
    10
    Album épico, um dos melhores da minha era teen. Depois desse álbum o legado da Selena Gomez ficou maior! Selena sua linda te amo e esse é album é nota 10.
  4. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    This album is definitively much better than her last two, it has a more mature sound and better vocals. She has more input in this album and actually co-writing some of the songs. It's different in a good way, she is growing into a serious artist for sure.
  5. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    This album is amazing! The first time selena gomez as a confident artist. This album is sweet and sexy with a hint of fun to it. Def. better than her last two albums.
  6. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Love this Album, and all of Selena Gomez & The Scene, Specially Love you like a love song and Who Says. I'd like to My Dilemma 2.0 were a fourth single.
  7. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    A much appreciated step up from their previous work, both in vocals and overall musical content. Armed with the famous producers such as Rock Mafia, Toby Gad, and Sandy Vee and lyrical contributions from Britney Spears and Katy Perry, this is perhaps the band's album yet, and surely the most mainstream. Imagine a Katy Perry album, but with more slick production, less suggestive lyrics, andA much appreciated step up from their previous work, both in vocals and overall musical content. Armed with the famous producers such as Rock Mafia, Toby Gad, and Sandy Vee and lyrical contributions from Britney Spears and Katy Perry, this is perhaps the band's album yet, and surely the most mainstream. Imagine a Katy Perry album, but with more slick production, less suggestive lyrics, and far better vocals: that is what this comes down to. Some (10-year-olds) may complain about the three times she says the "d word" in the album, but it really just shows that she is growing more mature, yet still keeping her distance from becoming another Miley Cyrus (aww!) Fans of electropop music, especially from Britney, GaGa, Christina, Katy and Miley, are sure to find several songs on this album that they adore. Move aside Lavato and Cyrus, we have a new Disney Queen coming through! Collapse
  8. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Selena Gomez's third album, "When The Sun Goes Down", is surprisingly good and well done. It's amazing how, after two previous albums, she gets to the point of sounding as a true singer, and just as another Disney's marketing plan. The album has strong, well-written and gorgeously-produced songs. Emphasis on "We Own The Night", "Whiplash" (brilliantly written by Britney Spears) and "MiddleSelena Gomez's third album, "When The Sun Goes Down", is surprisingly good and well done. It's amazing how, after two previous albums, she gets to the point of sounding as a true singer, and just as another Disney's marketing plan. The album has strong, well-written and gorgeously-produced songs. Emphasis on "We Own The Night", "Whiplash" (brilliantly written by Britney Spears) and "Middle of Nowhere". Expand
  9. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    I went into this album expecting it to be terrible, just another manufactured Disney actress-turned-singer to milk their crowd. How wrong I was...

    Selena Gomez here makes an incredibly done dance album that has plenty of beats that stand out themseves and will keep you listening over and over. My personal favourites are Whiplash and Love You Like A Love Song, the latter of which recalls
    I went into this album expecting it to be terrible, just another manufactured Disney actress-turned-singer to milk their crowd. How wrong I was...

    Selena Gomez here makes an incredibly done dance album that has plenty of beats that stand out themseves and will keep you listening over and over. My personal favourites are Whiplash and Love You Like A Love Song, the latter of which recalls some of the best 80s dance songs.
    Expand
  10. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Qt & Sassy album. Selenita is bringing down the house imo, and as for your faves? Well, bang bang bang, she's breaking in, stealing all the their spots fast, and going for the win. Oop @ you haters.
  11. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    When I first listened to the album, it was bitter. The songs were so "noisy" that I was not even sure why I bought the album, and apparently, many people thought so too. It's obviously hard for the listeners to accept this supposedly abrupt change for the Disney star - there is so many new stuff in her songs and hence made those who were used to her family-friendly style confused. Still,When I first listened to the album, it was bitter. The songs were so "noisy" that I was not even sure why I bought the album, and apparently, many people thought so too. It's obviously hard for the listeners to accept this supposedly abrupt change for the Disney star - there is so many new stuff in her songs and hence made those who were used to her family-friendly style confused. Still, if you could just listen to the album with a little tolerance, you'd see that it's quite of good quality. She's learned a lot from each of her two previous albums and was able to take it to the next level of excellence, that is what people are expecting from a young pop star. Being perfect overnight isn't as easy as you think it would be. Being a modest learner is actually for the best. Having listened to the album for many times, I'd say that it's definitely a milestone for Gomez. Bravo. Expand
  12. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Oh My God. When Selena became a disco diva? I definitely loved the album. When The Sun Goes Downs is vibrant enough to the point of make a paralytic to dance (really). Selena is a light amid much garbage music that comes out of Disney. Love You Like A Love song is more than just danceable, it's revolutionary. It's dance music with quality that we haven't seen since the 80s. I want moreOh My God. When Selena became a disco diva? I definitely loved the album. When The Sun Goes Downs is vibrant enough to the point of make a paralytic to dance (really). Selena is a light amid much garbage music that comes out of Disney. Love You Like A Love song is more than just danceable, it's revolutionary. It's dance music with quality that we haven't seen since the 80s. I want more Selena and less Miley. Expand
  13. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    I have heard some **** music and this my friend is pretty good. I mean people like to hate things that critics like ugh it annoys the hell out of me.
  14. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Selena Is So Amazing!!
    Maturity And Beauty are the key words for this Album, Selena shows her grown up. DIsney Star to woman who knows what want.
    Wonderful & Amazing!!!
  15. Sep 6, 2011
    7
    Repetitive, boring, and seemingly endless. But as teenage pop goes, it's pretty darn good. Her vocals still seem to be the sane ever since she started singing in Disney, but her matured sense of music keeps her listeners sort of "on their toes".
  16. Jul 27, 2011
    8
    Track By Track: Love You Like a Love Song- a quirky disco electro type of song that is sweet and stuff. Bang Bang Bang- a diss type of song that is very good. Who Says-very nice song but it is kind of lost in all the electropop goodness. We Own the Night- her voice sounds perfect in this song. It is amazing. Hit the Lights-starts kinda' slow and then it becomes a club-ready song that isTrack By Track: Love You Like a Love Song- a quirky disco electro type of song that is sweet and stuff. Bang Bang Bang- a diss type of song that is very good. Who Says-very nice song but it is kind of lost in all the electropop goodness. We Own the Night- her voice sounds perfect in this song. It is amazing. Hit the Lights-starts kinda' slow and then it becomes a club-ready song that is almost perfect. Whiplash- my second personal favorite. it is so Britney spears-like it sounds super cool and i love every single thing about it. When the Sun Goes Down- probably one of the worst songs in the album. It is fast and stupid. I don't like very much. My Dilemma- cute song. very well done. That's More Like It- cutest song in the album very "girl-empowerment"kind of style. Love It! Outlaw-I half like it and half hate it. It is very well produced but has weird lyrics. Middle of Nowhere- In the top 3 of the best songs on the album. Cute and her voice is amazing. Best vocal song in the album. Dices- worst song in the album. she doesn't do Spanish very well. It pretty much sucks. Overall, best Selena Gomez vocal album yet. Expand
  17. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    She's growing and growing as an artist. Even though her vocals aren't the best, these songs are catchy and fantastic. Will she have the success that Britney had? I really hope so.
  18. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    I think it is her best album, all of the musics are great. Who Says is beautiful, Bang Bang Bang and Whiplash are sexy, Outlaw is awesome. Selena Gomez is one of the best Disney singers.
  19. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    It's the best album of Selena by far
    She show that she is one of the best teen artists ever
  20. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    This Album Is A BIG Step Up For Selena Is Is Really Amazing And Show's She Is A REAL SINGER
  21. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee it! It's Selena showing how it's done, Reductives will cry
  22. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    I loooooooooove it so much! Please Selena's do this album and the real message is: " I came to stay!" Music's like "Middle of Nowhere" is so incredible and "Love You Like A Love Song" is so different and a-m-a-z-i-n-g!!!! Selena is absolutely the best teen-adult long! Excited for the next album!
  23. Oct 16, 2015
    8
    Melhor que "Kiss & Tell" e "A Year Without Rain". Com destaque para "Bang, Bang, Bang", "Who Says", "Hit the Lights", When the Sun Goes Down", "My Dilemma", "Outlaw" e "Middle of Nowhere". Vale a pena ouvir.
  24. Mar 13, 2013
    7
    I will admit this I like Selena Gomez but I will state the truth. She is terrible singing live Its like she is terrified or nervous and sings very low, but in the comfort of the studio she is fine. No she doesnt write any songs or compose which is bad since she only wrote 1 song "When the Sun Goes Down", she is a perfect actress much better then Miley and Demi (Demi has the best voice).I will admit this I like Selena Gomez but I will state the truth. She is terrible singing live Its like she is terrified or nervous and sings very low, but in the comfort of the studio she is fine. No she doesnt write any songs or compose which is bad since she only wrote 1 song "When the Sun Goes Down", she is a perfect actress much better then Miley and Demi (Demi has the best voice). Album this album literally has 7 out of 12 good songs, I know alot. "Love You Like A Love Song" my God the most original, different and catchy love song of the 00's seriously nothing else sound like it Rock Mafia finally made a huge come back since "Potential Breakup Song", "Fly on the Wall", and "Come Back to me". "Who Says" one word ANTHEM, "Hit the Lights" one word CHANCES, "Whiplash" Britney Spears actually can write this is very good, "My Dilemma" mixed feelings at first then the beat and lyrics pulled me in, "Outlaw" automatically great, "Middle of Nowhere" I wanted to avoid this song then I took a chance and found myself singing this that very same night. Bad "Bang Bang Bang" whoever produced the song should be fired the lyrics ex. the chours, "We Own the Night" for a title like that it should be more live then it is, "When the Sun Goes Down" decent just to listen to, "That's More Like It" Katy Perry can write lyrically a success, production wise too low. She has grown but the styles of "Love You Like A Love Song", "Outlaw", and "Naturally" is who she is. Expand
  25. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    This Album Is Just Great! Selena Has Improved Vocally! Every Song Is A Massive Hit In My Book!
  26. Mar 14, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was pretty boring at first, but if you listen to all of Selena's albums, you'll find that it's the best she released so far. Kiss & Tell was fun, but her voice is so sloppy in most tracks. A Year Without Rain was fun as well but it sounds like she can spit any minute. When the Sun Goes Down finally shows how good her voice is, even if it is auto-tuned. I basically like all the tracks except for That's More Like It. It's pretty childish, even for Selena, and the fact that Katy Perry wrote it makes it even more so. But other than that, if you need music to listen to, consider When the Sun Goes Down. It's a great album. Expand
  27. Jan 25, 2015
    9
    In every possible way, Selena proves you don't need to be mature to be good. When the Sun Goes Down is not the most intense, but probably her best album so far.
  28. Sep 12, 2015
    10
    De Longe um dos melhores Hinários Teen dessa geração , não tem palavras pra descrever cade música ,melodia e batidas , sem dúvida um dos melhores que a selena já fez , Whiplash é ótima para dançar com batidas fortes , já outlaw é uma baladinha romantica mais é ótima pra dançar também
  29. Jun 10, 2015
    7
    Selena's best album...................................................................................................................................
  30. May 4, 2015
    10
    This album is definitively much better than her last two, it has a more mature sound and better vocals. She has more input in this album and actually co-writing some of the songs. It's different in a good way, she is growing into a serious artist for sure
  31. Oct 17, 2015
    9
    pra mim é o 2º melhor álbum da selena. é um álbum gostoso de ouvir, independentemente de qualidade. adorei e foi bem valorizado com 4 singles. o melhor cd dela com a banda the scene
  32. Oct 10, 2015
    7
    When The Sun Goes Down sería el último álbum de Selena Gomez junto a The Scene, y lo cierto es que lograron un buen resultado. ¿Lo más descatado? Love You Like a Love Song y Outlaw.
  33. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    hinário, merecia verde sim, uma das bíblias teens com certeza, bjsssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
  34. May 25, 2016
    8
    I would personally consider this album one of her best yet alongside Revival. From the first song to the last song it gets the listener hooked on to it provoking him/her to go further. It only consists one song which is 'skipable' and that would be the Katy Perry penned track Thats more like it. All 3 singles from this album are a few of her best songs. And the sexy Whiplash is one of theI would personally consider this album one of her best yet alongside Revival. From the first song to the last song it gets the listener hooked on to it provoking him/her to go further. It only consists one song which is 'skipable' and that would be the Katy Perry penned track Thats more like it. All 3 singles from this album are a few of her best songs. And the sexy Whiplash is one of the best on this album. Middle of Nowhere is the BEST song on this record which was single worthy. Apart from the singles Outlaw also deserves an honourable mention. Its a damn good album and even after 5 years this album brings back the same feeling it brought to us a few years ago! This is the album through which Selena's music career had STARTED to get recognised despite Naturally being her highest selling single to date Expand
  35. May 30, 2016
    10
    Mi album favorito de Selena Gomez, definitivamente excelente, buenos ritmos, buenas letras, y el diseño del disco igual, tal vez no sea el mejor, pero lo amo :)
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 9, 2011
    50
    On When the Sun Goes Down you get a teenybopper posing as a dorm-hardened college junior, and we all know how convincingly that scenario plays.
  2. Aug 4, 2011
    40
    Throughout this dance-pop album there's a catch in her throat that suggests an embryonic personality.
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    40
    Gomez may be the most boring teen-pop star of her generation. She makes Ashley Tisdale seem like Lady Gaga.