When Your Heart Stops Beating

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 54
  2. Negative: 5 out of 54

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    5
    Listening to this album was tiresome since it came out. I freaking love it, but I always wondered why I ended up being tired after it finished. I discovered I had a problem with a lot of the songs, and even those I liked were not suitable for everyone. This album has its good part, 155, Little Death, Lycanthrope, Cliff Diving. The rest is cheesy combination of pop-punk with teen-ishListening to this album was tiresome since it came out. I freaking love it, but I always wondered why I ended up being tired after it finished. I discovered I had a problem with a lot of the songs, and even those I liked were not suitable for everyone. This album has its good part, 155, Little Death, Lycanthrope, Cliff Diving. The rest is cheesy combination of pop-punk with teen-ish lyrics, which could have been a good thing if Blink182 had been present. But no, it looked as if they tried to make a kinda-dark album, and the result was, in my opinion, not very good.
    As I said, it's got a few good songs, I really enjoy half the album, that's why I give it a 5/10.
    Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    9
    This really is one of the best albums I've ever heard! blink-182 took big steps forward with every album they made (not meaning that the music got better 'cause of this), but the step that happened here is unbelievable! Great lyrics, awesome guitar and drum riffs, every single song for itself is rememberable. I would love to hear another album from this great formation; I like this workThis really is one of the best albums I've ever heard! blink-182 took big steps forward with every album they made (not meaning that the music got better 'cause of this), but the step that happened here is unbelievable! Great lyrics, awesome guitar and drum riffs, every single song for itself is rememberable. I would love to hear another album from this great formation; I like this work much better than anything blink-182 has ever done (including 'Neighborhoods'). Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2012
    1
    Such a dry album that needs a boost, the lyrics are bland and mediocre, the whole theme of the album just wants to make you punch somebody in the nose, it just bores you and annoys you at the same time, Mark Hoppus should have totally stayed out of the music scene, so sad because he had amazing songs when he was with Blink.
  4. Nov 26, 2011
    3
    Mark Hoppus should have taken a break during the hiatus rather start his own band, I found 2 of the songs from the album fun and amusing but the rest is mediocre and lame, don't get me wrong Mark Hoppus songs in Blink 182 are far more superior than this entire album. Some bad decisions in choosing band members, bringing Travis along was a smart move but adding the girl was a super bad ideaMark Hoppus should have taken a break during the hiatus rather start his own band, I found 2 of the songs from the album fun and amusing but the rest is mediocre and lame, don't get me wrong Mark Hoppus songs in Blink 182 are far more superior than this entire album. Some bad decisions in choosing band members, bringing Travis along was a smart move but adding the girl was a super bad idea it made the album really annoying. Mark hoppus definitively seen better days Expand
  5. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    The harmony in a lot of the songs is sort of sad. The use of minor chords create this atmosphere of sad ,yet catchy. a lot of these songs you'll end up singing in your car or something, but the album is missing a climax i didn't hear a song that really made me go "WOW" just kind of bland.
  6. DrewJ.
    Apr 1, 2008
    9
    It was ultimatly better than both of the Angels and Airwaves albums put together. The only flaw is it needs to be faster
  7. Eric
    Dec 19, 2007
    9
    This cd picks up where Blink 182's untitled album left off. This is what would have resulted if they did not break up. The cd, as well as the band, are not pretentious like angels and airwaves is. If you are a fan of Blink 182, I highly recommend this cd to you, especially if you were disappointed by what Tom Delonge had to offer.
  8. jonc
    May 3, 2007
    3
    Bland, needs a kick. Depressing too.
  9. SudipD
    Feb 24, 2007
    9
    Better then AVA
  10. clarkie
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    Blink 182 minus Tom has to be a success
  11. NikkiW
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    when ur heart stops beating awsum song
  12. koffeeg
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    fuckin awesome album!!
  13. jen
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    there songs are really good
  14. ZiftK.
    Jan 20, 2007
    6
    Just above mediocre. Only a few songs are good. One of them being When you heart stops beating. Blink was awesome, and this doesn't even come close. However, AVA isn't all that great either.... Better luck next time.
  15. alenah
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    i love them
  16. ConnorS
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    All Songs are Good. 155 is best song ever.
  17. RoniZ
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    This is by far the best CD ever made
  18. Tom8
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    Mark's ability to connect comes through once again ... really showing who the driving force behind blink's greatness was.
  19. alexb
    Dec 30, 2006
    8
    the albums pretty rad. can't wait to hear it live
  20. [Anonymous]
    Dec 24, 2006
    10
    tom is not at all missed on this lyrically athstetic cd. talent lays not in the first 5 listens, but each and everyone after that.
  21. WillM
    Dec 22, 2006
    8
    Not as good as traditional blink, but miles better than that awful angels and airwaves - TOM DELONGE IS AN IDIOT
  22. billym
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    This is the best cd out so far it is worth the money go and buy it!!!!!!!!
  23. bobbob
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    gooodoooododododo
  24. dylanl
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    This is the best album i have ever heard
  25. StephenP.
    Dec 17, 2006
    6
    Not on the level of Blink 182, but still more and fun than the debut of Angels and Airwaves, and not nearly as pretentious.
  26. Josh
    Dec 16, 2006
    10
    Great cd, very talented musicians at their best, sounding like Blink in alot of elements... whats better? except of corse Blink themselfs..
  27. JakeM
    Dec 14, 2006
    9
    Great album! Hoppus is a talented songwriter and Travis Barker is amazing drummer. Songs are melodic and catchy.
  28. bob
    Dec 13, 2006
    0
    possibly the most bland and mediocre album i have heard this year.
  29. Jeff
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    Awesome album! Every song is a great listen. I've had it in my CD player since the day it came out!
  30. ChenitoA
    Dec 5, 2006
    9
    Very upbeat not blink 182 but still a better fit than AVA
  31. jasonw
    Dec 5, 2006
    5
    catchy pop punk with cheesy lyrics
  32. AntonioR
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    This album is just amazing ! :D
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Even with its flaws, When Your Heart Stops Beating possesses a surprising vulnerability, which gives the album an understated strength and makes it such an enjoyable listen.
  2. Songs like "Baby Come On" and the spooky "Little Death" show the musicians finally delivering the substance that was promised on Blink 182's self-titled 2003 release.
  3. 60
    blink-182 without the humor.