Whole New You - Shawn Colvin
Whole New You Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shawn Colvin's first album of new material in five years contains 11 tracks, including a collaboration with Edie Brickell ("Roger Wilco").
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 90
    As a singer, the South Dakota-born, Ontario and Illinois-raised Colvin occupies a niche between pensive Sheryl Crow and pre-jazz Joni Mitchell: no histrionics but a telling, often moving restraint.
  2. Now that she's on the mommy track, Colvin writes about the impossibility of leaving, much less returning, with a torch. [3/30/2001, p.68]
  3. Whole New You may not contain a song that will spark sales and awards the way "Sunny Came Home" did, but anyone who, like the artist herself, has come to the safe harbor of family life (even with its many challenges) after a long, uncertain voyage through personal relationships and life experiences will appreciate Colvin's ruminations on the subject.
  4. I don't think this collection has quite the edge of Repairs, yet there are enough sepia portraits of romantic angst, enough evocations of exposed sensitivity, sufficient signs that this mistress of the melancholy will once again win the hearts of earlier subscribers to her work.
  5. 70
    Musically a pretty blend of folksy guitar and lightly new-wave synth, these tunes seethe in a nice-girl way, simmering slightly, but never quite boiling over.
  6. It comes off softer than its predecessor, and not nearly as affecting.
  7. The music is rarely up to the task set by the lyrics. Truly successful union of melody and words occurs only twice—on the sparsely arranged stream of consciousness titled "Bonefields" and on the album's most original piece, "Another Plane Went Down," which teeters beautifully on the edge of dream and reality.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. MackyE
    Dec 21, 2004
    She is one of the best artists in America, this is a really great album , Its a pity she does not recieve more aclaim.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Jul 20, 2002
    Fantastic effort realized beautifully. May not grab you by the balls on the first listen-through, but soon thereafter, anyone with a heart or a mind will be reeling...she is genius! Expand
  3. Krissi
    Jul 27, 2003
    Gorgeous, often insightful and finally, moving. Dave Matthews does the backing vocals for almost an angel. :o)
  4. SueB.
    Sep 1, 2001
    The long-awaited collection of new songs from one of the country's best singer-songwriters is a welcome digression from teen-pop and broken beats, a walk in the forest on a hot summer day. Motherhood has taken some of the sharpness off Colvin's edgy view of the world, but the lyrics still cut through the simple-but-fitting musical arrangements. This album has been living in my CD rack for weeks -- it hasn't gotten tired yet. Expand

See all 5 User Reviews