Wig Out at Jagbags - Stephen Malkmus & the Jicks
Wig Out at Jagbags Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth release with the Jicks for the former Pavement frontman was inspired by his move to Berlin and was produced with Remko Schouten.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    90
    Even if Wig Out at Jagbags is quieter than, say, 2008's churning Real Emotional Trash, it feels looser than most of the Jicks records; the compositions are tight but the attitude is ragged, which winds up being more infectious and fun than albums where the songs drift but the instruments are tight.
  2. Jan 6, 2014
    80
    Stephen Malkmus’s career post Pavement has largely been hit or miss, but on Wig Out At Jagbags the hit quota is as high as it has ever been. This is the album that any Malkmus aficionado would hope for.
  3. Jan 8, 2014
    80
    Having always been celebrated for his subtle wit and labyrinthine approach to pop writing, he continues to weave genius from his own mental dictionary.
  4. Jan 6, 2014
    70
    Jagbags might suffer from a mild case of "the mids"--mid-paced, middle-aged, and (at times) middle-of-the-road--but there is still much to enjoy here.
  5. Jan 7, 2014
    70
    At the heart of his music is still an inimitable bittersweetness—the light shrug that follows the realization that in time all things will die and pass. His best songs have always felt like ballads, regardless of tempo. There are some of those songs here.
  6. Feb 5, 2014
    60
    It never feels quite enough to warrant the repeated listens that any one of Malkmus’ other solo records deserve, which feels something of a travesty.
  7. 40
    Wig Out at Jagbags finds him reverting to type, with willfully obtuse sonic strategies that strive to wrong-foot even the most devoted listener.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    Outstanding!!!! Stephen Malkmus is a rock genius The title is quintessentially Stephen Malkmus a conflation of two slang terms, one dating back to the hazed-out '60s, the other a vulgar remnant of modernity and, as it happens, Wig Out at Jagbags also sounds quintessentially Malkmusian. Collapse
  2. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    I've always dug Pavement/Malkmus but this record for some reason really made me "get it" for real and i've gone S.M/Pavement crazy. The most youthful, fun Jicks record yet. Signature ridiculous/brilliant lyrics and of course Malkmus is one of the finest guitar players of the modern era - this record displays that beautifully. The Jicks aren't self serious and if you're looking for an epic indie prog masterpiece - you won't find it. But to quote Lester Bangs “The first mistake of art is to assume that it's serious.”. Dig this. Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2014
    9
    The first new album I heard this year. The greatest beginning that I could ask for. This album clearly states that we will have Stephen Malkmus for a while, and The Jicks are at their most steady point. I liked more Mirror Traffic, but the melodies in Wig Out At Jagbags are more complex with Malkmus characteristic lyrics, and the addition of new instrumentation and great song structures. Chartjunk and J Smoov are masterpieces and are two of the best songs I have heard all year. Expand
  4. Jan 11, 2014
    8
    Getting better with age. Like 'Tune Grief', Shibboleth is just about the best crafted rock songs and always served on a mixed plate. The video for Cinnamon and Lesbians made me 'kak' right-hard. Most of the reviews are surprised that there are more SMATJ albums than that Stockton band, I'm not, there all dripping with talent, poetry and smart arsery, and they keep coming out. This is the smoovest since the last. It sounds like fun being in this band, Houston Hades stands out with woo's & doo's reminds me why I bought Slanted & Enchanted, Great singing. Can someone publish some lyrics Expand
  5. Feb 2, 2014
    8
    This was my full-length introduction to the Jicks (as a casual Pavement fan) & it's my first loved album of 2014. WOAJ is a set of great indie/alt-rock tracks filled with personality, wit & hooks. Not to mention that the production really helps give it a loose & almost live feel throughout. 84/100

    (If you wanna see my full video review where I go more in-depth, look up my YouTube channel "Spin It! Reviews".)
    Expand
  6. Jan 12, 2014
    7
    Wig Out at Jagbags is nothing you haven't heard before, but it's nothing you wouldn't like to hear again. Impressive instrumentals, charming lyrics, and memorable melodies prove this album worthy of many returning listens. A great indie/alternative rock album that pays homage to the sounds of music from decades past.

    77/100

    Track Picks: Lariat, J Smoov, Chartjunk
    Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2014
    5
    Overall I was not that impressed. I liked one song pretty well, but the rest of them just seemed to lack a personality appealing to me. I kept listening, expecting to hear something I liked and ended up disappointed. That could have just been me imposing my expectations on the album, so this one might be worth another listen. Expand