• Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Jul 16, 2013
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jul 15, 2013
    60
    Wherever this door does go, it is a place that calls for boat shoes, a relaxed attitude, and a returning fan's patience.
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    50
    Where Does This Door Go feels like a once-promising OK Cupid date that's gone off the rails.
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    40
    From modest goals come modest returns.
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    60
    Packed with cleverly crafted production, Where Does This Door Go may be a sonic adventure, but it's not quite slick enough to challenge the current crop of R&B luminaries.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    This is my first Mayer Hawthorne album, but after several listens this is definitely better than a 73. My favorite songs are probably AllieThis is my first Mayer Hawthorne album, but after several listens this is definitely better than a 73. My favorite songs are probably Allie Jones and Back Seat Lover. Love the variety of sounds in this record. Full Review »
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    Since I recently heard this album, I had to review it because I'm really impressed with the direction Mayer Hawthorne decided to go on thisSince I recently heard this album, I had to review it because I'm really impressed with the direction Mayer Hawthorne decided to go on this album. There are so many good songs on his record but the "The Innocent", "The Only One", and "Kaila" are such good classics. "The Innocent" and "The Only One" have a seductive, playful 70's influence, they draw me in the most, musically and lyrically. "Kaila" has a cool Steely Dan vibe that I dig a lot also. Loved it! It's a must for anyone who appreciates good retro/soul music! Full Review »
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    At first listen, I didn't really like the album but after considerable deliberation, I listened again and somehow I came to like the grooves.At first listen, I didn't really like the album but after considerable deliberation, I listened again and somehow I came to like the grooves. I especially liked Crime and Allie Jones,among others. It is a great, consistent album. Go for it! Full Review »