Wig Out at Jagbags

  • Record Label: Matador
  • Release Date: Jan 7, 2014
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
Buy On
  1. Feb 5, 2014
    60
    It never feels quite enough to warrant the repeated listens that any one of Malkmus’ other solo records deserve, which feels something of a travesty.
  2. Q Magazine
    Jan 28, 2014
    60
    It's the most consistently enjoyable Malkmus/Jicks LP since his excellent self-titled album of 2001. [Feb 2014, p.117]
  3. 60
    Maybe Jagbags would be better if it were tighter, but you’d lose the crucial impression of a man whose primary mission is now to entertain himself.
  4. Jan 9, 2014
    60
    It coasts at times too comfortably its relative strengths, and it never really generates a significant excitement in its more extended jams.
  5. Jan 7, 2014
    60
    It's an uneasy détente in the continuing conflict between its creator's best and worst impulses.
  6. Tiny Mix Tapes
    Jan 7, 2014
    60
    Its songs are well-constructed, well-paced, and all subtly different from each other.... [but] for the most part, it’s a little too “safe” and unadventurous.
  7. Jan 3, 2014
    60
    Much like 2011's Mirror Traffic, Wig Out is more succinct and direct than the first few Jicks releases, but any slick habits he's picked up are punctured by his trademark gobbledygook lyrics.
  8. Feb 19, 2014
    50
    There are just too many occasions where Malkmus' tone bypasses droll, flies directly over kitsch, and lands way out in the rough with no hope of ever retrieving the ball.
  9. 40
    Wig Out at Jagbags finds him reverting to type, with willfully obtuse sonic strategies that strive to wrong-foot even the most devoted listener.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Sep 21, 2014
    9
    The first new album I heard this year. The greatest beginning that I could ask for. This album clearly states that we will have StephenThe first new album I heard this year. The greatest beginning that I could ask for. This album clearly states that we will have Stephen Malkmus for a while, and The Jicks are at their most steady point. I liked more Mirror Traffic, but the melodies in Wig Out At Jagbags are more complex with Malkmus characteristic lyrics, and the addition of new instrumentation and great song structures. Chartjunk and J Smoov are masterpieces and are two of the best songs I have heard all year. Full Review »
  2. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    I've always dug Pavement/Malkmus but this record for some reason really made me "get it" for real and i've gone S.M/Pavement crazy. The mostI've always dug Pavement/Malkmus but this record for some reason really made me "get it" for real and i've gone S.M/Pavement crazy. The most youthful, fun Jicks record yet. Signature ridiculous/brilliant lyrics and of course Malkmus is one of the finest guitar players of the modern era - this record displays that beautifully. The Jicks aren't self serious and if you're looking for an epic indie prog masterpiece - you won't find it. But to quote Lester Bangs “The first mistake of art is to assume that it's serious.”. Dig this. Full Review »
  3. Feb 2, 2014
    8
    This was my full-length introduction to the Jicks (as a casual Pavement fan) & it's my first loved album of 2014. WOAJ is a set of greatThis was my full-length introduction to the Jicks (as a casual Pavement fan) & it's my first loved album of 2014. WOAJ is a set of great indie/alt-rock tracks filled with personality, wit & hooks. Not to mention that the production really helps give it a loose & almost live feel throughout. 84/100

    (If you wanna see my full video review where I go more in-depth, look up my YouTube channel "Spin It! Reviews".)
    Full Review »