Whiskey Tango Ghosts - Tanya Donelly
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Donelly shows a grace on this disc that a lot of people her age aren't capable of.
  2. The low-key context suits her well. [6 Aug 2004, p.80]
  3. Each of the dozen tracks on Whiskey Tango Ghosts is an elegantly crafted miniature, using a bare minimum of almost entirely acoustic instruments as a framework for Donelly's intimate vocals.
  4. Beneath the dreamy melodies is more than a hint of darkness, disguised by the languid arrangements and dreamy playing.
  5. The plaintive mood of this album is a slow burn, seeping into the listener's consciousness over time, not revealing itself suddenly, but rather releasing its dandelion of pop dander into the wind in a measured but carefree manner.
  6. Trading bolshy indie for pin-drop lullabies and pedal steel guitars, 'Whiskey Tango Ghosts' is Donelly's 'I'm a full-time mum and dammit I'm happy' record. [24 Jul 2004, p.49]
  7. A dignified and engaging record.
  8. 70
    For better or worse, this is love songs for grown-ups. [Aug 2004, p.94]
  9. She recalls the emotionally raw folk of... Kristin Hersh. [Sep 2004, p.118]
  10. Whiskey Tango Ghosts is a supremely intimate, homespun album, one that isn't meant to arrest the senses so much as it strives to assuage the pain of turning on the nightly news and being bombarded with grim tidings on a global scale.
  11. Whiskey Tango Ghosts stays satisfied, to the point of sounding undifferentiated.
  12. 60
    Electric piano and pedal steel-caressed intimacy rules the day, keeping attendant preciousness almost, if not completely, at bay. [Aug 2004, p.99]
  13. Whiskey Tango Ghosts is a quiet meditative listen, yes, but those who haven't followed Donnelly's career trajectory closely may find it difficult to reconcile the contrast between her old and new selves.
  14. While '...Ghosts' is all very pretty and nice, there isn’t quite enough to get your teeth into.
  15. Most of Whiskey Tango Ghosts suffers from a kind of confessional sluggishness.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. AndrewK
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    A stripped down, more acoustic Tanya Donelly swirls and haunts her way through this wonderful set, providing a varied lineup of songs reflecting on her home, her career, and herself. It makes an excellent compliment to her wilder, more ecclectic days in Throwing Muses, the Breeders, and Belly. Full Review »
  2. ChrisR.
    Sep 11, 2004
    5
    I'm happy for Tanya that she's feeling content with her married life and motherhood. But I must say it makes for a boring album to listen to. The vocals are mixed so high that I feel just plain uncomfortable with the intimacy of it all. The unvarying acoustic instruments and slow tempo throughout also make the songs hard to get into. I like a little more variety, personally. Unfortunately Tanya wants to go into a more country-ish direction. I miss the alternative and I miss the rock. Full Review »
  3. roguewavecc
    Sep 5, 2004
    9
    Beutiful...glad to pop element is gone for her work. it reminds me of kristen hershes solo released, with out the edge