With Love And Squalor

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Jan 10, 2006
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    6
    It's 12 tracks of standard Indie rock that could have been put out by any band. To be fair ,there are some very good songs on this but nothing mindblowing (although I do really like It's a Hit). I've found its the kind of record you'd mildly enjoy but won't play very often. The style is limited - not much variation across the songs. Just fell short of an extra mark for me.
  2. MarcusF
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Good album
  3. LukeB.D
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of the last few years if not the best!!!
  4. Jack
    Oct 12, 2006
    9
    This album is not going to win anything, but it won my heart. I have no idea how the end of the cd is getting so much slack. Between "Worth the Wait" and "What's the Word", i can't stop. Just put "Can't Lose" at the end and you have 3 of the best sounding songs of this year. I just wish the rest of the album was as good as those three.
  5. tomw
    Aug 28, 2006
    9
    One of the best albums released in the past 4 years, along with soad/slipknot/futureheads and modest mouse. Inaction, nobody move, this scene is dead, the great escape are the best songs
  6. LeeH
    Jun 26, 2006
    9
    Don't read the overall review from the critics, as MC has missed out highly favourable reviews from the likes of NME, Guradian, Uncut and Mojo. Not quite a classic, but by no means a risky purchase. Get indie-pop that will keep your head bopping, but not so shallow that you think you'd have heard everything in one listen. Clever and catchy
  7. GaboS
    May 31, 2006
    8
    They may not be the best out there, but man they sound good. "The Great Escape" has to be my favorite song in the album, and the rest of the album revolves on the same sound, basically meaning that if you like one song, you'll probably like the rest. They kinda sound a lot like a mix of almost ALL alternative/indie bands out there, but they still have their own sound. I've been They may not be the best out there, but man they sound good. "The Great Escape" has to be my favorite song in the album, and the rest of the album revolves on the same sound, basically meaning that if you like one song, you'll probably like the rest. They kinda sound a lot like a mix of almost ALL alternative/indie bands out there, but they still have their own sound. I've been listening to this for about 3 months, and it's only gotten better. The entire album is fun to listen to, and if you ignore some of the lyrics, add em' to your indie rock collection! Expand
  8. KatieS
    Feb 12, 2006
    9
    I thought this cd was well put together and rockin!
  9. Matt
    Feb 3, 2006
    5
    These Scientists forgot to add one crucial ingredient: the hooks.
  10. Nick
    Feb 1, 2006
    7
    It's a pretty good album, but after a few listens gets boring. There are a few songs that make you want to go back and listen, but you won't want to listen to the rest of the album.
  11. Andrew
    Jan 30, 2006
    6
    Nothing special. Catchy, yet repetitive. Sounds like they're trying to copy some other groups/artists. No variation within the album to me. Could have experimented more.
  12. matta
    Jan 24, 2006
    8
    Yea, it's been done before, but that doesn't mean that it isn't good. Could be long-forgotten in a few months, but for now, I'm really enjoying this. Just as good as The Strokes newest album.
  13. Jason
    Jan 22, 2006
    10
    This has been out in the Uk for a little while now and I simply cannot stop playing it. The lyrics aren't the most sophisticated in the world but the hooks from the guitar and bass just snare you. Their website is a lot of fun too.
  14. AnthonyB
    Jan 19, 2006
    9
    I loved every song except one. Though several sounded alike, that is certainly not a bad thing!
  15. cables
    Jan 18, 2006
    8
    Really cool record. Nothing you haven't heard before, but it'll still keep you dancing on repeat listens.
  16. KimberleyT
    Jan 18, 2006
    8
    A solid album, lots of fun. The first four songs are especially good.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Billboard
    80
    Despite undeniable similarities to other bands that arrived at this party earlier, this album lacks pretension and self-importance. [21 Jan 2006]
  2. By no means have We Are Scientists made a great record, but it shows enough promise to make us believe that it might just be possible in the future.
  3. We Are Scientists come off well in being both snide and playful. Finding that balance is what makes With Love and Squalor a solid debut.