#willpower - will.i.am
#willpower Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth solo studio release for the Black Eyed Peas members includes guest appearances from Justin Bieber, Chris Brown, Miley Cyrus, Skylar Grey, Nicole Scherzinger, Eva Simons, and Britney Spears.
  • Record Label: Interscope
  • Genre(s): Pop, Electronic, Rap, R&B, Urban, Pop/Rock, Contemporary R&B, Pop-Rap, Party Rap
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    70
    He is not ashamed to bleat out inane proclamations and this album benefits from his shamelessness. It’s frequently catchy and almost always compellingly energetic.
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    70
    As intended, there’s a little something for everyone.
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    60
    #willpower siphons Chris Brown, Bieber, Britney, Miley, Skylar Grey, K-pop act N2E1 and many more through mistily whooshing, thunderously stomping dance pop that manages to be both hilariously one-dimensional and obsessively high-def.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    40
    The factory default is for disposable, cheesy, trance-influenced pop with Auto-Tuned vocals.
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    40
    The songs featuring him alone may be full of undeniably funny arrogance, but they're also laden with recycled beats and Auto-Tune.
  6. Even without the unpleasant association of the Chris Brown guest slot here, #willpower (we're letting people hashtag their album titles now?) is a charmless listen.
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    20
    Conveniently, he’s premeditated every song in #willpower with a bevy of wishy-washy, quotable clichés that are meant to fit the space of 140 characters. Sadly, that's as deep as it gets.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 26
  2. Negative: 14 out of 26
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    I just joined metacritic and this is the first cd I wanted to review becase I am so sad that it is so underrated. I am a 45 year old whiteI just joined metacritic and this is the first cd I wanted to review becase I am so sad that it is so underrated. I am a 45 year old white male and I just joined Rhapsody this past year and there are so many new cd's I love and this is one of them I give it an 8 out of 10. It is one of my favorite cd's of this past year and one of my go-to gym cd's. Rhapsody has me excited about music again. This cd has so many songs, enough for two cd's and I think most of them are so high energy and fun and I also enjoy the raegae feel of some of the tracks I sincerely think so many people have been so hard on will.i.am with this cd or they have not given this cd enough of a listen. Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hey, this comment goes to all Germans: Meiner Meinung nach finde ich das Album einerseits wegen des Beats und des Rhythmus nicht schlecht, andererseits finde ich, dass will.i.am seine Arbeit in sein Album kaum geleistet hat. Er gestaltet sein neues Album nur mit Beats und Vocals, die manchmal kaum Zusammenhang ergeben. Außerdem stellt er das Album als etwas Futuristisches dar, jedoch ist es nur zum Teil gelungen.
    Das erste Lied "Good Morning" gehört nicht zum Stil will.i.am's. Seine Töne sind so grauenvoll, mir wird davon einfach schlecht, aber die Melodie ist gut gelungen. (5/10)
    "Hello" ist okay. Einerseits gefällt mir der Beat nach dem Gesang der Kinder, andererseits die Instrumentals im Refrain, denn sie klingen einfach nicht passend zu den anderen Teilen des Liedes. (4/10)
    "This Is Love" mit der niederländischen Sängerin Eva Simons ist es will.i.am gelungen, ein solchen großenartigen Song zu komponieren. Als ich das erste Mal gehört habe, habe ich Gänsehaut bekommen. Well done! (8/10)
    "It's Brintey, b**ch" kennt fast jeder auf der Welt! "Scream & Shout" mit der Sängerin Britney Spears ist ebenfalls will.i.am gut gelungen! Jedoch stört es mich, dass will.i.am einfach die Vocals und Textstellen von den Liedern seiner Band "Black Eyed Peas" übernommen hat. Nichtsdestotrotz finde ich den Song dieses Albums einfach unbelievable! (8/10)
    Beim nächsten Song sage ich einfach: Das kommt mir bekannt vor! will.i.am covert mit dem Sänger Chris Brown den Song "Rebound" von Arts und ändert dabei noch ein paar Töne, aber der Song hat was Positives: Er passt einfach als Partyhit! (6/10)
    "Gettin' Dumb" besteht aus ein paar guten Partybeats, schlechten Rapversen und Klaviervocal von will.i.am. Ich bin etwas von diesem Song enttäuscht. (4/10)
    Anfangs erinnern mich die Töne von "Geekin'" an das alte Spiel der 90er: Tetris. Vor allem die Raps von will.i.am passen nicht zum Rhythmus des Songs. Dennoch passt der Song für Straßenkinder. (5/10)
    Weiter geht es mit einem weiteren schlechten Song "Freshy" mit Juicy J. Ich höre auch gerne Rapsongs an, aber ihm ist es einfach nicht gelungen. Einfach miserabel! (2/10)
    Jetzt gibt es einen plötzlichen Wechsel von schlechten Rapversen zu weiteren Partyhits. "#thatPower" mit Justin Bieber ist einfach unglaublich gut! Die Meisten hassen den 19-Jährigen, aber die Zeit ist vorbei! Ich bin zwar kein großer Fan von Justin, aber er hat mit will.i.am einen großen Respekt verdient! Das Musikvideo ist hingegen misslungen geworden! (8/10)
    Jetzt mal im Ernst. Ich schlage will.i.am vor, dass er seine hohen Vocals einfach aufgeben sollte. In "Great Times Are Coming" passt es einfach nichts dort zusammen. Erst hohe Töne, dann einfach auf Rapversen umsteigen it doesn't make sence! will.i.am: Lass diesen Mist weg! (3/10)
    "The World Is Crazy" erinnert mich an die 90er-Jahre. Es ist dasselbe Problem wie beim vorherigen Lied. Das passt eifnach nicht zusammen!! Es klingt dann grauenvoll! (5/10)
    "Fall Down" mit Miley Cyrus ist es will.i.am gelungen, ebenfalls einen guten Song zu kreieren. Die Samples im späteren Refrain erinnern mich an die von "This Is Love" mit Eva Simons. Aber einfach spitze geworden! (8/10)
    Zu "Love Bullets" mit Skylar Grey und "Far Away From Home" mit Nicole Scherzinger fällen mir einfach die Worte! Meiner Meinung nach sind sie einfach sowohl schlecht komponiert als auch vom Text sinnlos vorgesungen worde. Beide Lieder verdienen 2/10.
    Sein letzter Song seines Albums "Ghetto Ghetto" mit Baby Kaely ist sowohl mit der Baby-Stimme als auch mit den Rapversen gut gelungen! Dieser Song beschreibt vermutlich die Situation von Kindern, die in Ghettos unter Bildungsmangel und familiären Situationen ("Little missy wanna grow to be a model/
    While the momma at home just drinking out the bottle) leiden. Außerdem legt will.i.am den Song mit Klaviertönen und "DJ-Break"-Samples drauf, um die Interpretation vertiefen zu lassen. (8/10)

    Allgemein kann ich nur sagen:
    Einerseits sind Lieder im Album mit positiven, andererseits mit negativen Kommentaren zu werten. "This Is Love", "Scream and Shout" und "#thatPOWER" sind bis jetzt die erfolgreichsten Songs diesen Albums. Man hat hier erkannt, dass will.i.am in den Versen versucht einen gereimten Rap zu repräsentieren, welche oft gelingen. Was mich allgemein stört, ist, dass will.i.am immer versucht hohe Töne zu singen die aber scheitern!
    Mich irritiert es, dass ein Song hier nicht vorhanden ist: "T.H.E. (The Hardest Ever)" mit Jennifer Lopez und Mick Jagger. Dieser Song schaffte es will.i.am's kleinen Durchbruch. Aber es hat wahrscheinlich nicht mehr auf die CD gepasst.

    All in one: This album is not bad, but not good. Some songs are unbelievably good like "thatPOWER", "Ghetto Ghetto" or "This Is Love" but the others are so bad that you can only "scream".
    Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2013
    5
    After all these delays it seemed like will.i.am was going to create something interesting, but it eventually turned out to be a bigAfter all these delays it seemed like will.i.am was going to create something interesting, but it eventually turned out to be a big disappointment. Almost every track is filled with awful auto-tune and shallow lyrics with a few expections like "The World Is Crazy" or "Ghetto Ghetto" (although the earlier still contains auto-tune). Some tracks have interesting instrumentals ("Good Morning", "Geekin", "Gettin' Dumb", "Fall Down") but some are very predictable and repetitive ("Scream & Shout", "Let's Go", "#thatPOWER"). Overall, #willpower it's not bad album but it's also not good to listen to it for longer period of time. Expand
  4. May 12, 2013
    2
    Is this a joke? Really. This album is HORRIBLE. The only good track on here is Scream & Shout and that's because it features the god BritneyIs this a joke? Really. This album is HORRIBLE. The only good track on here is Scream & Shout and that's because it features the god Britney Jean Spears. He really needs to go back to BEP and make some music worth listening to. This sucks! 2/10. Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2014
    1
    will.i.am's '#willpower' is a total failure from start to finish. A tedious series of repetitive and unimaginative, artificial electro-popwill.i.am's '#willpower' is a total failure from start to finish. A tedious series of repetitive and unimaginative, artificial electro-pop 'bangers' complete with dreadfully overused naff autotune and vapid, uninventive lyrics. With highlights such as 'Good Morning' (which is simply the intro) and 'This is Love', suggests that the former rapper's willpower is only applied to putting out awful, samey singles and repeatedly attempting to showcase his horrific singing voice. Within this god-awful effort, 'Feelin' Myself', which features rappers French Montana and Wiz Khalifa alongside child-star-turned-harlot Miley Cyrus, deserves a mention as possibly the worst piece of alleged music of all time. An atrocious attempt a trap instrumental and the typical egotistical 'rap-god' lyricism, consisting of mentions of money and women portray these 'artists' as boasting, self-absorbed bastards with no musical aim or ability, simply hoping for a number 1.

    Beginning with glitchy, Game Boy nonsense and ending with much the same, '#willpower' is one of the worst albums of 2013. Once a protégé of late N.W.A. rap legend Eazy-E, will.i.am has gone down the money-grabbing pop chart route, like many others, and, as a result, has totally demolished his own credibility.

    Rating: 1/10
    Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2014
    0
    One of the worst albums to ever get released onto store shelves. I advise you to stay the hell away from this hunk of garbage. It's beenOne of the worst albums to ever get released onto store shelves. I advise you to stay the hell away from this hunk of garbage. It's been proven to give people ear cancer. Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2013
    0
    this album is so bad..... it just has generic music, a lot of inspiration from others artists, nothing new at all.. i just hope fergie comethis album is so bad..... it just has generic music, a lot of inspiration from others artists, nothing new at all.. i just hope fergie come with her album and teaches him how to do an album Expand

See all 26 User Reviews