Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    80
    Where You Stand finds the quartet catching up with themselves and displaying real depth and maturity. [Sep 2013, p.108]
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    80
    This stretch of songs is the liveliest collection Travis has cut since the '90s, and it's heartening to hear them reconnect with some of the wilder aspects that informed their earliest records.
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    The worst thing you can say about anything on this record is that they’re solidly crafted, faultless songs.
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    New fans will not be won, but the initiated will be delighted.
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    75
    In the end, Where You Stand is both a compelling reintroduction to those who grew up (but may have lost touch) with Travis and comfort food for longtime fans.
  6. 70
    Where You Stand reflects a band at peace, but it’s peace achieved through having successfully endured its share of bumps in the road.
  7. Aug 21, 2013
    70
    Interestingly enough, Where You Stand may be the first Travis record that snugs comfortably into an adult contemporary format.
  8. Aug 20, 2013
    70
    So while the various Easter eggs that Michael Ilbert and Travis apply to their sound are not necessarily new things to the pop world at large, they are new to Travis.
  9. 70
    Where You Stand picks up where you last left them--no matter where that was along the way.
  10. 70
    Where You Stand is a welcome, beautifully crafted and timeless return.
  11. 70
    "Moving" apes the shameless anthemic yearning of Coldplay, and "A Different Room" has the windy bluster of U2. But it's the tiredness of the songwriting that cripples Where You Stand.
  12. The small print is that Travis are still doing what Travis have always done.
  13. Aug 16, 2013
    60
    On the whole, it’s business as usual; a collection of brilliantly composed melodies that just lack the gravitas to lift them higher.
  14. Aug 16, 2013
    60
    It's nice. A bit boring. The melodies are likeably predictable, warm and gentle.
  15. Aug 15, 2013
    60
    While nothing sounds destined for the ubiquity that once allowed them to stage a famous Top of the Pops food fight for 2001's Sing, the fanbase will be overjoyed to have them back.
  16. Aug 14, 2013
    60
    Nowadays they're of more select appeal, and Where You Stand suggests they're actually quite comfortable with that. [Sep 2013, p.95]
  17. Aug 14, 2013
    60
    Not everything is quite so Travis by-the-numbers--and with mixed results. [Sep 2013, p.88]
  18. Aug 14, 2013
    60
    Though Where You Stand, their first album in five years, doesn't scale quite the same heights [as 1999's The Man Who]", there's real beauty in it too.
  19. Aug 22, 2013
    30
    Not quite dull enough to be entirely forgettable, Where You Stand plays it safe with middle-of-the-road everything.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 28, 2013
    7
    Bog standard Travis fair here. Mellow pop stuff with dollops of self deprecating humour and a lot of heart. They are a band that's hard to hate. Welcome back Travis! Full Review »
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    9
    Travis was never really a mainstream band. They had few world-known singles, but they never were that big band LLC. And they are quite fine with that. They are that quiet, introverted guy in every party that everybody knows of, whose wisdom is well-known, who has biggest influence in bringing all those people in the same room, but never got credit for it.
    Early in their age (as a band) they found their sound and that sound instigated forming of many bands. Like Coldplay, Keane, Snow Patrol... I read somewhere that they were Mumford & Sons long time before Mumford & Sons learned how to play an instrument. In that, sense of reinvention, they might be boring to regular listener -- because you heard it all before. But to a fan, like me, they will be that band I will always return to. Band that I will always love, which is responsible for my music taste and for pinch of nostalgia and melancholy in every playlist I made. Band I loved before I even knew music is so important to me.
    So where does "Where You Stand" stand? Before I graded it I decided to listen their complete discography and it sounds like all their records before, but grown-up. It is Travis at its core, essence but serious. Like that quiet, introverted guy has just finished college and it is great life in front of him. It is remarkably written, accompanied with amazing Travis-like tunes, songs are arranged in good order, and because all of it - it will not fail you. It will not change you life, either, at least right now. Where You Stand is an album whose value will be recognized later. An album that maybe won't increase Travis fan base, but it is made for fans.
    Like they sing in "Warning Sign" Don't let your heart run out on me - as if that would be possible?
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    Travis did it again! This album, although lacking a "big" hit, is overall a great Travis album! You would enjoy the album much more if you started listening to it from the first song to the end, instead of listening to the songs individually. Well done Travis! Full Review »