User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 90
  2. Negative: 19 out of 90

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    This album is amazing! The first time selena gomez as a confident artist. This album is sweet and sexy with a hint of fun to it. Def. better than her last two albums.
  2. Jul 1, 2011
    1
    Selena Gomez could simply be the most manufactured, unoriginal and uncreative artist on earth. ''Who Says'' is simply a Miley Cyrus ripoff, and that's not even a good ripoff. If you want something fresh to listen to, then don't listen to this, there is way better music out there.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    0
    It's hard to believe how high the metacritic score is for Selena Gomez's When the Sun Goes Down. The people who gave Gomez's new album a high score are the same morons that give every manufactured pop album a high score. Selena Gomez a creative genius?? What the **** are these professional reviewers smoking? Gomez doesn't even write or compose her own music. So how the **** can she beIt's hard to believe how high the metacritic score is for Selena Gomez's When the Sun Goes Down. The people who gave Gomez's new album a high score are the same morons that give every manufactured pop album a high score. Selena Gomez a creative genius?? What the **** are these professional reviewers smoking? Gomez doesn't even write or compose her own music. So how the **** can she be creative? She just spends 2 days in the studio recording vocals for songs written and composed by other people. Selena Gomez is a manufactured pop star. Those who gave her album a positive review know how untalented Gomez is. Yet Gomez's record label paid them to write positive reviews. Positive reviews usually equals more record sales. There is no such thing as a honest critic review. It's all about money. The more a music critic is paid, the higher the review score. To sum it all up, this record is utter crap. It's no wonder the music industry is falling apart. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    This album is definitively much better than her last two, it has a more mature sound and better vocals. She has more input in this album and actually co-writing some of the songs. It's different in a good way, she is growing into a serious artist for sure.
  5. Oct 30, 2011
    6
    Its straightforward that doesn't reinvent Gomez's sound (or assure that The Scene are actually a band) and each song sounds like another with that same Euro-beat and synthesizers. But when it comes to production and replay value, the songs are magnetic, danceable, and beautifully sang. The first track, "Love You Like a Love Song", starts with a dubstep-influenced Euro-beat and ends with aIts straightforward that doesn't reinvent Gomez's sound (or assure that The Scene are actually a band) and each song sounds like another with that same Euro-beat and synthesizers. But when it comes to production and replay value, the songs are magnetic, danceable, and beautifully sang. The first track, "Love You Like a Love Song", starts with a dubstep-influenced Euro-beat and ends with a seductive, unlayered vocal. "Who Says" and "We Own the Night" are straightforward pop songs that mostly use acoustic instruments. "Whiplash" was originally written for Britney Spears' 2007 album Blackout and is the maturest of the bunch. It uses chunky, churning synthesizers and seductive lyrics that reassure it was in fact written by Spears. Gomez also practices her faux-English throughout the song. The best track is "Outlaw", a Western-influenced dance-pop song with a gentle vibe that makes references to cowboys, criminals, and even Gomez's home state. Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    I have heard some **** music and this my friend is pretty good. I mean people like to hate things that critics like ugh it annoys the hell out of me.
  7. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    A much appreciated step up from their previous work, both in vocals and overall musical content. Armed with the famous producers such as Rock Mafia, Toby Gad, and Sandy Vee and lyrical contributions from Britney Spears and Katy Perry, this is perhaps the band's album yet, and surely the most mainstream. Imagine a Katy Perry album, but with more slick production, less suggestive lyrics, andA much appreciated step up from their previous work, both in vocals and overall musical content. Armed with the famous producers such as Rock Mafia, Toby Gad, and Sandy Vee and lyrical contributions from Britney Spears and Katy Perry, this is perhaps the band's album yet, and surely the most mainstream. Imagine a Katy Perry album, but with more slick production, less suggestive lyrics, and far better vocals: that is what this comes down to. Some (10-year-olds) may complain about the three times she says the "d word" in the album, but it really just shows that she is growing more mature, yet still keeping her distance from becoming another Miley Cyrus (aww!) Fans of electropop music, especially from Britney, GaGa, Christina, Katy and Miley, are sure to find several songs on this album that they adore. Move aside Lavato and Cyrus, we have a new Disney Queen coming through! Expand
  8. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Selena Gomez's third album, "When The Sun Goes Down", is surprisingly good and well done. It's amazing how, after two previous albums, she gets to the point of sounding as a true singer, and just as another Disney's marketing plan. The album has strong, well-written and gorgeously-produced songs. Emphasis on "We Own The Night", "Whiplash" (brilliantly written by Britney Spears) and "MiddleSelena Gomez's third album, "When The Sun Goes Down", is surprisingly good and well done. It's amazing how, after two previous albums, she gets to the point of sounding as a true singer, and just as another Disney's marketing plan. The album has strong, well-written and gorgeously-produced songs. Emphasis on "We Own The Night", "Whiplash" (brilliantly written by Britney Spears) and "Middle of Nowhere". Expand
  9. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    I went into this album expecting it to be terrible, just another manufactured Disney actress-turned-singer to milk their crowd. How wrong I was...

    Selena Gomez here makes an incredibly done dance album that has plenty of beats that stand out themseves and will keep you listening over and over. My personal favourites are Whiplash and Love You Like A Love Song, the latter of which recalls
    I went into this album expecting it to be terrible, just another manufactured Disney actress-turned-singer to milk their crowd. How wrong I was...

    Selena Gomez here makes an incredibly done dance album that has plenty of beats that stand out themseves and will keep you listening over and over. My personal favourites are Whiplash and Love You Like A Love Song, the latter of which recalls some of the best 80s dance songs.
    Expand
  10. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Qt & Sassy album. Selenita is bringing down the house imo, and as for your faves? Well, bang bang bang, she's breaking in, stealing all the their spots fast, and going for the win. Oop @ you haters.
  11. Sep 6, 2011
    7
    Repetitive, boring, and seemingly endless. But as teenage pop goes, it's pretty darn good. Her vocals still seem to be the sane ever since she started singing in Disney, but her matured sense of music keeps her listeners sort of "on their toes".
  12. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    When I first listened to the album, it was bitter. The songs were so "noisy" that I was not even sure why I bought the album, and apparently, many people thought so too. It's obviously hard for the listeners to accept this supposedly abrupt change for the Disney star - there is so many new stuff in her songs and hence made those who were used to her family-friendly style confused. Still,When I first listened to the album, it was bitter. The songs were so "noisy" that I was not even sure why I bought the album, and apparently, many people thought so too. It's obviously hard for the listeners to accept this supposedly abrupt change for the Disney star - there is so many new stuff in her songs and hence made those who were used to her family-friendly style confused. Still, if you could just listen to the album with a little tolerance, you'd see that it's quite of good quality. She's learned a lot from each of her two previous albums and was able to take it to the next level of excellence, that is what people are expecting from a young pop star. Being perfect overnight isn't as easy as you think it would be. Being a modest learner is actually for the best. Having listened to the album for many times, I'd say that it's definitely a milestone for Gomez. Bravo. Expand
  13. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Selena Is So Amazing!!
    Maturity And Beauty are the key words for this Album, Selena shows her grown up. DIsney Star to woman who knows what want.
    Wonderful & Amazing!!!
  14. Jul 27, 2011
    8
    Track By Track: Love You Like a Love Song- a quirky disco electro type of song that is sweet and stuff. Bang Bang Bang- a diss type of song that is very good. Who Says-very nice song but it is kind of lost in all the electropop goodness. We Own the Night- her voice sounds perfect in this song. It is amazing. Hit the Lights-starts kinda' slow and then it becomes a club-ready song that isTrack By Track: Love You Like a Love Song- a quirky disco electro type of song that is sweet and stuff. Bang Bang Bang- a diss type of song that is very good. Who Says-very nice song but it is kind of lost in all the electropop goodness. We Own the Night- her voice sounds perfect in this song. It is amazing. Hit the Lights-starts kinda' slow and then it becomes a club-ready song that is almost perfect. Whiplash- my second personal favorite. it is so Britney spears-like it sounds super cool and i love every single thing about it. When the Sun Goes Down- probably one of the worst songs in the album. It is fast and stupid. I don't like very much. My Dilemma- cute song. very well done. That's More Like It- cutest song in the album very "girl-empowerment"kind of style. Love It! Outlaw-I half like it and half hate it. It is very well produced but has weird lyrics. Middle of Nowhere- In the top 3 of the best songs on the album. Cute and her voice is amazing. Best vocal song in the album. Dices- worst song in the album. she doesn't do Spanish very well. It pretty much sucks. Overall, best Selena Gomez vocal album yet. Expand
  15. Aug 29, 2011
    0
    Terrible singer. I don't think one could even call this cat-shrieking-as-it's-electrocuted-in-water sound "singing." My ears bleed every time this chick opens her juvederm mouth.
  16. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    She's growing and growing as an artist. Even though her vocals aren't the best, these songs are catchy and fantastic. Will she have the success that Britney had? I really hope so.
  17. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    I think it is her best album, all of the musics are great. Who Says is beautiful, Bang Bang Bang and Whiplash are sexy, Outlaw is awesome. Selena Gomez is one of the best Disney singers.
  18. Dec 13, 2011
    2
    Whiplash, Hit the Lights. Are we talking about one of the greatest albums of the entire history, Kill'em All? No, not at all. The obsession of naming the album song's like the debut album of Metallica is one of the things that surprizses me more of this record. The other one is the score that this awful CD has here. And seriously, I'd put a 2 or 3 to the album, but please, a 7.5? The songWhiplash, Hit the Lights. Are we talking about one of the greatest albums of the entire history, Kill'em All? No, not at all. The obsession of naming the album song's like the debut album of Metallica is one of the things that surprizses me more of this record. The other one is the score that this awful CD has here. And seriously, I'd put a 2 or 3 to the album, but please, a 7.5? The song Hit The Lights have good arrangements, but is the same story that has been repeated over and over again since the irruption of Lady Gaga. The other main singles aren't anything great either. The chorus of I Love You Like A Love Song is decent, but the rest of things of the song are so horrendous that nothing can save the song. And Who Says is a song without any grace, any at all, with a little reminiscence to Justin Bieber's songs, being, obviously, far better than her boyfriend work. The rest of the album, sincerely is bad. Whiplash is mixed terribly bad, and when in your head you remember Metallica's song, you really want to cry. Pieces like We Own The Night and the other ones follows this direction. Nothing new at all. The only great moment are some parts, like the chorus, of the title track, with a cool synthesizer and guitar, but with forgettable parts. The worst is that, having good melodies, the instruments and sounds used ruin them. And the fact that a Disney factory artist has chosen to become a Dance-pop artist is a topic nowadays. There is no good evolution, only a commercial change. Conclusion: listen to Kill'em All. Expand
  19. Nov 14, 2011
    5
    I expected a better album. The songs are fairly repetitive but I couldn't find a lot of songs that had that 'wow' factor and were meaningful. The best song on the track would probably be 'Who Says' - it is quite different to the other songs, using acoustic elements, and it portrays a simple yet effective message. The other songs; however, I found quite lifeless and meaningless. Her voiceI expected a better album. The songs are fairly repetitive but I couldn't find a lot of songs that had that 'wow' factor and were meaningful. The best song on the track would probably be 'Who Says' - it is quite different to the other songs, using acoustic elements, and it portrays a simple yet effective message. The other songs; however, I found quite lifeless and meaningless. Her voice is nice, but she needs to work on her vocals. Overall, though, it is definitely an album that everyone should take a look at. I would like to see some songs in the future written by her do have a more original feel. Expand
  20. Feb 3, 2012
    6
    Great album i really like selena's voice and her style. but it wasnt as good as A Year Without Rain. But i still love this album i bought it and i still listen to it even though im a guy.
  21. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    It's the best album of Selena by far
    She show that she is one of the best teen artists ever
  22. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    This Album Is A BIG Step Up For Selena Is Is Really Amazing And Show's She Is A REAL SINGER
  23. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee it! It's Selena showing how it's done, Reductives will cry
  24. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Love this Album, and all of Selena Gomez & The Scene, Specially Love you like a love song and Who Says. I'd like to My Dilemma 2.0 were a fourth single.
  25. Oct 28, 2012
    8
    Sambaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa Purooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
  26. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Oh My God. When Selena became a disco diva? I definitely loved the album. When The Sun Goes Downs is vibrant enough to the point of make a paralytic to dance (really). Selena is a light amid much garbage music that comes out of Disney. Love You Like A Love song is more than just danceable, it's revolutionary. It's dance music with quality that we haven't seen since the 80s. I want moreOh My God. When Selena became a disco diva? I definitely loved the album. When The Sun Goes Downs is vibrant enough to the point of make a paralytic to dance (really). Selena is a light amid much garbage music that comes out of Disney. Love You Like A Love song is more than just danceable, it's revolutionary. It's dance music with quality that we haven't seen since the 80s. I want more Selena and less Miley. Expand
  27. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    I loooooooooove it so much! Please Selena's do this album and the real message is: " I came to stay!" Music's like "Middle of Nowhere" is so incredible and "Love You Like A Love Song" is so different and a-m-a-z-i-n-g!!!! Selena is absolutely the best teen-adult long! Excited for the next album!
  28. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    I wish Selena Gomez could write, or at least co-write ALL her own songs. But...

  29. Mar 13, 2013
    7
    I will admit this I like Selena Gomez but I will state the truth. She is terrible singing live Its like she is terrified or nervous and sings very low, but in the comfort of the studio she is fine. No she doesnt write any songs or compose which is bad since she only wrote 1 song "When the Sun Goes Down", she is a perfect actress much better then Miley and Demi (Demi has the best voice).I will admit this I like Selena Gomez but I will state the truth. She is terrible singing live Its like she is terrified or nervous and sings very low, but in the comfort of the studio she is fine. No she doesnt write any songs or compose which is bad since she only wrote 1 song "When the Sun Goes Down", she is a perfect actress much better then Miley and Demi (Demi has the best voice). Album this album literally has 7 out of 12 good songs, I know alot. "Love You Like A Love Song" my God the most original, different and catchy love song of the 00's seriously nothing else sound like it Rock Mafia finally made a huge come back since "Potential Breakup Song", "Fly on the Wall", and "Come Back to me". "Who Says" one word ANTHEM, "Hit the Lights" one word CHANCES, "Whiplash" Britney Spears actually can write this is very good, "My Dilemma" mixed feelings at first then the beat and lyrics pulled me in, "Outlaw" automatically great, "Middle of Nowhere" I wanted to avoid this song then I took a chance and found myself singing this that very same night. Bad "Bang Bang Bang" whoever produced the song should be fired the lyrics ex. the chours, "We Own the Night" for a title like that it should be more live then it is, "When the Sun Goes Down" decent just to listen to, "That's More Like It" Katy Perry can write lyrically a success, production wise too low. She has grown but the styles of "Love You Like A Love Song", "Outlaw", and "Naturally" is who she is. Expand
  30. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    This Album Is Just Great! Selena Has Improved Vocally! Every Song Is A Massive Hit In My Book!
  31. Sep 22, 2014
    6
    É um álbum bem legal vindo da Selena com músicas boas pra balada. As minhas favoritas são We Own The Night e Bang Bang Bang, mas tem umas músicas tão lixo que eu tiraria na hora do lançamento.
  32. Dec 17, 2014
    6
    Another good album to listen to Selena, is on a par with the Stars Dance, it needs to improve in quality music and this album needed to improve his vocals too.
    Highlights: We Own The Night and That's More Like It
    Lows: Outlaw and Middle Nowhere
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 9, 2011
    50
    On When the Sun Goes Down you get a teenybopper posing as a dorm-hardened college junior, and we all know how convincingly that scenario plays.
  2. Aug 4, 2011
    40
    Throughout this dance-pop album there's a catch in her throat that suggests an embryonic personality.
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    40
    Gomez may be the most boring teen-pop star of her generation. She makes Ashley Tisdale seem like Lady Gaga.