User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 135

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisB
    Apr 25, 2003
    4
    Instantly catchy. Makes one think you will love this albumn until you turn old and die. Makes one think that it may influence scores of young musicians. But then comes the second listen and one realizes its just plain boring with no staying power. Then one gets bitter about all the hype. Then one writes the nasty reviews that a totally mediocre, unoriginal albumn with that much hype deserves.
  2. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    White Blood Cells is like my new favorite garage rock album. It's catchy, the lyrics are great, the musicianship is astounding. Jack White's voice is amazing. "We're Going To Be Friends" is a catchy, fun song. "Dead Leaves And The Dirty Ground" is a great starter. And "Aluminum" is a really good instrumental song. All In All, The Best White Stripes album. A
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Absolutely brilliant album. For most bands, a masterpiece like this would be their best album but Elephant makes this band an exception. Jack White is one of music's biggest genius's and White Blood Cells was the first clear representation of that
  4. May 26, 2014
    8
    Started listening to White Stripes from their last album backwards (got into them via Icky Thump). It's hard to find any real flaw with White Blood Cells. Plenty of likable tracks through out and it's very enjoyable listening all the way through. It's definitely worth buying.
  5. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    This album really leaves you speechless at how great it sounds. You don't hear albums like this everyday, as White Blood Cells defines who the White Stripes are really. Key Tracks: "Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground", "Hotel Yorba", "Fell in Love with a Girl", "We're Going to Be Friends", "This Protector"
  6. BrianS
    Oct 17, 2003
    0
    I'm sorry, but the White Stripes have absolutely no talent. This is the worst CD I've ever paid money for, and I honestly wish I hadn't. Do yourself a favor and don't pay money for this crap.
  7. Nov 21, 2010
    5
    While the White Stripes are certainly not the most innovative rock band in history, they are still heads-and-shoulders above almost every other rock band from the last decade or so. While many of us have shared the thought that rock has died, this band has added an asterisk to the end of that thought. However, this album is not nearly as good as the two that would follow.
  8. Apr 25, 2012
    2
    While I appreciate Jack White as a man pushing the boundaries of music and trying to return classic rock and roll, sometimes the results are less than interesting. The critics like the man so much, they tend to gloss over his failures. I love "Fell in Love with a Girl", but much of the rest of this album should have found the cutting room floor.
  9. PhilR.
    Nov 25, 2001
    10
    It's going on my christmas list!
  10. EH
    Jul 8, 2002
    10
    ithink this album is quite possablythebest album of the yea. the white stripeshave done good
  11. KatyL.
    Aug 10, 2002
    10
    This album is one of the best ever!
  12. tracic
    Feb 6, 2004
    9
    one of the best i've heard in a long time. finally something original.
  13. MikeH
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    This is quite possibly my favorite album of theirs. I love the diversity of rock in this album...the country-rock in "Hotel Yorba", the Detroit rock in "Expecting", the punk in "Fell in Love With a Girl". And the lyrics are the best part...just read over "I'm Finding it Harder to Be a Gentleman". Jack is a genius.
  14. antonioq
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    It's a really good album once you get rid of preconceptions. "Every band needs a bassist" or "more drumming is better drumming", for instance. Music is, after all, what it is, not what it should be, and you can't fault "Hotel Yorba" (for example) for not rocking enough when it's a great -folky- song. Really strong record.
  15. JeremyA.
    Dec 10, 2001
    10
    If you like rock bands who can actually write decent songs, then you MUST hear this album. The White Stripes are everything the Strokes will never be.
  16. JeremyD.
    Aug 7, 2001
    9
    Great!
  17. KristiS.
    Sep 8, 2001
    9
    Excellent
  18. JamieS.
    Jan 9, 2002
    10
    in fact this cd is better than 10 how about infinity times 10?
  19. AdrianD
    Feb 20, 2002
    7
    Their best yet but is that saying much? I find a problem with the sameness of the sound.
  20. AliL.
    May 21, 2002
    10
    This album is so good... creative, energetic, neurotic. Too much fun.
  21. DavidZ
    Mar 27, 2003
    9
    Fine album by the Detroit area's "Pebbles and Bam-Bam." How they could produce such a huge sound from so few members is really the gist of their success.
  22. AmbriaG
    Aug 13, 2003
    10
    This was the first White Stripes album I bought,I bought it after seeing the ''Fell in love with a Girl'' video only afew times and I thought they were interesting after seeing them on th MTV movie awards.I am so happy I bought that album, more than a year ago I got the album and I STILL listen to it.After I bought the other two.I love WHITE BLOOD CELLS, Jack's This was the first White Stripes album I bought,I bought it after seeing the ''Fell in love with a Girl'' video only afew times and I thought they were interesting after seeing them on th MTV movie awards.I am so happy I bought that album, more than a year ago I got the album and I STILL listen to it.After I bought the other two.I love WHITE BLOOD CELLS, Jack's writing was so great on this album...THE WHITE STRIPES ROCK... Expand
  23. zache
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    freaken great cd, if you listen to them religiously or not. There elephant is good too but has alot of songs that people who dont "love" them probably wouldnt care for. definitly worth buying for fans...of course
  24. DennisT.
    Feb 2, 2004
    7
    i bought White Blood Cells, hoping it will be worth my $23, and after listening to Elephant, which was pretty great, and comparing the two, i expected better out of my $23. -I mean was he dying or what? (Little Room) - Hotel Yorba was good just missing that rock element. - I like the kind of style they played in Aluminum, but jesus christ i dont want to mistake my cd player having i bought White Blood Cells, hoping it will be worth my $23, and after listening to Elephant, which was pretty great, and comparing the two, i expected better out of my $23. -I mean was he dying or what? (Little Room) - Hotel Yorba was good just missing that rock element. - I like the kind of style they played in Aluminum, but jesus christ i dont want to mistake my cd player having problems with this dissapointment. - I think i smell a crappy song The rest of the songs were good or okay... After listening to it a second time, i came to appreciate the songs. I'm in luck because my CD really messes up sometimes, so i think i might get De Stijl for now. Expand
  25. Whateveryouwanttocallme
    Jun 3, 2004
    8
    This is a great album, by a great band. But, I wouldn't ever say they are the greatest band ever. Meg white needs drum lessons, and they need a bassest. They still are a great band, and they really if nothing else area step in the right direct. By the way, they aren't really garage rock as much as they are a blues revival mixed with the clash and the sonics.
  26. GordonR.
    Nov 9, 2001
    9
    Wipes the floor with The Strokes
  27. LeeBee
    Sep 29, 2001
    9
    They just keep getting better.
  28. BrandonM.
    Jan 16, 2002
    10
    this is the first White Stripes cd I ever bought and I had to go out and find the other two the next day. I had to order the White Stripes album but it was worth it. This is the first album in a long time that has knocked me over like a sledgehammer. Absolutely brilliant. If only more people had the pwer of Jack White's screeching vocals or Meg Whites relentless, hypnotizing drum this is the first White Stripes cd I ever bought and I had to go out and find the other two the next day. I had to order the White Stripes album but it was worth it. This is the first album in a long time that has knocked me over like a sledgehammer. Absolutely brilliant. If only more people had the pwer of Jack White's screeching vocals or Meg Whites relentless, hypnotizing drum beats. Please release another album. 3 is definatley not enough. Expand
  29. JimmyTheExploder
    Jan 29, 2002
    10
    This was the first white stripes album i bought and the previous two quickly followed. They are genius and 'White Blood Cells' is perfect for people who have never heard them before. Bare in mind though, i wasn't impressed straight away, it took a few plays before my head suddenly realised what i was listening to. Sheer brilliance.
  30. jessiedetroit
    Apr 7, 2002
    10
    finaly!! a good rock band from detroit. "fell in love with a girl" is one of the best tracts on the cd, that and "we're going to be friends". a must buy for anyones collection
  31. Brian
    May 7, 2002
    7
    I like the idea, and some of the songs are pure brilliance, but I find this record to be somewhat spotty. For my taste, I think De Stijl is a more consistent, solid record
  32. annie
    Jul 18, 2002
    9
    Influences galore, but quite original as a package. Ranges from metal touches to ballads, with plenty that sticks in your head. All songs well-written, though everyone will find a song or two that annoys and consistently leads to the "skip" button. The odd thing is which songs that will be will differ by person, and will be another's favorite.
  33. MickeyF.
    Jul 6, 2002
    0
    Most overrated album of all time. This album is a waste of money and is one of the crappiest rock records I've ever heard.
  34. scott
    Jul 8, 2002
    10
    best album ever. i listen to it at least once every day...white stripes rocl
  35. LukeM
    Sep 2, 2002
    3
    The music - guitar and drums only - wears thin very quickly. Though they aren't terrible to listen to, the White Stripes aren't particularly tuneful or memorable. Most of the songs just aren't fully realized.
  36. -x_AmBeR_x-.
    Jan 14, 2003
    10
    The White Stripes are Awesome!
  37. Dan
    Feb 13, 2003
    8
    A really good album, but it does lack in some areas.
  38. MichaelW
    Jun 18, 2003
    8
    Really good album, but not as good as Elephant.
  39. BenM
    Aug 5, 2003
    8
    its pretty good. better then most albums by other bands ive heard. i love how the white stripes have their own sound. most rock bands just bore me now. but this album isnt as good as their other 3 cds. they all get 10/10, and elephent gets 11
  40. NancyJ
    Mar 27, 2004
    9
    That guy Brian S. must be into Good Charlotte,Nickelback, Staind, Yellowcard etc. if he thinks WBC is crap.
  41. RonG
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    Awesome. Better than everything they've done (including Elephant and Get Behnid me Satan) - a miracle in itself Very few albums have quite so many great songs on them
  42. AliC
    Aug 13, 2005
    2
    Oh dear. The White Stripes are so difficult to listen to and the drumming is so dreary and awful. It's amazing how much of a career you can make out of pretending you are sleeping with your sister.
  43. thegodofrockandrollhoward
    Jan 16, 2006
    10
    outstanding. one of the best albums i have ever heard, even if meg cant drum.
  44. whitestripes!favband!
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    pretty darn good, but not as good as "elephant". i love the white stripes and always will. grade: 9.6... i rounded up, kuz they rock! :-)
  45. sr
    Mar 15, 2007
    5
    Check out chris thile's version of dead leaves and the dirty ground on google video.
  46. WodekS.
    Oct 12, 2001
    9
    More heart than a Polish Rocky. A triumph.
  47. MarlonJ.
    Dec 28, 2001
    10
    Make no mistake, Meg White, not lars ulric or jason bonham is the greatest drummer in rock and roll. Oh, yeah, that whiny guitarist singer aint bad either
  48. PaulS.
    Dec 28, 2001
    10
    Fantastic. The more i listen to it the more i love it. If you've seen em live too you'll have seen the brilliance shining from them. Who needs the way over-rated Strokes!
  49. MichaelK
    Oct 14, 2002
    10
    what we have here is enduring music with a caustic emotional punch, unlike the strokes, whom actually do seem like retreads.
  50. TaiC.
    Jan 28, 2002
    10
    They rocked my face off. Detroit rocks hard (cept Kid rock, who doesn't.)
  51. DeonF.
    Feb 21, 2002
    10
    a gut-shot full of brilliance
  52. bradm
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    the white stripes are the best. so therefore the album is to.
  53. joeb
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    This album is quality stuff. I can't make up my mind if it is their best but thats only because all their other albums are so awesome. In response to Ali C, don't make ignorant comments when you don't know what you're talking about. He's not pretending to sleep with his sister. They are a divorced couple and they just pretend to be brother and sister because Jack This album is quality stuff. I can't make up my mind if it is their best but thats only because all their other albums are so awesome. In response to Ali C, don't make ignorant comments when you don't know what you're talking about. He's not pretending to sleep with his sister. They are a divorced couple and they just pretend to be brother and sister because Jack kept Meg's surname when they divorced. Expand
  54. nashacrablegs
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    jack white is a genius
  55. richardh
    Nov 15, 2008
    9
    The best white stripes album. and elephant is far over rated. i think that djs play elephant cuz i they it makes them cool. for shame - this album is so much better.
  56. BobB.
    Nov 27, 2001
    9
    Simple, but raw and pure rock and roll
  57. Ian
    Nov 29, 2001
    9
    Take the rawk of their eponymous debut, add the tunes of De Stijl and you've one hell of an album. Only surpassed by their live act and close to being my favourite album of the year.
  58. LindsayP.
    Dec 11, 2001
    10
    Stripped down rock and roll at its finest.
  59. ihtyandr
    Dec 12, 2002
    9
    stylish & consept album. pretty sound from pretty person. My favorite album of the 2001 after Pierce & Bjork
  60. CPD
    Feb 12, 2011
    9
    Gritty, raw, and dirty (in the best way possible), this album will truly go down as a milestone in independent garage rock. With their third release, The White Stripes will flood you with distorted rhythms that two people usually aren't able to produce. A must have for any garage rock fanatic, or anyone who's looking for something out of the ordinary.
  61. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Catchy, great garage band music. This record is when they started to hit their stride. It also sets the template for their next, brilliant record Elephant. Their best work floods this album with songs like 'Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground', 'Fell In Love With A Girl', and the great 'We're Going To Be Friends.'
  62. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    This was the record that introduced me to The White Stripes and man does it got some classics on it, "Dead Leaves..", breakthrough hit "Hotel Yorba" and everyones Indie dancefloor favourite "Fell in Love With A Girl" all to be found in the first 10 minutes of the record. It's a blistering start but the record doesn't quite manage to keep the tempo, quality levels that high throughout. TheyThis was the record that introduced me to The White Stripes and man does it got some classics on it, "Dead Leaves..", breakthrough hit "Hotel Yorba" and everyones Indie dancefloor favourite "Fell in Love With A Girl" all to be found in the first 10 minutes of the record. It's a blistering start but the record doesn't quite manage to keep the tempo, quality levels that high throughout. They could have dropped 3 of the 16 tracks and turned this into a better album. I do think Elephant managed to sustain the quality throughout the record a bit better. Jack and Meg, one of Rocks most important partnerships over the last 15 years. Say what you like about Meg White, Jack's best records have been with her in the studio. Expand
  63. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    [9.3] The White Stripes flawlessly prove that in simplicity, there is beauty. This album is easily one of the best of the early 2000's, right up there with The Strokes.
  64. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    Holy crap. This album, this album right here, is brilliant. Not one of the 16 tracks is bad, not even mediocre. This album is absolutely amazing, and if you haven't heard any songs on this album, GET OFF OF METACRITIC AND LISTEN TO IT! This is easily their best album (even better than Elephant), the best album of the 2000s and my personal favorite album ever. BUY IT!!!!
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 70
    Though nothing new -- instrument-wise -- is added to the mix of drums, guitar, and piano, the White Stripes' recipe cooks up heavier overall on White Blood Cells, while still retaining some of the cheeky, barroom brashness that has become their stock in trade.
  2. 80
    The Detroit duo spin sordid tales and lovelorn drama with just the right amount of restrained percussion, blooze picking and screaming confessionals. [Sep 2001, p.93]
  3. White Blood Cells doesn't veer far from the formula of past White Stripes records; all are tense, sparse and jagged. But it's here that they've finally come into their own, where Jack and Meg White finally seem not only comfortable with the path they've chosen, but practiced, precise and able to convey the deepest sentiment in a single bound.