Where Does This Door Go - Mayer Hawthorne
Where Does This Door Go Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length release for the Los Angeles-based singer includes contributions from Kendrick Lamar, Jessie Ware, and Pharrell Williams.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 91
    Hawthorne finally finds the right sonic escort for his L.A. lounge-lizard croon: Pharrell Williams. [19 Jul 2013, p.87]
  2. Ultimately, Mayer Hawthorne has created his most complete and compelling piece of art yet, taking risks, experimenting, and looking to expand his already defined palate.
  3. 80
    Hawthorne's muse is steeped in '70s influences--notably falsetto and symphonic-soul giants like Curtis Mayfield and Barry White, while trailing threads of piercing lead guitar through songs like “Wine Glass Woman” and “Corsican Rose” bring to mind Ernie Isley's work on “Summer Breeze”.
  4. Aug 16, 2013
    80
    Hawthorne's songwriting, crisply appointed arrangements and effortlessly gratifying croon feel more casually confident than ever, making This Door a third straight slam dunk. [No. 101, p.55]
  5. Jul 16, 2013
    70
    Despite dipping into hip-hop and reggae, there are footnotes to ’70s pop throughout. That doesn’t diminish the sheer pleasure of the tunes’ playful intentions, but Hawthorne’s DJ crate-digging tendencies seem to be bleeding into his songwriting.
  6. Jul 16, 2013
    67
    For all of his apparent devotion to the genre, Hawthorne comes off somewhat soulless on Where Does This Door Go.
  7. Jul 16, 2013
    40
    From modest goals come modest returns.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    Since I recently heard this album, I had to review it because I'm really impressed with the direction Mayer Hawthorne decided to go on this album. There are so many good songs on his record but the "The Innocent", "The Only One", and "Kaila" are such good classics. "The Innocent" and "The Only One" have a seductive, playful 70's influence, they draw me in the most, musically and lyrically. "Kaila" has a cool Steely Dan vibe that I dig a lot also. Loved it! It's a must for anyone who appreciates good retro/soul music! Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    This is my first Mayer Hawthorne album, but after several listens this is definitely better than a 73. My favorite songs are probably Allie Jones and Back Seat Lover. Love the variety of sounds in this record. Collapse
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    At first listen, I didn't really like the album but after considerable deliberation, I listened again and somehow I came to like the grooves. I especially liked Crime and Allie Jones,among others. It is a great, consistent album. Go for it! Expand