With Teeth

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 315 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 315

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LeonardoF
    May 11, 2005
    5
    did he took almost 6 years to make THIS record? bullshit. except for the last two tracks, the album is boring.
  2. JosephT
    May 4, 2005
    5
    Trent reznor's initial formula worked up until the 90s. At this point he is simlpy starting to sound a lot like many of his impersonators. There is no innovation here. Nine Inch Nails has started to sound like all those musicians Trent has always put down every chance he got. Trent: simply saying that you are better than your peers doesn't make you any any better, only delusional.
  3. BusH8TERIdiotSonofAN_
    Jan 8, 2006
    5
    Disappointing. The Fragile, was, in my opinion, one of the greatest albums of the 90s - by far and away NIN's finest achievement. Every song was a painstakingly woven tapestry of sounds and melodies that penetrated the very depths of the soul. It was beautiful, dark, and left one slightly different after a few dozen listens. No band should be expected to follow up an album like The Disappointing. The Fragile, was, in my opinion, one of the greatest albums of the 90s - by far and away NIN's finest achievement. Every song was a painstakingly woven tapestry of sounds and melodies that penetrated the very depths of the soul. It was beautiful, dark, and left one slightly different after a few dozen listens. No band should be expected to follow up an album like The Fragile with anything nearly as good. Unsurprisingly, With Teeth falls far short of The Fragile, yet Trent Reznor had a full 6 years to work on it! SIX YEARS! It is mystifying that after so much time, NIN offer up such a paltry effort. One feels while listening to With Teeth that it was thrown together in a few weeks to pay the bills. Another possible source of With Teeth's mediocrity is the loss of at least on NIN member. If I'm not mistaken, the guitarist Danny Lohner left the band, and he was certainly an important driving force behind The Fragile. Unfortunately, I cannot verify this since With Teeth has no liner notes, and the NIN website is down. NIN has such a wealth of brilliant material that they could fold tomorrow and be assured of a lasting legacy. Here's to hoping that they do fade away whilst recycling one mediocre album after another. Expand
  4. jayman
    May 23, 2005
    5
    4 or 5 good tracks this time out...Reznor clearly is not maturing...I hoped he would turn a corner and dive into more subtle electronics or something, you know, moved on....He could still be a main force in music but chooses not to....
  5. MichaelK
    May 7, 2005
    6
    A slight return to form in that the music is a fair bit more interesting and natural than The Fragile (none of the forced overbearing instrumentals), and though the lyrics are pretty much the same banal subject matter they at least strive for a punchiness of the past. The title track will probably be the only one I listen to in years coming, however...
  6. Bruno
    May 23, 2005
    6
    This is far nin worst album. I'm disappointed. The whole album sounds like "The greatest hits of Marylin Manson" But it's not enough for trent and it can't be compared to Fragile, Spiral or Pretty Hate Machine. It's musically, lyrically inmature.
  7. ChurchillM
    May 4, 2005
    6
    One has to point out the fact that fans WILL love whatever NIN regurgitates. That being said (for the rest of us) NIN is not relevant any more. Used to be, but not anymore. He is starting to sound like a grown up version of M Manson. I've heard Powerman5000 records that are catchier (and boy... is Powerman5000 ever so juvenile ! ). Well produced (glossy), but that's about it.
  8. juanc
    May 9, 2005
    4
    Boring
  9. JoshL
    May 15, 2005
    4
    Before this album, Reznor wrote all the material, recorded it, then hired musicians to play it on tour. For With Teeth, he actually assembled a band; and that was the problem: it sounds too much like THEM and not enough like HIM. Track 13 is the only one that shows any real creativity.
  10. BrandonS
    May 4, 2005
    6
    This is a very interesting listen as it plays, but nothing really stays with you afterwards or is even particularly memorable. Musically, it's actually quite good in many ways, and I'm sure I'll listen to it a number of times. But the lyrics are the same childish stuff, with less bang, that he's always done. If Reznor could develop his lyrics to post-adolescent rage, This is a very interesting listen as it plays, but nothing really stays with you afterwards or is even particularly memorable. Musically, it's actually quite good in many ways, and I'm sure I'll listen to it a number of times. But the lyrics are the same childish stuff, with less bang, that he's always done. If Reznor could develop his lyrics to post-adolescent rage, then NIN would truly be back. Let's hope it doesn't take 5 years to find out. Expand
  11. BrianC
    Jun 26, 2005
    4
    Aside from 2 good songs late on the album this is very unmemorable stuff. I am a huge NIN fan since way back in the day. I haven't listened to this in a month - but I have listened to every other NIN disk several times in the time period. Someone else said it best - this should have been solo work - It's not NIN. With Teeth - ha! yeah right! Trent's clearly spent more time Aside from 2 good songs late on the album this is very unmemorable stuff. I am a huge NIN fan since way back in the day. I haven't listened to this in a month - but I have listened to every other NIN disk several times in the time period. Someone else said it best - this should have been solo work - It's not NIN. With Teeth - ha! yeah right! Trent's clearly spent more time on his misguided and misinformed political rantings than his music. Look back at this disc in 5 or 10 years - it will widely be regarded as the weakest. Expand
  12. MattO
    Sep 23, 2006
    6
    Not that this is a bad album... It's just that, if Trent Reznor had evolved past his Pretty Hate Machine days, this would be great. Again, not that this is a bad album; if you took out a good portion of the lyrics and put in something less childish than "Every day is exactly the same" or "There is no you/There is only me." On a good note, several of the songs you wouldn't hear Not that this is a bad album... It's just that, if Trent Reznor had evolved past his Pretty Hate Machine days, this would be great. Again, not that this is a bad album; if you took out a good portion of the lyrics and put in something less childish than "Every day is exactly the same" or "There is no you/There is only me." On a good note, several of the songs you wouldn't hear on the radio (All the Love in the World, You Know What You Are, Sunspots, and the Line Begins to Blur) are a pretty good evolution for Reznor, whether or not this sounds like he did (lyrically, anyway) back when he first started. 3 of 5, 6 of 10. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Quite frankly, this is the record that NIN should have released if Reznor had wanted to capitalize on the success of The Downward Spiral.
  2. More in line with his tighter debut, Pretty Hate Machine, With Teeth is made up of bursts of dark, scary and paranoid gut punches.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Reznor seems to have finally grasped that listening to a NIN album should not be as torturous as whatever artistic agony went into its creation. [29 Apr 2005, p.145]