Who You Are

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 163 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 163
  2. Negative: 37 out of 163
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    I love this album. "Do it like a Dude" is one of the best songs of the year! Congratulations Jessie J, you have a piece of my heart. If you (Jessie J) continue on this path will be the next to pop artists like Lady Gaga
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    um álbum muito bom, demostra uma grande capacidade vocal de uma grande cantora com letras que demostram uma vulnerabilidade adorável, o destaque do álbum a letra de Mamma Knows Best e Who You Are.
  3. Dec 16, 2014
    9
    The best album of Jessie J, never thought a debut album would be as good as this, great music, well-chosen singles and the vocals are impressive, I need a second version of it.
    Highlights: Big White Room and Domino
    Lows: Casualty Of Love and I Need This
  4. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    minha xota q tem q fica com amarelo so tem hino hino amo de superação ante bulen amo arraso jessie melhor album to fazendo isso pela giovanna mas adoro vc adeus xo
  5. Oct 12, 2013
    8
    I love this album so much. Jessie J do it very well. I love track like Who You Are, Domino, Laserlight, Do It Like A Dude and Mamma Knows Best. Her vocal is amazing.
  6. May 30, 2011
    7
    This album covers, slow to up beat and rapping music. All the while you are left with the feeling that this young British artist has spent a long time thinking these songs through and has come up with some very touching and thought-provoking songs. I loved Jessie J from the moment i heard 'Do it like a dude' and straight away went out and bought her album to be thrilled, yet again, withThis album covers, slow to up beat and rapping music. All the while you are left with the feeling that this young British artist has spent a long time thinking these songs through and has come up with some very touching and thought-provoking songs. I loved Jessie J from the moment i heard 'Do it like a dude' and straight away went out and bought her album to be thrilled, yet again, with the contents of her songs.
    Anyone who enjoys young British artists, will definitely enjoy this album.
    Expand
  7. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    I love this album. Jessie J has a amazing voice. Surely did prove on this album that she can sing. Love the catchy beats and tunes. She sounds better than a lot of american R&B/pop singer.
  8. Apr 14, 2011
    9
    A dazzling, charming, colourful album, ornated with Jessie J's unusual but steady vocals. The topics this newbie sings off are not very original, but still, the album works surprisingly well, giving off that joyous vibe that combines Katy Perry and Nicki Minaj into a whole new star.
  9. May 4, 2011
    10
    To be a new artist, that hasn't received the promotions due to her, I Think She's AWESOME!
  10. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    This album is all about the music & This is one of the best albums I've ever heard. I was going through a very very tough time when this was released, and this album got me back on my feet. Jessie J is amazing! I will always be a True Heartbeat
  11. Oct 16, 2014
    8
    "Who You Are" is one of the best Pop album from 2011! Jessie J voice is so great and her lyrics are amazing!! I cannot explain how I felt while I was listening this one... This album is biggest than her others albums, that's all!
  12. Oct 16, 2014
    8
    Un buen álbum, la mayoría de canciones son bastante pegadizas, no se a que se deben esas notas tan mediocres de algunos. Algunas de estas canciones se oyen un montón de veces en la radio.
  13. Aug 26, 2014
    10
    A rainha do UK, mais conhecida como Jessie J marcou o mundo musical com seu álbum de estreia Who You Are, que hitou e vendeu horrores no seu país materno e nos outros quatro cantos do mundo. Mesmo com debut #2 UK e #11 Billboard 200, nada prejudicou as vendas. Única cantora que colocou 6 singles no top 10 do chart britânico com o 1º álbum. Conseguiu dois hits mundiais, Price Tag e Domino.A rainha do UK, mais conhecida como Jessie J marcou o mundo musical com seu álbum de estreia Who You Are, que hitou e vendeu horrores no seu país materno e nos outros quatro cantos do mundo. Mesmo com debut #2 UK e #11 Billboard 200, nada prejudicou as vendas. Única cantora que colocou 6 singles no top 10 do chart britânico com o 1º álbum. Conseguiu dois hits mundiais, Price Tag e Domino. Dona de uma voz imensa e poderosa, tem para doar, vender e emprestar. Compositora de mãos cheias e já participou de algumas produções musicais. O talento dela é nitído e com o passar do tempo foi crescendo mais! Um dos melhores álbuns da minha vida e um presente para o pop/r&b/urban/dance/hit/conceitual. Who You Are é um álbum que Katy Perry sempre pediu a Deus e ela só recebeu o Katy Hudson, um fracasso em todos os quesitos. Expand
  14. Sep 6, 2014
    8
    Who You Are é um CD que marcou a carreira de Jessie. É seu melhor álbum até agora, com músicas divertidas e muito gostosas de ouvir. As melhores são Price Tag, Rainbow e Abracadabra.
  15. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    vdd miguel ne melhor album vo da na cara dessa gente affffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff oi heartbeats
  16. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    After seeing Jessie J on SNL I went out and picked up her CD. I was pleasantly surprised with the rest of the CD. Not your ran in the ground Kesha sound or overly produced Katy Perry sound either. This chick has a set of pipes!! She has a large voice. Reading through the reviews Jessie J is love her or hate her. From her first CD, I love her!! There are a lot of songs on this cd that areAfter seeing Jessie J on SNL I went out and picked up her CD. I was pleasantly surprised with the rest of the CD. Not your ran in the ground Kesha sound or overly produced Katy Perry sound either. This chick has a set of pipes!! She has a large voice. Reading through the reviews Jessie J is love her or hate her. From her first CD, I love her!! There are a lot of songs on this cd that are brilliant. Expand
  17. Apr 28, 2012
    9
    The album is very experimental, which most people really won't like, so that explains the negative reviews most people have givven. But I appreciate the experimental sound on the album, and personally think it's a fantastic album.

    The album opens with 'Price Tag', one of the only popular songs on the album. Surprisingly, I've never been a huge fan of it. It's refreshing, yes. But it's a
    The album is very experimental, which most people really won't like, so that explains the negative reviews most people have givven. But I appreciate the experimental sound on the album, and personally think it's a fantastic album.

    The album opens with 'Price Tag', one of the only popular songs on the album. Surprisingly, I've never been a huge fan of it. It's refreshing, yes. But it's a little bit repretative. We get it, it's not about the money. But the album quickly goes into a more R&B turn with the next two tracks 'Nobody's Perfect" and "Abracadabra". Both are fantastic songs, Nobody's Perfect being the superior. The feel slows down for the songs 'Big White Room' and 'Casualty of Love'. Big White Room gets the award for most feeling on the album. Her emotion in it is flawless. Casualty of Love is one of the most unique things I've heard. I like it's out there feeling.

    For the next three songs, the CD takes an R&B/Urban twist, starting with 'Rainbow'. Rainbow is really cool & catchy. It's certaianly not the best song on the album, but it's still pretty good. The next song, 'Who's Laughing Now' is argueably one of the best songs on the album, carrying not only the catchiest beat on the album, but some really empowering lyrics! 'Do It Like A Dude' has good intentions, trying to be a woman-empowerent song, but fails to achieve a positive message because of the language in it (Some certain 4 letter words...). It's a great urban track, but it failed to reach it's goal.

    'Mamma Knows Best' is the most unique song on the album, taking an obvious inspiration from Christina Aguilera's 'Back to Basics'. I respect that, for B2B is one of my favorite albums of all time. Mamma Knows Best sounds like it could have literally been written for that album. The jazz-tune is so cool & unique! I love it!

    'L.O.V.E' is a pop-R&B tune about none other than love. I like it, but it's certainly forgettable compared to other songs on the album. ''Stand Up' is like Price Tag done right. A regae-pop track with a positive message. I'm not sure what it's about, but Stand Up is certainly a positive song! It's really cool!

    The album nears the end of the standard edition with 'I Need This', and I personally think the album should have ended with I Need This. The pop-rock ballad's tune has such a great feel! Even if it is unpopular, I love it!

    The standard edition ends with the heartfelt ballad 'Who You Are'. It's a flawless song. The lyrics are deep and her vocals shine on it. The deluxe edition contininues though, taking on a more electric feel with 'Domino' and 'Laserlight'. Domino is the first deluxe song. It has been critisized for being 'exactly like a Katy Perry song'. While I see the resemblence, Katy wishes she could do something like Domino. Laserlight is the second deluxe track, sporting a very electric feel, and continues the trend off beautiful lyrics.

    The deluxe edition comes to a close with 'My Shadow', the best new song on Who You Are. It has a more R&B feel rather than electric, and it's simply marvelous.

    Despite negative/mixed reviews from critics and listeners, I think 'Who You Are' is a fantastic album by a very talented singer. Jessie is going places, and I'm interested to hear her second album, which is due out later this year or early next year. The key tracks on Who You Are are as follows: Nobody's Perfect, Big White Room, Who's Laughing Now, Do It Like A Dude, Mamma Knows Best, Stand Up, I Need This, Who You Are, Domino, and My Shadow. In the end, I reccomend this to anyone who appreciates music. You really have to appreciate music to enjoy it. Those who listen to whatever is big simply won't get the throwbacks to jazz and real urban music. Radio friendly? Err, no? Good? Yes. Who You Are is a collection of great R&B songs, heartfelt ballads, and lots of experimental things. I think it's a risk well done. I won't tell you to buy it, because most people don't appreciate music like I do, but give it a listen. Great album!
    Expand
  18. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    A Amazing Album!
    Very Unique Voice! One Of The Most Underated Album's Of 2011!
  19. Jan 16, 2013
    8
    Nice debut album from UK's Jessie J with a great selection of Pop tracks. The lead single wasn't the best perhaps but what followed were some great songs like Price Tag. The album tracks are also pretty impressive.
  20. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    Brilliant album, Jessie J has a fantastic voice, i loved it. The songs were amazing to very good, Who you are and Nobody's perfect are great songs and i really enjoyed all the other songs.
  21. May 16, 2016
    10
    This album is unique. "Who You Are" is an excellent debut album due to the mixing of emotions in the songs and the connection between itself. Jessie's voice is incredible and some instrumentals sounds raw, like Nobody's Perfect, a thing that's great in my opinion because it makes the album sound different from any pop record released that time.
  22. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    This was her most ICONIC album, the singles were perfection, and a great debut for her. Who knows if she can ever top this? Her voice really speaks on this album, and it had six top 10s in the UK. It's a shame it didn't have much attention in the US.
  23. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    The best album ever! I love Jessie J! She is the best! All the songs on the album make me well, who you are is a hymn, domino and price tag are the best! Do it like a dude was a blast! Jessie deserves much recognition, not only for voice but also as a person!
  24. Feb 5, 2015
    7
    Jessie J has that unique and powerful tone in her voice which made this album all the more interesting worth spending money on however, her lyrics often are unrelatable and has no significance in the current global crisises.
  25. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Who You are é o álbum début da britânica Jessica Ellen Conish, mais conhecida como Jessie J. O álbum é uma zona moderada entre o Pop,R&B,Rock e soul onde ambos os ritmos se encontram sem perder o sentido no disco. Canções como Nobody's Perfect,Who you are e Big White Room conseguem emitir emoções nos ouvintes,enquanto Price Tag,Abracadabra, Do it Like a Dude e Who's Laughing now dão umWho You are é o álbum début da britânica Jessica Ellen Conish, mais conhecida como Jessie J. O álbum é uma zona moderada entre o Pop,R&B,Rock e soul onde ambos os ritmos se encontram sem perder o sentido no disco. Canções como Nobody's Perfect,Who you are e Big White Room conseguem emitir emoções nos ouvintes,enquanto Price Tag,Abracadabra, Do it Like a Dude e Who's Laughing now dão um show de reverência e descontração,elevando o CD à um lado mais alegre da força. A cada canção você obterá a sensação de estar encarando uma nova sensação, uma nova sonoridade, uma nova Jessie J, e isso tudo junto só nos demonstra o que realmente Jessica vem tentando nos mostrar: Who you are. Expand
  26. Oct 4, 2016
    10
    Good debut album!,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Uncut
    May 13, 2011
    60
    Sincere but Hokey homilies test the patience, but she brings imaginative vocal skills and real life experiences to "White Room," which displays a certain determined character. [Jun 2011, p.86]
  2. Apr 29, 2011
    20
    Over-emoting at every turn, she obliterates otherwise innocuous soul, R&B and reggae-inflected songs with gimmicky vocal histrionics, strident attempts at melisma and the kind of callow self-help lyrics that are apparently mandatory for all young pop stars nowadays.
  3. Apr 26, 2011
    50
    Quite honestly, Ke$ha is just more fun to listen to, even though Jessie J may ultimately have more career longevity. It's a decent enough album for the teenage dance set though.