#willpower - will.i.am
#willpower Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth solo studio release for the Black Eyed Peas members includes guest appearances from Justin Bieber, Chris Brown, Miley Cyrus, Skylar Grey, Nicole Scherzinger, Eva Simons, and Britney Spears.
  • Record Label: Interscope
  • Genre(s): Pop, Electronic, Rap, R&B, Urban, Pop/Rock, Contemporary R&B, Pop-Rap, Party Rap
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    70
    He is not ashamed to bleat out inane proclamations and this album benefits from his shamelessness. It’s frequently catchy and almost always compellingly energetic.
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    70
    As intended, there’s a little something for everyone.
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    60
    #willpower siphons Chris Brown, Bieber, Britney, Miley, Skylar Grey, K-pop act N2E1 and many more through mistily whooshing, thunderously stomping dance pop that manages to be both hilariously one-dimensional and obsessively high-def.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    40
    The factory default is for disposable, cheesy, trance-influenced pop with Auto-Tuned vocals.
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    40
    The songs featuring him alone may be full of undeniably funny arrogance, but they're also laden with recycled beats and Auto-Tune.
  6. Even without the unpleasant association of the Chris Brown guest slot here, #willpower (we're letting people hashtag their album titles now?) is a charmless listen.
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    20
    Conveniently, he’s premeditated every song in #willpower with a bevy of wishy-washy, quotable clichés that are meant to fit the space of 140 characters. Sadly, that's as deep as it gets.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 25
  2. Negative: 13 out of 25
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    I just joined metacritic and this is the first cd I wanted to review becase I am so sad that it is so underrated. I am a 45 year old white male and I just joined Rhapsody this past year and there are so many new cd's I love and this is one of them I give it an 8 out of 10. It is one of my favorite cd's of this past year and one of my go-to gym cd's. Rhapsody has me excited about music again. This cd has so many songs, enough for two cd's and I think most of them are so high energy and fun and I also enjoy the raegae feel of some of the tracks I sincerely think so many people have been so hard on will.i.am with this cd or they have not given this cd enough of a listen. Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hey, this comment goes to all Germans: Meiner Meinung nach finde ich das Album einerseits wegen des Beats und des Rhythmus nicht schlecht, andererseits finde ich, dass will.i.am seine Arbeit in sein Album kaum geleistet hat. Er gestaltet sein neues Album nur mit Beats und Vocals, die manchmal kaum Zusammenhang ergeben. Außerdem stellt er das Album als etwas Futuristisches dar, jedoch ist es nur zum Teil gelungen.
    Das erste Lied "Good Morning" gehört nicht zum Stil will.i.am's. Seine Töne sind so grauenvoll, mir wird davon einfach schlecht, aber die Melodie ist gut gelungen. (5/10)
    "Hello" ist okay. Einerseits gefällt mir der Beat nach dem Gesang der Kinder, andererseits die Instrumentals im Refrain, denn sie klingen einfach nicht passend zu den anderen Teilen des Liedes. (4/10)
    "This Is Love" mit der niederländischen Sängerin Eva Simons ist es will.i.am gelungen, ein solchen großenartigen Song zu komponieren. Als ich das erste Mal gehört habe, habe ich Gänsehaut bekommen. Well done! (8/10)
    "It's Brintey, b**ch" kennt fast jeder auf der Welt! "Scream & Shout" mit der Sängerin Britney Spears ist ebenfalls will.i.am gut gelungen! Jedoch stört es mich, dass will.i.am einfach die Vocals und Textstellen von den Liedern seiner Band "Black Eyed Peas" übernommen hat. Nichtsdestotrotz finde ich den Song dieses Albums einfach unbelievable! (8/10)
    Beim nächsten Song sage ich einfach: Das kommt mir bekannt vor! will.i.am covert mit dem Sänger Chris Brown den Song "Rebound" von Arts und ändert dabei noch ein paar Töne, aber der Song hat was Positives: Er passt einfach als Partyhit! (6/10)
    "Gettin' Dumb" besteht aus ein paar guten Partybeats, schlechten Rapversen und Klaviervocal von will.i.am. Ich bin etwas von diesem Song enttäuscht. (4/10)
    Anfangs erinnern mich die Töne von "Geekin'" an das alte Spiel der 90er: Tetris. Vor allem die Raps von will.i.am passen nicht zum Rhythmus des Songs. Dennoch passt der Song für Straßenkinder. (5/10)
    Weiter geht es mit einem weiteren schlechten Song "Freshy" mit Juicy J. Ich höre auch gerne Rapsongs an, aber ihm ist es einfach nicht gelungen. Einfach miserabel! (2/10)
    Jetzt gibt es einen plötzlichen Wechsel von schlechten Rapversen zu weiteren Partyhits. "#thatPower" mit Justin Bieber ist einfach unglaublich gut! Die Meisten hassen den 19-Jährigen, aber die Zeit ist vorbei! Ich bin zwar kein großer Fan von Justin, aber er hat mit will.i.am einen großen Respekt verdient! Das Musikvideo ist hingegen misslungen geworden! (8/10)
    Jetzt mal im Ernst. Ich schlage will.i.am vor, dass er seine hohen Vocals einfach aufgeben sollte. In "Great Times Are Coming" passt es einfach nichts dort zusammen. Erst hohe Töne, dann einfach auf Rapversen umsteigen it doesn't make sence! will.i.am: Lass diesen Mist weg! (3/10)
    "The World Is Crazy" erinnert mich an die 90er-Jahre. Es ist dasselbe Problem wie beim vorherigen Lied. Das passt eifnach nicht zusammen!! Es klingt dann grauenvoll! (5/10)
    "Fall Down" mit Miley Cyrus ist es will.i.am gelungen, ebenfalls einen guten Song zu kreieren. Die Samples im späteren Refrain erinnern mich an die von "This Is Love" mit Eva Simons. Aber einfach spitze geworden! (8/10)
    Zu "Love Bullets" mit Skylar Grey und "Far Away From Home" mit Nicole Scherzinger fällen mir einfach die Worte! Meiner Meinung nach sind sie einfach sowohl schlecht komponiert als auch vom Text sinnlos vorgesungen worde. Beide Lieder verdienen 2/10.
    Sein letzter Song seines Albums "Ghetto Ghetto" mit Baby Kaely ist sowohl mit der Baby-Stimme als auch mit den Rapversen gut gelungen! Dieser Song beschreibt vermutlich die Situation von Kindern, die in Ghettos unter Bildungsmangel und familiären Situationen ("Little missy wanna grow to be a model/
    While the momma at home just drinking out the bottle) leiden. Außerdem legt will.i.am den Song mit Klaviertönen und "DJ-Break"-Samples drauf, um die Interpretation vertiefen zu lassen. (8/10)

    Allgemein kann ich nur sagen:
    Einerseits sind Lieder im Album mit positiven, andererseits mit negativen Kommentaren zu werten. "This Is Love", "Scream and Shout" und "#thatPOWER" sind bis jetzt die erfolgreichsten Songs diesen Albums. Man hat hier erkannt, dass will.i.am in den Versen versucht einen gereimten Rap zu repräsentieren, welche oft gelingen. Was mich allgemein stört, ist, dass will.i.am immer versucht hohe Töne zu singen die aber scheitern!
    Mich irritiert es, dass ein Song hier nicht vorhanden ist: "T.H.E. (The Hardest Ever)" mit Jennifer Lopez und Mick Jagger. Dieser Song schaffte es will.i.am's kleinen Durchbruch. Aber es hat wahrscheinlich nicht mehr auf die CD gepasst.

    All in one: This album is not bad, but not good. Some songs are unbelievably good like "thatPOWER", "Ghetto Ghetto" or "This Is Love" but the others are so bad that you can only "scream".
    Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2013
    5
    After all these delays it seemed like will.i.am was going to create something interesting, but it eventually turned out to be a big disappointment. Almost every track is filled with awful auto-tune and shallow lyrics with a few expections like "The World Is Crazy" or "Ghetto Ghetto" (although the earlier still contains auto-tune). Some tracks have interesting instrumentals ("Good Morning", "Geekin", "Gettin' Dumb", "Fall Down") but some are very predictable and repetitive ("Scream & Shout", "Let's Go", "#thatPOWER"). Overall, #willpower it's not bad album but it's also not good to listen to it for longer period of time. Expand
  4. Apr 25, 2013
    2
    will.i.am is possibly one of the biggest sell outs in history. He went from underground to making mainstream urban music (but that was decent, and Black Eyed Peas breathrough albums were good) but after the explosion of dance music 5 years ago, he went in a whole new direction. Will doesn't like not being successful and making music that's out of the loop. Urban music was suddenly old news and Will changed accordingly. After an extended break, Black Eyed Peas came back with a new album composed of electronica, completely different from all their old work and their follow-up, The Beginning, was more of the same and had such negative reception that the group went on haitus. But Will's been busy in this time, turning himself into an electro singer and producer and so we have his first solo album in over 6 years. And surprise, surprise, it's full of soul-less dance music. Will might think he's revolutionary but everything here has been done before (and much better at that). Shortly before the album's release, a controvery emerged with several dance producers claiming that Will stole their work. Their claims were completely justified and makes perfect sense you can't go from being a great urban act to being a great dance act so easily. Something must have been stolen. Aside from this, Will's voice is sub par and he desperately tries to disguise it with an over-abundance of features from performers that are all desperate for career boosts. It's an all-round desperate album. But there are some moments, surprisingly, where we get a glimpse into the real Will. Good Morning is a gorgeous, spiritual introduction to the album, The World Is Crazy is a political song that is like Where Is The Love? 2.0, Far Away From Home is a carefree song about freedom with an almost rock edge, Ghetto Ghetto is a true to life track about the underprivelaged with a really cute feature and the real exellence comes from deluxe track, Smile Mona Lisa. This song is so beautiful with sad lyrics and the most heartbreaking classical solo from Nicole Scherzinger. A true revelation. This song made me want to cry because it was sad and because this is the kind of artist Will could be if he stopped caring about being commercially successful. I shake my head at how he has changed everything about himself, even his dress sense and hairstyle, to hang onto relevancy. The man has sold his soul for fame and only time will tell if he can recover it. Expand
  5. May 11, 2013
    1
    There is little that is less pretentious than implied arrogance. At least if you come right out about it, you can argue that it was all for a good laugh, but really, all you're doing otherwise is thinly veiling it behind a layer of seriousness. Similarly, there is, in this universe, no faster way to make me dislike an album than the artist implying that it is good. As far as I can remember, #willpower is the very first album to pull that off in the album itself.

    Will.i.am is not the trend-setting superstar he was once known as. The onset of new sounds and people have sent him running to keep up, which has made him take some very strange paths of musical experimentation. One could argue that this started during production of The E.N.D, but I think that album, no matter how inane that album was, it had a bit of good in it. Not so for Will.i.am's newest solo album.

    First, a little song called Good Morning. Being the first song in the album, it was refreshing. I actually found myself thinking "wow, this is actually pretty good." And it is a good song. Good orchestration, good production, passable lyrics, overall a good first impression. It got me looking forward to this album.

    Then came Hello. Featuring Afrojack. It started promising enough, but as soon as it really kicked into gear, I realized that it had much akin to the sound of a small child at a drum machine. Truth be told, the only good parts of this song were the bits that were obviously Afrojack's doing. Next.

    This is Love (Featuring Eva Simons) is the closest this album comes to a real dance song. Sure, it would have been a boring, samey Dance song just like everything on the radio right now, but it was coherent. Then Will.i.am started rapping. He's about as rusty as rappers get, and it doesn't help that it sounds like he's not trying.

    Scream and shout (feat. Britney Spears) should be familiar already, but if it isn't, let me put it in as few words as possible: Dirty Bit 2.0.

    Let's Go (feat Chris Brown): I'm not a fan of Chris Brown as an artist or a person, but somehow his moderate lack of talent is overshadowed by a dance beat that is so boring, so devoid of energy and so repetitive that I actually checked to see if my CD player was skipping. It wasn't.

    Gettin' dumb (feat. Al.de.ap and 2NE1): to be honest, I have entirely no idea what Will.i.am, his Old-time Black Eyed Peas cohort, or that Korean girl group were thinking. This is approaching a Look At Me Now level of bad. Repetitive production and terrible use of the guest stars make this song the most pointless yet.

    Then there's Geekin'. A song that I guess tried to explore what the Black Eyed Peas would sound like now if Fergie had never joined. Still sounds the same as all the other songs. Here's the problem, once you've talked about one song in this album, you've at least in part talked about them all. They all sound painfully similar.

    Freshy feat. Juicy J.): second verse, same as the first.

    #thatPower (feat. Justin Bieber): okay, at first I thought this song was going to redeem this entire album. It had an intro that wasn't too samey, not too repetitive, and had a good sense of building energy that everything else lacked. Even Justin Bieber makes a good showing. Then, it drops into the first verse, and I am not exaggerating when I say that I let my forehead fall directly onto my desk in disappointment. That will.i.am could have ruined a half-decent intro to this magnitude absolutely baffles me.

    Great Times are Coming: I was just about as displeased with this album as it was humanly possible to be, when this song came on. It sounded a bit like Good Morning, and this made me think that there might just be salvation in these last few songs. I was wrong. More samey faux-club beats. You think he would have gotten bored copy-pasting beats from song to song by now.

    The World is Crazy (feat. Dante Santiago): okay, this is actually quite reminiscent of old Black Eyed Peas. Not a deep song, but at least it doesn't devolve into mindless club drivel.

    Fall down (feat. Miley Cyrus): see what I mean how all these songs sound the same no matter who's singing? This is really what it's coming to; I have nothing to say because I would just be repeating what I've already said.

    Love Bullets (feat. skylar Grey): this is a new one. Will.i.am tries to supplement a very fake, almost reggae-sounding accent with very stiff, very not-reggae beats and lyrical flow. Overall, soulless despite the attempt to be a slower, more powerful song.

    Far Away from Home (feat. Nicole Scherzinger): okay, this is a bit different. Nice chord progression, but ultimately too repetitive to be enjoyable.

    Finally, we wrap up with Ghetto Ghetto feat. Baby Kaely. I was really enjoying this song, minus Baby Kaely, but there's a very, very small chance that it's just me. I Then realized that this was basically a Kanye West song without the tight production values.

    In all, this album is a massive disappointment. 1/10.
    Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    absolute garbage mainstream rubbish i wouldn't recommend you buy this trash save your money buy decent music or do something good with the money this isn't worth an illegal download Collapse
  7. Apr 26, 2013
    0
    An album that displays the pure non-creativity of will.i.am. The obvious stealing of others' music and base lines prove the selfishness of the music industry as it currently stands. Let's take a stolen track and add two awful people over the song so that people will understand how much the music industry sucks. If will.i.am really wanted to make "good music", then making his own would be a great plan. To will.i.am i say, have some pride in your own work and pride in what you do. You are a well known artist for a reason, show people why you are so popular through examples of your work, not through leeching off of people less well known than yourself. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews