Who You Are

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 165
  2. Negative: 37 out of 165
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 9, 2016
    1
    Utterly terrible. It sounds rushed, unfinished, cheap, over-sang and utterly fake. 'Do It Like a Dude' and 'Price Tag' where totally misleading. Two excellent songs from one of the UK's most disappointing albums.
  2. Oct 4, 2016
    10
    Good debut album!,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
  3. Jun 30, 2016
    2
    Just... wow. This album is really bad. I'm honestly surprised it's only in the yellow. The songs are all over the place, hopping genres left and right with no flow whatsoever. The music and lyrics are so trite it's actually sometimes painful to listen to (especially L.O.V.E., Nobody's Perfect, Stand Up). I'll admit that Jessie J is an EXTREMELY talented vocalist, but it seems like she's soJust... wow. This album is really bad. I'm honestly surprised it's only in the yellow. The songs are all over the place, hopping genres left and right with no flow whatsoever. The music and lyrics are so trite it's actually sometimes painful to listen to (especially L.O.V.E., Nobody's Perfect, Stand Up). I'll admit that Jessie J is an EXTREMELY talented vocalist, but it seems like she's so focused on showing off her impressive chops that she sacrifices writing compelling pop music. There's way too much vocal noodling and not enough memorable hooks or creativity. She has so much potential, but this album is a huge disappointment.

    Standout tracks: Who's Laughing Now, Abracadabra
    Expand
  4. May 16, 2016
    10
    This album is unique. "Who You Are" is an excellent debut album due to the mixing of emotions in the songs and the connection between itself. Jessie's voice is incredible and some instrumentals sounds raw, like Nobody's Perfect, a thing that's great in my opinion because it makes the album sound different from any pop record released that time.
  5. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Who You are é o álbum début da britânica Jessica Ellen Conish, mais conhecida como Jessie J. O álbum é uma zona moderada entre o Pop,R&B,Rock e soul onde ambos os ritmos se encontram sem perder o sentido no disco. Canções como Nobody's Perfect,Who you are e Big White Room conseguem emitir emoções nos ouvintes,enquanto Price Tag,Abracadabra, Do it Like a Dude e Who's Laughing now dão umWho You are é o álbum début da britânica Jessica Ellen Conish, mais conhecida como Jessie J. O álbum é uma zona moderada entre o Pop,R&B,Rock e soul onde ambos os ritmos se encontram sem perder o sentido no disco. Canções como Nobody's Perfect,Who you are e Big White Room conseguem emitir emoções nos ouvintes,enquanto Price Tag,Abracadabra, Do it Like a Dude e Who's Laughing now dão um show de reverência e descontração,elevando o CD à um lado mais alegre da força. A cada canção você obterá a sensação de estar encarando uma nova sensação, uma nova sonoridade, uma nova Jessie J, e isso tudo junto só nos demonstra o que realmente Jessica vem tentando nos mostrar: Who you are. Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    vdd miguel ne melhor album vo da na cara dessa gente affffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff oi heartbeats
  7. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    minha xota q tem q fica com amarelo so tem hino hino amo de superação ante bulen amo arraso jessie melhor album to fazendo isso pela giovanna mas adoro vc adeus xo
  8. May 22, 2015
    4
    I don't know. The album has great bops such as Price Tag, Do It Like A Dude, Who's Laughing Now, Domino, and Who You Are. She tried too hard on this, trying to give off the "next Lady Gaga" debut album, but fails.
  9. Feb 5, 2015
    7
    Jessie J has that unique and powerful tone in her voice which made this album all the more interesting worth spending money on however, her lyrics often are unrelatable and has no significance in the current global crisises.
  10. Jan 28, 2015
    0
    As part of a special interrogation in Guantanamo Bay, this album would be sure to extract all information in its first rotation. No need to put it on repeat to break the prisoner, he is already begging for mercy after the first couple of songs:"Please make it stop!" J.J's voice becomes grating and the amusical mannerisms in the delivery unbearable somewhere half way through each song. TheAs part of a special interrogation in Guantanamo Bay, this album would be sure to extract all information in its first rotation. No need to put it on repeat to break the prisoner, he is already begging for mercy after the first couple of songs:"Please make it stop!" J.J's voice becomes grating and the amusical mannerisms in the delivery unbearable somewhere half way through each song. The songs themselves seems to be pastiches of every currently in vogue style; there is even song where she does a bad imitation of some kind of Jamaican dialect. It just can't get anymore insincere than this. Expand
  11. Dec 16, 2014
    9
    The best album of Jessie J, never thought a debut album would be as good as this, great music, well-chosen singles and the vocals are impressive, I need a second version of it.
    Highlights: Big White Room and Domino
    Lows: Casualty Of Love and I Need This
  12. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    The best album ever! I love Jessie J! She is the best! All the songs on the album make me well, who you are is a hymn, domino and price tag are the best! Do it like a dude was a blast! Jessie deserves much recognition, not only for voice but also as a person!
  13. Oct 16, 2014
    8
    "Who You Are" is one of the best Pop album from 2011! Jessie J voice is so great and her lyrics are amazing!! I cannot explain how I felt while I was listening this one... This album is biggest than her others albums, that's all!
  14. Oct 16, 2014
    8
    Un buen álbum, la mayoría de canciones son bastante pegadizas, no se a que se deben esas notas tan mediocres de algunos. Algunas de estas canciones se oyen un montón de veces en la radio.
  15. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    This was her most ICONIC album, the singles were perfection, and a great debut for her. Who knows if she can ever top this? Her voice really speaks on this album, and it had six top 10s in the UK. It's a shame it didn't have much attention in the US.
  16. Sep 6, 2014
    8
    Who You Are é um CD que marcou a carreira de Jessie. É seu melhor álbum até agora, com músicas divertidas e muito gostosas de ouvir. As melhores são Price Tag, Rainbow e Abracadabra.
  17. Aug 26, 2014
    10
    A rainha do UK, mais conhecida como Jessie J marcou o mundo musical com seu álbum de estreia Who You Are, que hitou e vendeu horrores no seu país materno e nos outros quatro cantos do mundo. Mesmo com debut #2 UK e #11 Billboard 200, nada prejudicou as vendas. Única cantora que colocou 6 singles no top 10 do chart britânico com o 1º álbum. Conseguiu dois hits mundiais, Price Tag e Domino.A rainha do UK, mais conhecida como Jessie J marcou o mundo musical com seu álbum de estreia Who You Are, que hitou e vendeu horrores no seu país materno e nos outros quatro cantos do mundo. Mesmo com debut #2 UK e #11 Billboard 200, nada prejudicou as vendas. Única cantora que colocou 6 singles no top 10 do chart britânico com o 1º álbum. Conseguiu dois hits mundiais, Price Tag e Domino. Dona de uma voz imensa e poderosa, tem para doar, vender e emprestar. Compositora de mãos cheias e já participou de algumas produções musicais. O talento dela é nitído e com o passar do tempo foi crescendo mais! Um dos melhores álbuns da minha vida e um presente para o pop/r&b/urban/dance/hit/conceitual. Who You Are é um álbum que Katy Perry sempre pediu a Deus e ela só recebeu o Katy Hudson, um fracasso em todos os quesitos. Expand
  18. Oct 16, 2013
    6
    Incredible, versatile voice, but isn't used to her full potential here. Most of the songs have weak lyrics disguised with far too many riffs, and the entire album is over-produced. I heard "Nobody's Perfect" and "Who You Are" first in her live performance videos on YouTube, and they were 10x better than on the album. These tracks are good for mindlessly belting out alone in your room orIncredible, versatile voice, but isn't used to her full potential here. Most of the songs have weak lyrics disguised with far too many riffs, and the entire album is over-produced. I heard "Nobody's Perfect" and "Who You Are" first in her live performance videos on YouTube, and they were 10x better than on the album. These tracks are good for mindlessly belting out alone in your room or the car but they're too over-the-top to get any real emotion from them. Hopefully she will find some new collaborators to work with on her next album and keep things vocally simpler, but most intelligently constructed. Expand
  19. Oct 12, 2013
    8
    I love this album so much. Jessie J do it very well. I love track like Who You Are, Domino, Laserlight, Do It Like A Dude and Mamma Knows Best. Her vocal is amazing.
  20. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    This album is all about the music & This is one of the best albums I've ever heard. I was going through a very very tough time when this was released, and this album got me back on my feet. Jessie J is amazing! I will always be a True Heartbeat
  21. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    Brilliant album, Jessie J has a fantastic voice, i loved it. The songs were amazing to very good, Who you are and Nobody's perfect are great songs and i really enjoyed all the other songs.
  22. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    um álbum muito bom, demostra uma grande capacidade vocal de uma grande cantora com letras que demostram uma vulnerabilidade adorável, o destaque do álbum a letra de Mamma Knows Best e Who You Are.
  23. Jan 16, 2013
    8
    Nice debut album from UK's Jessie J with a great selection of Pop tracks. The lead single wasn't the best perhaps but what followed were some great songs like Price Tag. The album tracks are also pretty impressive.
  24. Jan 7, 2013
    5
    Jessie J falls into the same category as Christina Aguilera. Both singers actually have nice voices, but decides to purposely fall into the same 'Pop Diva' category. Her single Money is pretty good, but there is a lot of unnecessary vocalizing in her other tracks. That's the crappy side of Pop Music. You have singers with limited range whose 'average' voice blend with its deliberatelyJessie J falls into the same category as Christina Aguilera. Both singers actually have nice voices, but decides to purposely fall into the same 'Pop Diva' category. Her single Money is pretty good, but there is a lot of unnecessary vocalizing in her other tracks. That's the crappy side of Pop Music. You have singers with limited range whose 'average' voice blend with its deliberately produced beats (case in point, Kylie Minogue). Yet there are singers who can actually sing who are disadvantaged and over powers songs that are 'electronically processed'. In the end, she felt like a second rate 'Lady Gaga'. Expand
  25. Nov 29, 2012
    6
    Jessie J's vocal ability blows all modern artists out of the water. I am disappointed by her song choices for her album. Her attractive, bubbly and talented personality primarily brought me to her music, and when I heard her vocal ability I was left wanting more, but the album does fall short. There are moments of amazement like Big White Room, which is so simple, yes less is more and theJessie J's vocal ability blows all modern artists out of the water. I am disappointed by her song choices for her album. Her attractive, bubbly and talented personality primarily brought me to her music, and when I heard her vocal ability I was left wanting more, but the album does fall short. There are moments of amazement like Big White Room, which is so simple, yes less is more and the listeners (and followers of her) envision young Jessie in hospital with a her world seemingly black and white. However, you have moments of "what were you thinking Jessie?" when you hear "I gotta have ya" rhymed with "like abracadabra" and you wonder how long it took her to write such lyrics. To be very frank, her album is slightly disappointing but I can't help but listen and admire her vocal gymnastics and tricks. Being biased here, I do understand her aim with this album, it does pain me that some of the songs were recorded 4 years ago prior to its inclusion on her debut album because the growth of her vocal ability from then is incredible. I do urge you to listen to 'Who You Are' sang live because that song particularly shows her vocal growth and when I heard it in the album, it was slightly too sharp for the ear. I recommend you do give it a listen but not for the lyrics and the instrumentation but for her personality and vocal ability. I do hope that with her next album it is not too commercially pop, although it has worked in her favour with hits like Price Tag, Dominoes and Lazerlight (all three which I despise). Favourite Song: Mamma Knows Best Most Played: Big White Room Best instrumentation: Mamma Knows Best Most endearing: Who you are Expand
  26. Jul 28, 2012
    6
    Individual track reviews: Price Tag is kinda catchy but its just too familiar and mediocre to get anything out of. Not to mention that the message is questionable. I dont like that this is her biggest hit. 5/10. Nobodys Perfect is more personal & while the lyrics can be a little too straightforward at times, in this case its a sign of sincerity, and the big instrumentation matches itIndividual track reviews: Price Tag is kinda catchy but its just too familiar and mediocre to get anything out of. Not to mention that the message is questionable. I dont like that this is her biggest hit. 5/10. Nobodys Perfect is more personal & while the lyrics can be a little too straightforward at times, in this case its a sign of sincerity, and the big instrumentation matches it perfectly. 8/10. Abracadabra shows a bit more label influence and Im surprised it wasnt a single. The overproduction is a bit distracting & the magic metaphors feel forced & recycled but I guess its decent enough. 6/10. Big White Room is refreshingly stripped down & genuine, with just her & an acoustic guitar while she delivers some very passionate vocals & lyrics. Definitely a highlight of the album. However I dont think it shouldve been a live version, and the stuttering on the going crazy part take away from the mood. I wouldve preferred a studio version, since the applause can get distracting. Still its impressive. 7/10. Casualty of Love is the first taste we get of Jessie as a R&B singer and it works well for her. The instrumentation is smooth & her powerful delivery & love-centric lyrics fit it very well. R&B/soul isnt my style but for what it is I can appreciate it. 7/10. Rainbows overly electronic & noisy beat is a bit annoying & Jessies random squeaks take away from the good lyrics about unity & growing up in hard times. However, this is only a problem in the verses and the chorus is the best part of the song. 7/10. Whos Laughing Now is probably the closest shes done to a screw-you-to-haters song, and Im glad she actually managed to tackle that concept well, which is more than what I can say about a lot of modern pop &/or rap artists. Rather than being about h8rz being jealous of her fame & money, she talks about all the people in her past that doubted her musical dreams & ambitions, and as a result its very believable and easy to go with lyrically. Again, the music couldve used less electronics but it still works as a whole. Might be my favorite song on the album. 8/10. Do It Like a Dude represents everything thats wrong with this album. Overproduced, trying way too hard to copy other pop stars, mainly Nicki Minaj, & the vocals, lyrics & beat (notice I didnt say instrumentation this time) are annoying. I just know that Jessies gonna regret this song later in her career. 2/10. Mamma Knows Best is the most straightforward soul track on this album, and by far the most bluesy. Also Im pretty sure its the only track here to feature a full horn section. The whole track is just so overwhelmingly confident in the best way possible. 8/10. L.O.V.E. is a nice change of pace into something more familiar after spending so many tracks in such a strong area one way or the other. Its just an earnest uplifting singer-songwriter pop love song that gets the job done. My one gripe is that the brief spoken part in the middle is really unnecessary and comes off as obnoxious. 7/10. Stand Up is a good song in the vocal & lyric departments but the instrumentation is a little too empty to fit the big multi-tracked vocals & slightly clumsy inspirational message, and as a result it doesnt really get any emotion out of me like its trying to do. It has potential but I dont think this was given the right treatment. The strings are a nice touch but with not much else in there it just doesnt work very well. 6/10. I Need This is a pop-rock power ballad about self-reflection that can sound a little bloated in the production area but sounds sincere nonetheless. But despite the well-done rock instrumentation and emotional vocals, the vocal melodies be a bit awkward & forced. Decent but not a highlight. 6/10. The last track on the standard edition, the title track Who You Are, is a fantastic closer about being yourself. Normally this would be a cookie-cutter theme youd roll your eyes at but Jessie uses real life experiences & insight, as well as some very passionate vocals, to make this a very believable, emotional and original take on a topic that lately pop stars have been laughably driving into the ground. 8/10. The first bonus track Domino is probably my favorite out of the straightforward pop songs here, the others being Price Tag, Do It & Abracadabra. While this track doesnt really amaze me and the lyrics arent exactly the deepest here, its easy to see that its just meant to be a fun harmless dance-pop song, and the lyrics dont usually sound cliche. 6/10. My Shadow is a well-made love song about the dependency of someone youre in a relationship with, and I cant say much about it that I havent already said with the other songs here. 7/10. And finally, LaserLight feat. David Guetta literally sounds like every other David Guetta song ever. Its just a blatant throwaway club-pop song. 4/10. In conclusion this album shows a lot of potential/talent but I really hope the next album is better. Album rating: 64/100. Expand
  27. Jul 14, 2012
    0
    Definitely one of the worst albums I've ever heard. Music boring, tedious, who can not be attractive. Except perhaps not even a song on this CD. Perhaps "Domino" which is blatant plagiarism "Last Friday Night."
  28. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    A Amazing Album!
    Very Unique Voice! One Of The Most Underated Album's Of 2011!
  29. May 8, 2012
    3
    Sadly, the result here is a rushed album that sounds cheap throughout. 'Do It Like a Dude', 'Price Tag' and the Brit Award for 'Critics Choice' led many people to expect something great, but what they got was something rather different. Vocal showboating and pointless 'quirky' lyrics do not make for a great album.
  30. Apr 28, 2012
    9
    The album is very experimental, which most people really won't like, so that explains the negative reviews most people have givven. But I appreciate the experimental sound on the album, and personally think it's a fantastic album.

    The album opens with 'Price Tag', one of the only popular songs on the album. Surprisingly, I've never been a huge fan of it. It's refreshing, yes. But it's a
    The album is very experimental, which most people really won't like, so that explains the negative reviews most people have givven. But I appreciate the experimental sound on the album, and personally think it's a fantastic album.

    The album opens with 'Price Tag', one of the only popular songs on the album. Surprisingly, I've never been a huge fan of it. It's refreshing, yes. But it's a little bit repretative. We get it, it's not about the money. But the album quickly goes into a more R&B turn with the next two tracks 'Nobody's Perfect" and "Abracadabra". Both are fantastic songs, Nobody's Perfect being the superior. The feel slows down for the songs 'Big White Room' and 'Casualty of Love'. Big White Room gets the award for most feeling on the album. Her emotion in it is flawless. Casualty of Love is one of the most unique things I've heard. I like it's out there feeling.

    For the next three songs, the CD takes an R&B/Urban twist, starting with 'Rainbow'. Rainbow is really cool & catchy. It's certaianly not the best song on the album, but it's still pretty good. The next song, 'Who's Laughing Now' is argueably one of the best songs on the album, carrying not only the catchiest beat on the album, but some really empowering lyrics! 'Do It Like A Dude' has good intentions, trying to be a woman-empowerent song, but fails to achieve a positive message because of the language in it (Some certain 4 letter words...). It's a great urban track, but it failed to reach it's goal.

    'Mamma Knows Best' is the most unique song on the album, taking an obvious inspiration from Christina Aguilera's 'Back to Basics'. I respect that, for B2B is one of my favorite albums of all time. Mamma Knows Best sounds like it could have literally been written for that album. The jazz-tune is so cool & unique! I love it!

    'L.O.V.E' is a pop-R&B tune about none other than love. I like it, but it's certainly forgettable compared to other songs on the album. ''Stand Up' is like Price Tag done right. A regae-pop track with a positive message. I'm not sure what it's about, but Stand Up is certainly a positive song! It's really cool!

    The album nears the end of the standard edition with 'I Need This', and I personally think the album should have ended with I Need This. The pop-rock ballad's tune has such a great feel! Even if it is unpopular, I love it!

    The standard edition ends with the heartfelt ballad 'Who You Are'. It's a flawless song. The lyrics are deep and her vocals shine on it. The deluxe edition contininues though, taking on a more electric feel with 'Domino' and 'Laserlight'. Domino is the first deluxe song. It has been critisized for being 'exactly like a Katy Perry song'. While I see the resemblence, Katy wishes she could do something like Domino. Laserlight is the second deluxe track, sporting a very electric feel, and continues the trend off beautiful lyrics.

    The deluxe edition comes to a close with 'My Shadow', the best new song on Who You Are. It has a more R&B feel rather than electric, and it's simply marvelous.

    Despite negative/mixed reviews from critics and listeners, I think 'Who You Are' is a fantastic album by a very talented singer. Jessie is going places, and I'm interested to hear her second album, which is due out later this year or early next year. The key tracks on Who You Are are as follows: Nobody's Perfect, Big White Room, Who's Laughing Now, Do It Like A Dude, Mamma Knows Best, Stand Up, I Need This, Who You Are, Domino, and My Shadow. In the end, I reccomend this to anyone who appreciates music. You really have to appreciate music to enjoy it. Those who listen to whatever is big simply won't get the throwbacks to jazz and real urban music. Radio friendly? Err, no? Good? Yes. Who You Are is a collection of great R&B songs, heartfelt ballads, and lots of experimental things. I think it's a risk well done. I won't tell you to buy it, because most people don't appreciate music like I do, but give it a listen. Great album!
    Expand
  31. Mar 25, 2012
    4
    Jessie J has been one of the UK pop revelations during 2011. However "Who You Are" is not an album that justifies all the hype she has been getting. Jessie J has a great voice, but she misuses her talent sounding almost hysterical in some of the tracks. In addition, she relies on gimmicks in most of her songs ("Who You Are", "Who's Laughing Now") and she falls flat to give them her ownJessie J has been one of the UK pop revelations during 2011. However "Who You Are" is not an album that justifies all the hype she has been getting. Jessie J has a great voice, but she misuses her talent sounding almost hysterical in some of the tracks. In addition, she relies on gimmicks in most of her songs ("Who You Are", "Who's Laughing Now") and she falls flat to give them her own twist. Like most of her pop contemporaries, she relies on Dr. Luke's productions to get obvious hits ("Price Tag", "Domino") and at least she achieves some notable pop songs with those works. There are some hidden gems in the album ("Do It Like a Dude") but it is not a strong debut. Hopefully she can step up her game. Highlights: Do It Like a Dude, Price Tag, Mamma Knows Best Expand
  32. Feb 11, 2012
    6
    Jessie's voice is amazingly strong and delivers very well in every song. However, I feel her talent is sort of ruined thanks to Dr Luke and his incredible ability to produce generic songs and turn the artists he works with into mainstream pop stars. Jessie J has A LOT of potential and if she had another producer that really used that potential, Jessie would be one of the most respectedJessie's voice is amazingly strong and delivers very well in every song. However, I feel her talent is sort of ruined thanks to Dr Luke and his incredible ability to produce generic songs and turn the artists he works with into mainstream pop stars. Jessie J has A LOT of potential and if she had another producer that really used that potential, Jessie would be one of the most respected artists in the business. Why would anyone use autotune with a voice like Jessie's? I have mad respect for her because I know she's a true, hard-working artist, I just think she could do WAY better. I know she can. Expand
  33. Sep 26, 2011
    1
    The biggest disappointment by an overated artist. Do It Like A Dude, Price Tag and the Critics Choice Brit Award set fans sights, including my own, far to high. She can sing, we understand that, but is there any need to show that off through the entire album ? And what's with the silly voices ? Oh, and yet another thing...i find it utterly offence when "fans" like myself buy and album andThe biggest disappointment by an overated artist. Do It Like A Dude, Price Tag and the Critics Choice Brit Award set fans sights, including my own, far to high. She can sing, we understand that, but is there any need to show that off through the entire album ? And what's with the silly voices ? Oh, and yet another thing...i find it utterly offence when "fans" like myself buy and album and then the artist releases singles and totally remixes them, thanks for the huge slap in face and ripping me off with the **** version. Do It Like A Dude and Price Tag save this album from being nothing but a pile of unfinished, patchy, cheesy and cheap songs mashed together by over the top - proove yourself vocals that do nothing but annoy the fans that sadly, she won't have left if she carries on releasing garbage like this. Expand
  34. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    I love this album. Jessie J has a amazing voice. Surely did prove on this album that she can sing. Love the catchy beats and tunes. She sounds better than a lot of american R&B/pop singer.
  35. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    After seeing Jessie J on SNL I went out and picked up her CD. I was pleasantly surprised with the rest of the CD. Not your ran in the ground Kesha sound or overly produced Katy Perry sound either. This chick has a set of pipes!! She has a large voice. Reading through the reviews Jessie J is love her or hate her. From her first CD, I love her!! There are a lot of songs on this cd that areAfter seeing Jessie J on SNL I went out and picked up her CD. I was pleasantly surprised with the rest of the CD. Not your ran in the ground Kesha sound or overly produced Katy Perry sound either. This chick has a set of pipes!! She has a large voice. Reading through the reviews Jessie J is love her or hate her. From her first CD, I love her!! There are a lot of songs on this cd that are brilliant. Expand
  36. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    I love this album. "Do it like a Dude" is one of the best songs of the year! Congratulations Jessie J, you have a piece of my heart. If you (Jessie J) continue on this path will be the next to pop artists like Lady Gaga
  37. May 30, 2011
    7
    This album covers, slow to up beat and rapping music. All the while you are left with the feeling that this young British artist has spent a long time thinking these songs through and has come up with some very touching and thought-provoking songs. I loved Jessie J from the moment i heard 'Do it like a dude' and straight away went out and bought her album to be thrilled, yet again, withThis album covers, slow to up beat and rapping music. All the while you are left with the feeling that this young British artist has spent a long time thinking these songs through and has come up with some very touching and thought-provoking songs. I loved Jessie J from the moment i heard 'Do it like a dude' and straight away went out and bought her album to be thrilled, yet again, with the contents of her songs.
    Anyone who enjoys young British artists, will definitely enjoy this album.
    Expand
  38. May 24, 2011
    2
    POSITIVE - Not many at all. She does have one hell of powerful voice, that is without doubt. 'Price Tag' and 'Do It Like A Dude' are simply brilliant tracks, produced to perfection and deserve the success they had. But sadly that's it. the nice comments are over. NEGATIVE. "One of the biggest disappointment i've ever bought" - this was my first comment on this album. I was so excited forPOSITIVE - Not many at all. She does have one hell of powerful voice, that is without doubt. 'Price Tag' and 'Do It Like A Dude' are simply brilliant tracks, produced to perfection and deserve the success they had. But sadly that's it. the nice comments are over. NEGATIVE. "One of the biggest disappointment i've ever bought" - this was my first comment on this album. I was so excited for this album, i genuinly convinced myself it was going to be fantasitc. Winning 'Critics Choice' at the Brit Awards we all expected a polished, clean yet dirty album....but really ? Did the "Critics" that gave her that award listen to her work before hand, or was sombody paid to give her the award ? This album is terrible. I've never heard such awful vocal showboating and over the top, tyring to hard, silly lyrics in all my life. The entire album sounds rushed, unfinished and all in all boring. And at what point do artists and record labels think that it's ok to release tracks after the album and totally remix them, 'Nobody's Perfect' - dull and lifeless on the album with vocals that make you want to slap her and tell her just shut up and stop wailing (we know you can sing...so why are you still trying to proove you can?) - But amazingly after this album got such mixed to negative reviews 'Nobody's Perfect' was re-recorded with new vocals and a heavier beat...all in all releasing a good song....THIS IS NOT OK ! Your setting fans up to think the album will be as good as the single, which is not the case. And for those of us who already own the album, know this is what you've done...it's an insult. I could go on but i'm not going to.
    OVERALL - A lifeless, boring, meaningless album. Vocals that are good, but turn sour after the 150th time of hearing her overuse them. It won't go down in history for any good reasons, it will drift into backgrounds of clothing shops and supermarket radios. Simply a flip off to fans who waitied so patiently for her. Dreadfull album.
    Expand
  39. May 13, 2011
    0
    Just awful. This girl, who seems nice and fairly talented, should be ashamed of selling herself so cheaply to every whim and demand of pop culture and record labels. It's a sad thing to see. It would not have been a groundbreaking record but could have been a nice guilty pleasure. Now it's just watered down p*iss.
  40. May 4, 2011
    10
    To be a new artist, that hasn't received the promotions due to her, I Think She's AWESOME!
  41. Apr 14, 2011
    9
    A dazzling, charming, colourful album, ornated with Jessie J's unusual but steady vocals. The topics this newbie sings off are not very original, but still, the album works surprisingly well, giving off that joyous vibe that combines Katy Perry and Nicki Minaj into a whole new star.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Uncut
    May 13, 2011
    60
    Sincere but Hokey homilies test the patience, but she brings imaginative vocal skills and real life experiences to "White Room," which displays a certain determined character. [Jun 2011, p.86]
  2. Apr 29, 2011
    20
    Over-emoting at every turn, she obliterates otherwise innocuous soul, R&B and reggae-inflected songs with gimmicky vocal histrionics, strident attempts at melisma and the kind of callow self-help lyrics that are apparently mandatory for all young pop stars nowadays.
  3. Apr 26, 2011
    50
    Quite honestly, Ke$ha is just more fun to listen to, even though Jessie J may ultimately have more career longevity. It's a decent enough album for the teenage dance set though.