#willpower - will.i.am

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13

There are no positive critic reviews yet.

User Score

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 24
  2. Negative: 12 out of 24
  1. Apr 23, 2013
    An album that is designed to stink of lawsuits and 5 pieces of broken property (belonging to Anjunabeats and Musical Freedom) so bad, the title doesn't need to be turned into a pun. #trancestealer Full Review »
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    An album that displays the pure non-creativity of will.i.am. The obvious stealing of others' music and base lines prove the selfishness of the music industry as it currently stands. Let's take a stolen track and add two awful people over the song so that people will understand how much the music industry sucks. If will.i.am really wanted to make "good music", then making his own would be a great plan. To will.i.am i say, have some pride in your own work and pride in what you do. You are a well known artist for a reason, show people why you are so popular through examples of your work, not through leeching off of people less well known than yourself. Full Review »
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    will.i.am is possibly one of the biggest sell outs in history. He went from underground to making mainstream urban music (but that was decent, and Black Eyed Peas breathrough albums were good) but after the explosion of dance music 5 years ago, he went in a whole new direction. Will doesn't like not being successful and making music that's out of the loop. Urban music was suddenly old news and Will changed accordingly. After an extended break, Black Eyed Peas came back with a new album composed of electronica, completely different from all their old work and their follow-up, The Beginning, was more of the same and had such negative reception that the group went on haitus. But Will's been busy in this time, turning himself into an electro singer and producer and so we have his first solo album in over 6 years. And surprise, surprise, it's full of soul-less dance music. Will might think he's revolutionary but everything here has been done before (and much better at that). Shortly before the album's release, a controvery emerged with several dance producers claiming that Will stole their work. Their claims were completely justified and makes perfect sense you can't go from being a great urban act to being a great dance act so easily. Something must have been stolen. Aside from this, Will's voice is sub par and he desperately tries to disguise it with an over-abundance of features from performers that are all desperate for career boosts. It's an all-round desperate album. But there are some moments, surprisingly, where we get a glimpse into the real Will. Good Morning is a gorgeous, spiritual introduction to the album, The World Is Crazy is a political song that is like Where Is The Love? 2.0, Far Away From Home is a carefree song about freedom with an almost rock edge, Ghetto Ghetto is a true to life track about the underprivelaged with a really cute feature and the real exellence comes from deluxe track, Smile Mona Lisa. This song is so beautiful with sad lyrics and the most heartbreaking classical solo from Nicole Scherzinger. A true revelation. This song made me want to cry because it was sad and because this is the kind of artist Will could be if he stopped caring about being commercially successful. I shake my head at how he has changed everything about himself, even his dress sense and hairstyle, to hang onto relevancy. The man has sold his soul for fame and only time will tell if he can recover it. Full Review »