When the Sun Goes Down Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 288 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Disney star's third album offers more of the Top 40 dance-pop tunes of her previous records.
Buy On

Top Track

When the Sun Goes Down
Sun tan toes, ticklin' the sand, Cold drink chillin' in my right hand, Watchin' you sleep in the evening light, Restin' up for a long long... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 83
    On her first two albums, this Disney star never shook the moonlighting-actor vibe; on When the Sun Goes Down, though, she sounds fully invested in tart electro-disco ditties like ''Bang Bang Bang,'' which strongly recalls La Roux's ''Bulletproof.''
  2. Jun 30, 2011
    80
    For now, as long as she makes records as good and as much fun as When the Sun Goes Down, everything will be fine.
  3. Sep 9, 2011
    50
    On When the Sun Goes Down you get a teenybopper posing as a dorm-hardened college junior, and we all know how convincingly that scenario plays.
  4. Jun 27, 2011
    40
    The sad thing is, Gomez has one of the most pleasant and distinctive voices of her Disney cohorts, but she's let down by an album of weak songs that try too hard to be family friendly. Back to the drawing board for this cartoon pop star.
  5. Aug 1, 2011
    40
    Gomez may be the most boring teen-pop star of her generation. She makes Ashley Tisdale seem like Lady Gaga.
  6. Aug 4, 2011
    40
    Throughout this dance-pop album there's a catch in her throat that suggests an embryonic personality.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 52
  2. Negative: 10 out of 52
  1. Jun 2, 2017
    10
    Buen album. Tal vez no sea el mejor material por Selena Gomez,o como "Revival",pero sin duda el album de Gomez tiene ritmos muy pegadizos yBuen album. Tal vez no sea el mejor material por Selena Gomez,o como "Revival",pero sin duda el album de Gomez tiene ritmos muy pegadizos y muy buenos.
    Un buen album teen-pop
    Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Oh My God. When Selena became a disco diva? I definitely loved the album. When The Sun Goes Downs is vibrant enough to the point of make aOh My God. When Selena became a disco diva? I definitely loved the album. When The Sun Goes Downs is vibrant enough to the point of make a paralytic to dance (really). Selena is a light amid much garbage music that comes out of Disney. Love You Like A Love song is more than just danceable, it's revolutionary. It's dance music with quality that we haven't seen since the 80s. I want more Selena and less Miley. Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    This album is definitively much better than her last two, it has a more mature sound and better vocals. She has more input in this album andThis album is definitively much better than her last two, it has a more mature sound and better vocals. She has more input in this album and actually co-writing some of the songs. It's different in a good way, she is growing into a serious artist for sure. Collapse
  4. May 26, 2017
    9
    A Great Underrated Album

    The Album being better to me with another full listener, and i really like first time 7 to 8 note.... But I
    A Great Underrated Album

    The Album being better to me with another full listener, and i really like first time 7 to 8 note....

    But I Really like now the tracks that i don't like before > "Bang Bang Bang" "Whiplash" "Outlaw" & "That's More Like It"
    Expand
  5. Jul 27, 2011
    8
    Track By Track: Love You Like a Love Song- a quirky disco electro type of song that is sweet and stuff. Bang Bang Bang- a diss type of songTrack By Track: Love You Like a Love Song- a quirky disco electro type of song that is sweet and stuff. Bang Bang Bang- a diss type of song that is very good. Who Says-very nice song but it is kind of lost in all the electropop goodness. We Own the Night- her voice sounds perfect in this song. It is amazing. Hit the Lights-starts kinda' slow and then it becomes a club-ready song that is almost perfect. Whiplash- my second personal favorite. it is so Britney spears-like it sounds super cool and i love every single thing about it. When the Sun Goes Down- probably one of the worst songs in the album. It is fast and stupid. I don't like very much. My Dilemma- cute song. very well done. That's More Like It- cutest song in the album very "girl-empowerment"kind of style. Love It! Outlaw-I half like it and half hate it. It is very well produced but has weird lyrics. Middle of Nowhere- In the top 3 of the best songs on the album. Cute and her voice is amazing. Best vocal song in the album. Dices- worst song in the album. she doesn't do Spanish very well. It pretty much sucks. Overall, best Selena Gomez vocal album yet. Expand
  6. Dec 17, 2014
    6
    Another good album to listen to Selena, is on a par with the Stars Dance, it needs to improve in quality music and this album needed toAnother good album to listen to Selena, is on a par with the Stars Dance, it needs to improve in quality music and this album needed to improve his vocals too.
    Highlights: We Own The Night and That's More Like It
    Lows: Outlaw and Middle Nowhere
    Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2015
    0
    I can not hear whole, not feeling well, you know, did not like, did not like, selena is talented, but this album did not like not making WHATI can not hear whole, not feeling well, you know, did not like, did not like, selena is talented, but this album did not like not making WHAT are opinions Expand

See all 52 User Reviews