User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 1 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IndroV
    Aug 11, 2006
    9
    A great record !
  2. OliverS
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    Bloody ace. The Boom Boom Bap is terrific.
  3. nemorino
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    Alludes to wasted years, unhealthy addictions with poise, elegance and not inconsiderable regret. Takes a while - but stay with it!
  4. EndaG
    Oct 12, 2006
    9
    This is a superbly intelligent, melodic and rich album that improves with time. Stunning work.
  5. MaxM
    Mar 11, 2007
    9
    Am a huge Scritti fan and although this didn't grab me on first listen, it has worked its way into my brain and heavy rotation in my ipod. As always, Green surprises and satisfies. Still think Anomie was sorely underrated.
  6. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This is quite fantastic, amazing, I am with every breath of it all the way....... is my desert island disc, the one i'd run to save when the waves come crashing in....
  7. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    Just discovered this album by chance about 2 months ago. I was a fan of the 80's scritti politti and this is definitely not cupid & psyche or provision. The first few times I listened to this I did not really get it. But when I finally got onto the same wavelength as Gartside, I was able to appreciate the pure GENIUS of this album. It is actually some of the best music I've heard inJust discovered this album by chance about 2 months ago. I was a fan of the 80's scritti politti and this is definitely not cupid & psyche or provision. The first few times I listened to this I did not really get it. But when I finally got onto the same wavelength as Gartside, I was able to appreciate the pure GENIUS of this album. It is actually some of the best music I've heard in years!! "Favorite" track - "Locked" although it's all good. Absolutely beautiful, soothing, intelligent music, great vocals...PURE GENIUS. Cannot stop listening to this. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. The pristine, synth-heavy result certainly sounds worried over, sometimes to its detriment. [28 Jul 2006, p.67]
  2. 80
    Lyrically he's as pleasingly obtuse as ever. [Jul 2006, p.101]
  3. Even the ticking percussion and trilling synths can't hide the sheer melodic oddness of Gartside's songs. [3 Jun 2006, p.35]