Winning Days - The Vines
Winning Days Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Working once again with producer Rob Schnapf (Beck, Guided By Voices, Elliot Smith), the Aussies return with a second LP.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. A diverse and highly enjoyable ride.
  2. 70
    There's something about the precision of the gear changes and the crisp efficiency of Rob Schnapf's production that hits the spot, however derivatively. [Apr 2004, p.134]
  3. This album tends to lean more toward the psychedelic ballads, which slows down the action a little too much.
  4. Winning Days is still more interesting than any album by obvious progenitors Oasis because the good parts come up at the most random moments--spontaneous solo here, appealing harmony there.
  5. Ultimately, ‘Winning Days’ is an highly frustrating listen.
  6. Accomplished and full of bluster but ontologically completely hollow; this is The Vines.
  7. There's not much left for the Vines' frontman other than his music, which on Winning Days seems more like an afterthought--if not the work of an unbearably bad Oasis record. [Apr 2004, p.98]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 5 out of 41
  1. ttkk
    Mar 29, 2004
    10
    A maserpiece!
  2. MelissaE
    Aug 19, 2004
    10
    This record shows that the band is growing and the are doing it well. I love this band and every song of this cd. My favourite is Winning This record shows that the band is growing and the are doing it well. I love this band and every song of this cd. My favourite is Winning Days, it is melodically awesome. In fact do not care about critics and magazines that only knows about Justins, Britneys, and all that crap hip hop and R & B music that will never compare with the rock and roll albums. As a Peruvian (Southamerica) fan they really deserve more credits because of their talent :) Expand
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    A nostalgic, magical album. This is how music should be. This album is absolutely beautiful. I hear influences from The Beach Boys, TheA nostalgic, magical album. This is how music should be. This album is absolutely beautiful. I hear influences from The Beach Boys, The Beatles and Nirvana. beautiful. Expand
  4. OwenO
    Mar 23, 2004
    9
    I give this album a 9. I absolutely love it, you can hear the Vines become their own band. They are not, and will never be, Nirvana part 2. I give this album a 9. I absolutely love it, you can hear the Vines become their own band. They are not, and will never be, Nirvana part 2. Who cares. They're gonna be the Vines, and with albums as good as this and Highly Evolved, what more could you want? I'm already looking forward to the next album. Expand
  5. Amanda
    Jun 17, 2005
    7
    It has good lyrics and cool music. All in all its ok.
  6. JackK
    Mar 25, 2004
    7
    A bit of a letdown, but an average Vines record is still better than most good records. They simply need to start finding their own vibe.
  7. KoenDeCrock
    Apr 22, 2004
    0
    UTTER CRAP!!! TERRIBLE!!! Borrowed it from a friend, and it was just like I imagined it to be (see above).... Stay well away from this UTTER CRAP!!! TERRIBLE!!! Borrowed it from a friend, and it was just like I imagined it to be (see above).... Stay well away from this horrifying piece of drab. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews