With Teeth

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 319 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 319

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TravisD.
    Aug 19, 2007
    10
    One of Trent's best albums
  2. bh
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Impressive is an understatement.
  3. JosephR
    May 7, 2005
    9
    'With Teeth' is a breath of fresh air in the midst of this atrocious music scene at the present.
  4. SakayeSue
    May 20, 2005
    8
    Lets face it, the man is a brilliant musician. Though this album pales by comparison to the Fragile, it shines in comparison to almost any other album out there. With Teeth is energy charged, accessible, and satisfying.
  5. FloC
    May 4, 2005
    9
    Great album. Album is being characterized by many as "angst" ridden. What the hell does that mean. This album's a response to the old days of self loathing and sad depression. This is more of a "rebirth" if you wanna call it. RS and other reviewers need to get off this Angst ridden angry , death to all stereotype. Great Album. It will grow on you.
  6. RenzoN
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Trent is GOD simple as that....
  7. ChrisH
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Pure genius. Listening to this in 5.1 makes me remember what makes me love NIN still. Deep, inventive, emotional, brilliant.
  8. DawnW
    May 8, 2005
    10
    Since I seem to be one of the freaks who liked the Fragile all of the way through, I was actually disappointed at how short this album was. On the other hand, With Teeth is exactly what I need from him now, something lean and fun and loud and ready to rip you up. I agree, the layers of this album reveal themselves with repeated listens (I'm on about my tenth spin now between the car Since I seem to be one of the freaks who liked the Fragile all of the way through, I was actually disappointed at how short this album was. On the other hand, With Teeth is exactly what I need from him now, something lean and fun and loud and ready to rip you up. I agree, the layers of this album reveal themselves with repeated listens (I'm on about my tenth spin now between the car and the computer.) Thanks for sticking out all the shit Trent, and keep it coming. I'm waiting, looking for the end of the f-ing tunnel too. Expand
  9. MatthewB
    May 9, 2005
    10
    It was worth the wait
  10. EricaS
    May 17, 2005
    7
    This is definitely an improverment from the fragile, this should have come out a longtime ago.
  11. ChrisM
    May 4, 2005
    9
    While not as ambitious as The Fragile or The Downward Spiral, there's nothing wrong with a solid album full of great songs. The variety of styles range from introspective piano pieces to full out industrial aggro to retro disco cheese, but Reznor pull them all off successfully.
  12. Blindx0r
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Soon to be over-the-hill, Reznor shows signs of maturity in well crafted music. I'm glad he is staying true to himself and gives you what he wants and not selling out, giving into the masses.
  13. ElaineLaH
    May 4, 2005
    9
    This album is pure, raw nine inch nails. full of emotion and intensity. A+ trent... very well done!
  14. yasirh
    May 4, 2005
    10
    NIN at its best.
  15. DaveD
    May 5, 2005
    9
    Trent hasn't become a much better lyricist, but he has become a more earnest one, and it pays off very well against the hook heavy, breezy pop songs. Every track on this could find radio airplay, which is a refreshing change of pace after the last couple arduous NIN journeys. But the best tracks are the ones that bookend the record, the wonderful Junior Boys-meets-Depeche Mode opener Trent hasn't become a much better lyricist, but he has become a more earnest one, and it pays off very well against the hook heavy, breezy pop songs. Every track on this could find radio airplay, which is a refreshing change of pace after the last couple arduous NIN journeys. But the best tracks are the ones that bookend the record, the wonderful Junior Boys-meets-Depeche Mode opener "All the Love in the World" and the gorgeously haunting finale "Right Where It Belongs". Great modern synth-pop record. Expand
  16. jasonl
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Trent Reznor is undoubtably a musical genius and this album leaves NOTHING to be desired.
  17. JorisV
    May 6, 2005
    10
    Wicked indeed! Very Pretty Hate Machine, including the future Nine Inch Nails classic Every Day Is Exactly The Same, garuanteed ;). Even the experiments are fabulous, listen to the beat in Beside You In Time. Does the same to me as the electronic track on Ponk Floyd's Dark Side Of The Moon. And did I mention the killertracks Love Is Not Enough, Sunspots, The Line Begins To Blur and Wicked indeed! Very Pretty Hate Machine, including the future Nine Inch Nails classic Every Day Is Exactly The Same, garuanteed ;). Even the experiments are fabulous, listen to the beat in Beside You In Time. Does the same to me as the electronic track on Ponk Floyd's Dark Side Of The Moon. And did I mention the killertracks Love Is Not Enough, Sunspots, The Line Begins To Blur and Only yet? Or haunting opener All the love in the world? Right Where It Belongs tries desperately to be the equivalent of Hurt, but truly, will there ever be a track that comes close to Hurt? Overall a huge 10 Expand
  18. MichaelB
    May 7, 2005
    10
    I could go on for pages, but I'll save you some time and just say BUY IT.
  19. DGarnett
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    This isn't music, it's therapy.
  20. [Anonymous]
    May 4, 2005
    9
    Very strong and solid hard rock album. Straight from the man who created the lyrical style popular today, he matures and sets the bar higher...for himself. He doesn't care anymore...and it's fantastic.
  21. RandyB
    May 5, 2005
    9
    With Teeth is amazing. It hits hard and rips flesh, and when the mournful "Right Where It belongs" concludes the album, you're disappointed that there couldn't have been more.
  22. ArturoG
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Great!!
  23. AmitS
    May 7, 2005
    7
    A great album which allows Nine Inch Nails to flex their song writing muscle. Few tracks however, allow Nine Inch Nails' brilliance to be fully realised. An enjoyable and interesting listen.
  24. LaurenB
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    In my opinion, Trent Reznor is one of the only musicians out there today who can create truly engaging songs from such a vast array of sounds- whether they be instrumental, electronic, vocal, or anything else. He can layer what feels like an infinite number of sounds over one another and make them work together to create one mammoth, and usually flawless, piece of music. He is a modern In my opinion, Trent Reznor is one of the only musicians out there today who can create truly engaging songs from such a vast array of sounds- whether they be instrumental, electronic, vocal, or anything else. He can layer what feels like an infinite number of sounds over one another and make them work together to create one mammoth, and usually flawless, piece of music. He is a modern composer. On the other hand, he is also able to create some of the most beautiful and intriguing songs I have ever heard with nothing more than a few simple piano chords and his alluring voice. The awe-inspiring and unique thing about Trent Reznor lies in his ability to achieve both of these extremes- intelligent, definitive complexity and stunning, affecting simplicity. I think this kind of ability is rare these days, and I think 'With Teeth' demonstrates and exemplifies his talent. Expand
  25. CarlyM
    Jul 14, 2005
    7
    One third digestble pop, one third bordering on rubbish (the title track, for starters) and one third completely inspired - Right Where it Belongs is exquisite, for which I forgive Trent the rest. Will get a lot more listening.
  26. KingInk
    Sep 14, 2005
    9
    Bring it on. Every NIN album I've had the pleasure of witnessing has been a different treat. I owe so much of my life to this man and his incredible insights. With Teeth may be a bit more slick, but it's tight and executed with complete perfection.
  27. patriciar
    Feb 8, 2006
    10
    You guys are crazy. This Cd rocks, as well as all the other music Trent has ever made.
  28. PaulH
    Mar 5, 2006
    10
    Abosolutly AMAZING by far Trent's best and most powerful album sure it is nothing like the downward spiral or pretty hate machine but it's even better, Its catchy, mesmorising and powerful but all in all a pure classic, Well Done Trent!!!!! (P.S Also my best album of the year)
  29. Crash
    Apr 8, 2007
    8
    This is a solid record for Trent. It has enough substance for NIN fans and enough appeal to bring in new listeners. Perhaps the album could use more raw emotion I have come to expect from Mr. Reznor. Very solid outing but everyone in the world can find ways to improve and Trent is no exception.
  30. maxf
    Oct 6, 2005
    7
    if not for sunspots i would have given this a 5. a major letdown after the promise and awesome work of art like THE FRAGILE.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Quite frankly, this is the record that NIN should have released if Reznor had wanted to capitalize on the success of The Downward Spiral.
  2. More in line with his tighter debut, Pretty Hate Machine, With Teeth is made up of bursts of dark, scary and paranoid gut punches.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Reznor seems to have finally grasped that listening to a NIN album should not be as torturous as whatever artistic agony went into its creation. [29 Apr 2005, p.145]