Wiretap Scars

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TonyL.
    Oct 7, 2002
    9
    Good CD, but it is a repeat of ATDI. I guess if it worked the first time why not try it again. Anyways, the CD is great. Just keep an eye-out for Mars Volta.
  2. MikeS.
    Sep 5, 2002
    8
    Very well-done...musically deeper than At The Drive-In, with well-written songs. Definitely worth buying at its price...also look for their EP, Austere.
  3. PaulH.
    Sep 8, 2002
    10
    Great album. Doesn't have the intensity of ATDI, but still has the craftsmanship
  4. vwhammer
    May 20, 2003
    9
    the best studio album i've heard in the last 2 years. meticulously produced without sounding over-produced. the layering of the guitar tracks is soooo nice.
  5. ajagee
    Aug 18, 2002
    10
    yeah, kick ass
  6. ZachV.
    Aug 21, 2002
    9
    This album rocks, lots better than At the Drive In, in my opinion anyway!!!
  7. MarcP.
    Aug 23, 2002
    9
    this is a very good alt. rock album, and surprisingly catchy. looks like jim, tony and paul are talented enough to make great music on their own.
  8. TylerB.
    Sep 19, 2002
    6
    it's fine music, but nothing really groundbreaking. i actually liked austere more
  9. BenA
    Jan 1, 2004
    10
    best cd ive bought in a long time
  10. MarkP
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    My absolute favourite album
  11. AidanK
    Aug 27, 2005
    8
    its really good but overshadowed by the mars volta and at the drive-in
  12. zachl
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    complete from start to finish and hitting highs and lows along the way. interesting lyrics let you crave for another listen. a great multiple listen album that brings you the whole package.
  13. ErnieS.
    Sep 16, 2002
    9
    This album got way underrated by the critics. I haven't heard any rock on the radio this fresh this year, and the reviews seem to undercut it. It's sad. I'm a big ATDI fan, but Sparta seemed to perfect a number of nuances in the ATDI formula, which really makes this album all the better.
  14. ReyO.
    Sep 25, 2002
    10
    i love this cd but i lost the lyric book. and i wanna find out how the song "cut your ribbon" goes cuz its my favorite in the whole wide world!
  15. JeremyC
    Jun 28, 2003
    7
    It's pretty good, but it's no Mars Volta.
  16. TonyBro
    Nov 22, 2002
    9
    Absolutely the first album to light a fire under my ass since Aenima by Tool. It flows together well, it's well written, the growls and howls actually have harmony and the guitar riffs are perfect for this style of music. I'll listen to it till my ears bleed.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Far too often, 'Wiretap Scars' feels limp, lifeless, bereft of dynamics.
  2. Wiretap Scars illustrates Sparta's ambition to move beyond At the Drive-In, but also the bandmembers' attempt to steer clear of mainstream emocore.
  3. They've managed to broaden the nervous-tic angst-rock of their previous band into something more readily adaptable without reducing it to mealy-mouthed pop regurge.