White Pony - Deftones
White Pony Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. A complex, heavily textured album that aims for the stars.
  2. White Pony works on many different levels, with its treatises on alienation, art-rock explorations and soundtracks for people who don't take drugs but want to transcend the mundane. [Record of the Week pick]
  3. That such a progressive, risk-taking LP wasn't celebrated across the board for its gutsy reinventing of a band thought pigeonholed wasn't that surprising, though – this is a difficult album.
  4. 80
    Far and away Deftones' most daring and impassioned work to date.
  5. 80
    It's surprising how well the songs on White Pony absorb the band's disparate influences (Slayer, the Cure, Bad Brains) without compromising any of its destructive effect.
  6. A dense and textured rock affair that builds a bridge between grunge, goth, and industrial stylings.
  7. 20
    Maybe when they abandon their arrested development and stop convincing themselves the world is aligned specifically for their personal displeasure, they'll arrive at something listenable. [July 2000, p.112]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Megan
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    By far this is The Deftones' greatest cd. With both Chino's voice, and the chilling guitar riffs, this album cannot be topped by By far this is The Deftones' greatest cd. With both Chino's voice, and the chilling guitar riffs, this album cannot be topped by any other. If you dont have it, go out and buy it! Expand
  2. JanisK.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    Pure genius.
  3. AshleyM
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    This album... Its truly something. it has touched me on such an emontional level its insane. the lyrics are so deep and meaningful. im just This album... Its truly something. it has touched me on such an emontional level its insane. the lyrics are so deep and meaningful. im just mind blowen these guys are truly talented. Collapse
  4. MandyH
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    Deftones is my favorite band ever!!!! This would be my favorite album because the beats and lyrics of the songs move in a way that I Deftones is my favorite band ever!!!! This would be my favorite album because the beats and lyrics of the songs move in a way that I can't put it into words! ~*~ I love Deftones!~*~ Expand
  5. May 20, 2011
    10
    What a fine album this is, from beginning to end there isnt a song I didn't like, from the brutal Elite to the truly haunting Passenger. ForWhat a fine album this is, from beginning to end there isnt a song I didn't like, from the brutal Elite to the truly haunting Passenger. For me Passenger is the stand out track, featuring the vocals of Tool's Maynard James Keenan. Not many bands can pull off an album like this, just sheer brilliance. A great addition to the band is Mr Delgado, adds that bit of digital to the tracks. Expand
  6. Dec 23, 2013
    9
    Best Songs
    -Digital Bath
    -Change -RX Queen -Feiticiera -Knife Party -Back To School -The Boy's Republic Personal Favorites: -Digital
    Best Songs
    -Digital Bath
    -Change
    -RX Queen
    -Feiticiera
    -Knife Party
    -Back To School
    -The Boy's Republic
    Personal Favorites:
    -Digital Bath
    -RX Queen
    -Knife Party
    Change
    Expand
  7. MarcW
    Aug 24, 2003
    8
    This is a fantastic album which truly illustrates how this genre can grow and develop in such a creative way. The 'Tones have managed to This is a fantastic album which truly illustrates how this genre can grow and develop in such a creative way. The 'Tones have managed to retain their distinctive Nu-metal sound while going in a more thoughtful direction lyrically. A great album. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews