User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanJ
    May 11, 2005
    9
    This isn't a CD you will like on your first listen, give it a week though and it grows on you in a big way. Best album of 2005 thus far.
  2. JohnM
    Mar 11, 2005
    6
    This album has some brilliant moments (namely oxygen) but is quite disappointing amid the hype.
  3. LukeM
    May 11, 2007
    10
    Out of all the singer-songwriters to appear this year, he towers above the rest. The album is so raw that you feel like he's in your room playing just to you. Despite his tender years, he sings with wisdom of a man whose seen it all.
  4. cackle
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    i bought this album about a year ago, and it is still in my cd player. I think that says it all
  5. AliR
    Mar 14, 2005
    7
    Despite some good moments the albums ultimately disappointing. Roll on album number 2.
  6. ElinorE
    Sep 19, 2005
    9
    Underrated! A great album, listening and tapping my feet to it time and time again only makes it more addictive from Gotta Keep Movin, to Oxygen. Not at all disappointing.
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    9
    Some of those songs say relatively deep things about the human lot. I don't remember much of it, but some lyrics like the "we can be stronger than industry/as long as we realise/that there are things we don't need" etcettera. It's subversive songwriting in a way. Something rare these days. It's so accessible and yet describes a world you will only recognize if you've seen some ratherSome of those songs say relatively deep things about the human lot. I don't remember much of it, but some lyrics like the "we can be stronger than industry/as long as we realise/that there are things we don't need" etcettera. It's subversive songwriting in a way. Something rare these days. It's so accessible and yet describes a world you will only recognize if you've seen some rather unaccessible parts of life. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Packed with intriguing melodies. [Mar 2005, p.99]
  2. This is the folky, bluesy, jangly-guitar-slinging sound of somebody who has made a practice of walking in boots three sizes too big for so long that they finally fit, and it delivers enough promise to inspire big ideas about what could happen when he outgrows them.
  3. There’s no way he sounds 19.