With Teeth

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 317 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 317

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OmarA
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Perfectly encompasses every aspect of Rezner's unique and ever evolving sound. While stripped down to the bare essentials, the familiar emotion still remains. All the rage. All the despair. All the self destruction. And for once, an honest realization. As easy to listen to as Pretty Hate Machine, while still maintaining the hard aggression of The Downward Spiral. On the first, Perfectly encompasses every aspect of Rezner's unique and ever evolving sound. While stripped down to the bare essentials, the familiar emotion still remains. All the rage. All the despair. All the self destruction. And for once, an honest realization. As easy to listen to as Pretty Hate Machine, while still maintaining the hard aggression of The Downward Spiral. On the first, second, and third times round, it appears to be Reznor's finest work thus far. Though it may rub off as a serious bout of depression, the songs contained within the album are, at many times, quite inspiring. Reznor has come clean and begun to emerge from the hole he has been trapped in. Perhaps, by example, his fans will follow suit and strive to do the same. This is, by no means, an album you want to skip through. With Teeth has most definately been worth the wait. Expand
  2. cbrandley
    May 4, 2005
    10
    this album is amazing, and hands down the best thing to come out in the last 5 years
  3. toekneed
    May 4, 2005
    9
    this cd deserves high praise for the way he consistantly evolves and changes his sound throughout the years and always delivers a quality product. yes, granted we have to wait the standard 5 to 6 years but you can always count on a cutting edge, trend setting peice of sonic beauty. thank you Mr. Reznor
  4. JoshuaP
    May 4, 2005
    10
    perfection isnt attainable on every album, but trent comes closer than anyone in every attempt. Every album has its place in time and this one is perfect for now and true music fans know what i mean.
  5. BillK.
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Listened to it 4 times the first day. Just gets better each time.
  6. MichaelJ
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Worth the wait.
  7. lukatoyboy
    May 5, 2005
    8
    for some strange reason, i can't explain why, i can listen only this one nin album at the moment. other miss something
  8. Dan
    May 7, 2005
    10
    Worth every penny.
  9. stacyl
    May 8, 2005
    10
    It's understandable why Trent produces a CD about every five years. Perfection takes time!
  10. GabrielS
    May 8, 2005
    9
    "With Teeth" fell short of a "10" because 1) there isn't really any transitional music connecting each song as in all previous NIN albums --a quality which set NIN apart from nearly every other band I know, and 2) the lack of instrumentals. Of course, Art is a subjective experience, whether as creator or consumer, and rating or grading Art is kind of ridiculous to begin with. I "With Teeth" fell short of a "10" because 1) there isn't really any transitional music connecting each song as in all previous NIN albums --a quality which set NIN apart from nearly every other band I know, and 2) the lack of instrumentals. Of course, Art is a subjective experience, whether as creator or consumer, and rating or grading Art is kind of ridiculous to begin with. I cannot call Trent (or anyone) a genius. But he has certainly reached the level of genius with each of his albums (not to mention his soundtrack work). Hopefully he will let all the criticism roll right off of him, and do what he does no matter what the world thinks. Expand
  11. LennonM
    Jun 10, 2005
    9
    I cant claim to be a NIN expert or anything but I am familiar with their work to an extent. Personally I really enjoyed this album. I realize its not their best or anything, but it was definitely a solid 9.
  12. GaryA
    Jun 8, 2005
    9
    Delivers what you would Expect when you buy
  13. CristinaC
    Jul 18, 2005
    10
    It is amusing to see how people cannot cope with the fact that a person is smart. Simply smart, simply distant. That's how Reznor was, that's how Reznor is and will be. And that seems to bother a lot of frustrated people. The album is good, obviously. Reznor remains a perfectionist in every way, as far as both music and lyrics are concerned.
  14. kyler
    Aug 6, 2005
    9
    i wish people could simply accept change. I love this album but i know many people who love earlier nin but because of this album given up on trent and nin completly. So if you don't like with teeth go listen to the downward spiral and shut the fuck up!
  15. ArchV
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    This album is a change and if you can't feel it - go listen 'the downward spiral", "the fragile" or anything else. I like the way that Trent have done this record, it sounds fresh. All of the songs are recorded with live drums, guitars, synths.
  16. StephenC
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    This album is by far the best album of 2005, due to its genuine blend of accessibility and complexity. While not up to par with The Fragile (a largely overlooked album by the general public), it clearly has more to offer than most of the Nine Inch Nails catalog (a difficult feat in and of itself).
  17. t.al
    Oct 7, 2006
    8
    i'm really enjoying 'with teeth'. 'now' i'm really listening to it. don't judge just listen is my advice. take your time. thanks trent. from you i don't expect anything. don't need.
  18. GregS
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    absolutely the most incredible cd for anyone whos heard of any of the twelve steps of Narcotics/Alcoholics anonymous
  19. N8Putnam
    May 9, 2006
    10
    This is exactly the NIN record that I was waiting for. It has 3 tracks from every era (PHM, Broken, TDS and TFragile). It's like an all original greatest hits album and I couldn't have been happier. Trent Reznor is just as angry as I wish I stll was. All the haters can just go jump. Brilliance. N8
  20. Clark
    Sep 3, 2006
    8
    What people seem to forget when reviewing "With Teeth" is that it simply isn't the 1990s anymore. If Mr. Reznor gave us another electronic-soaked album with simple but true lyrics, people would complain that he's giving us the same thing since 1989. Not so. Personally, I believe this to be NIN's worst album, but what you have to remember is that NIN's worst is better What people seem to forget when reviewing "With Teeth" is that it simply isn't the 1990s anymore. If Mr. Reznor gave us another electronic-soaked album with simple but true lyrics, people would complain that he's giving us the same thing since 1989. Not so. Personally, I believe this to be NIN's worst album, but what you have to remember is that NIN's worst is better than most band's best. I'd rather listen to this than anything playing on the radio today. "Right Where It Belongs" is a great tune that sounds like it could have been on "The Fragile". Reznor reminds us that he can still produce a sexy hit, with "Only" and to a certain degree, "Sunspots". The lyrics are still simple, yet true. Worth the money I paid for it, and its getting a proper amount of play right now. Thank you, Trent! Expand
  21. JB
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    First of all, to anyone who says Renzor has run out of ideas, or the album is some how misplaced in his brilliant career, I don't believe that he could have picked a better point in his career to produce such an album. Its not the 90's anymore, and sooner or later any artist has to change their sound. I believe that With Teeth was one of his best releases since his debut album, First of all, to anyone who says Renzor has run out of ideas, or the album is some how misplaced in his brilliant career, I don't believe that he could have picked a better point in his career to produce such an album. Its not the 90's anymore, and sooner or later any artist has to change their sound. I believe that With Teeth was one of his best releases since his debut album, the lyrics are as deep as ever, and I hope to god that we see more albums in the future. I give it a ten, and any true NIN fan would do the same... Garnett is right, its more than music, its therapy... Expand
  22. Jean-FrancoisP.
    Jun 13, 2007
    9
    A solid hard rock album which lack a just bit of originality considering it's a Nine Inch Nails album. It's good to know however that Mr. Reznor has moved from the goth and "I hate God" period to present a more "adult" and accessible side. Hence, it is very different from the previous works. *The first album you should buy if you're new to NIN **The song Only definitely A solid hard rock album which lack a just bit of originality considering it's a Nine Inch Nails album. It's good to know however that Mr. Reznor has moved from the goth and "I hate God" period to present a more "adult" and accessible side. Hence, it is very different from the previous works. *The first album you should buy if you're new to NIN **The song Only definitely stands up as a sexy disco bass riff. Unique like only NIN can do. Expand
  23. coalhalop
    May 5, 2008
    8
    With Teeth was highly anticipated for me, since NIN could have gone in either direction in the six years since their last release. Luckily for me NIN appeared to be in a good space that allowed T Rez to release an album of tracks that ranged from the decent, "With Teeth", to the fantastically sublime, "All The Love In The World" and "Right Where It Belongs". The single, "The Hand That With Teeth was highly anticipated for me, since NIN could have gone in either direction in the six years since their last release. Luckily for me NIN appeared to be in a good space that allowed T Rez to release an album of tracks that ranged from the decent, "With Teeth", to the fantastically sublime, "All The Love In The World" and "Right Where It Belongs". The single, "The Hand That Feeds", is another stand out track that is reminiscent of earlier NIN releases, especially the high end tones in the crescendo at the song's end. Track #2, "You Know What You Are?", also seems to be from earlier NIN studio sessions. Overall, "With Teeth" seems to be one of NIN's better pop records that was aimed at getting him back in the charts and thus back in the public view as an artist who is trying to say something, unlike the vast majority of the acts dominating the charts, tv, and playlists. Expand
  24. JonS
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    I must say that I can chill out and listen to Every song on this album! I've never been able to say that about Any album!
  25. AdamC.
    May 14, 2005
    8
    As an avid NIN fan, I believe this album was worth the 6 year wait since The Fragile. Of all the elements of music, Reznor is the reigning master of texture; I have always appreciated how each of his albums and songs has a completely unique fabric of sound. With Teeth also marvels in textural soundscapes; just listen to the varying colors of "You Know What You Are" and "Right Where It As an avid NIN fan, I believe this album was worth the 6 year wait since The Fragile. Of all the elements of music, Reznor is the reigning master of texture; I have always appreciated how each of his albums and songs has a completely unique fabric of sound. With Teeth also marvels in textural soundscapes; just listen to the varying colors of "You Know What You Are" and "Right Where It Belongs". Perhaps all the more impressive is that Reznor is still creating music that sounds fresh and relevant, even 11 years after the pinnacle of The Downward Spiral. Expand
  26. TimR
    May 17, 2005
    9
    Very much a mature, layered album representing a refinement of what was presented on The Fragile. Let's be honest, Downward Spiral is the watershed album of Trent's career. But that doesn't mean With Teeth isn't one of his best...it is...and that's among a body of work that is nothing short of stellar.
  27. HoolaGoola
    May 18, 2005
    8
    With songs like Sunspots,Every Day Is Exactly The Same,Only,and Love Is Not Enough,it's evident that Reznor's depth has grown even greater.Still can't see how people can claim that this is such a "radio-friendly" album though.This isn't RadioDoodyHead or Limp Shitzkit.This is an honest to God Nine Inch Nails album.Probably the most honest and personal yet.I admire the With songs like Sunspots,Every Day Is Exactly The Same,Only,and Love Is Not Enough,it's evident that Reznor's depth has grown even greater.Still can't see how people can claim that this is such a "radio-friendly" album though.This isn't RadioDoodyHead or Limp Shitzkit.This is an honest to God Nine Inch Nails album.Probably the most honest and personal yet.I admire the effortless delivery on it.Buy it. Expand
  28. Jen
    May 21, 2005
    10
    Everybody is entitled to their own opinion. I adore this CD.
  29. AlanD
    May 26, 2005
    10
    Very interesting. I love that Trent does what he wants. This is an excellent album.
  30. BrianT
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    Work of art. I had to wait five years for this. It was worth it.
  31. RyanM
    Jun 19, 2005
    9
    Reznor is a master of his instrumentation, but the way these songs were written, he might be a standout writer in any genre. Combining those two skills is With Teeth. It's not the best album of all time, but it's definitely better than you think it is.
  32. davidp
    Jun 19, 2005
    8
    A decent offering from Nine Inch Nails. Reviews keep saying there are no new ideas here and that the album is awful. Try listening to "All the Love in the World" and "ONly" -especially the latter-. Tretn Reznor's production values are relentless here as the album shows on hte 5.1 mix. Sad? Yes. Angry? Yes. Cheerful? Yeah, actually. Trent hasn't strech his vocals like this before A decent offering from Nine Inch Nails. Reviews keep saying there are no new ideas here and that the album is awful. Try listening to "All the Love in the World" and "ONly" -especially the latter-. Tretn Reznor's production values are relentless here as the album shows on hte 5.1 mix. Sad? Yes. Angry? Yes. Cheerful? Yeah, actually. Trent hasn't strech his vocals like this before and the increased piano use is a very bold move. Expand
  33. TBoneM
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    This is a pretty damn good album. The collector, only. Plenty more. I've been listening to this alot lately.
  34. vladv
    Aug 25, 2005
    10
    thank you trent
  35. JohnH
    Jan 23, 2006
    8
    In the average reviewers mind, this isn
  36. AdamT
    Nov 27, 2005
    9
    I listened to "With Teeth" as my first NIN album, I thought it was brilliant, and astounding, then I heard Trent's other records. And I saw the immense difference, it's not a bad one, but when comparing the simplistic poppy hooks of say "Only" to "Mr. Self Destruct" from the "Downward Spiral", "Teeth" sounds much more primitive, a step back sort of. But what's wrong with a I listened to "With Teeth" as my first NIN album, I thought it was brilliant, and astounding, then I heard Trent's other records. And I saw the immense difference, it's not a bad one, but when comparing the simplistic poppy hooks of say "Only" to "Mr. Self Destruct" from the "Downward Spiral", "Teeth" sounds much more primitive, a step back sort of. But what's wrong with a step back? NIN's instruments are much less thrown together, and are much easier to follow, the ballads are more immediately gratifying. This to me, is the worst NIN album, but the worst never sounded so good. Expand
  37. dannyc
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    bad ass band!
  38. mikeh
    Dec 17, 2005
    7
    I love NIN, but this is the weakest album. A few moments show greatness ("All the Love in the World", "Sunspots", and others), but it's like it lacks what made the other albums so great. Disappointing as a follow-up to _The Fragile_.
  39. Dec 14, 2010
    7
    Previous Nine Inch Nails works including the Fragile, Downward Spiral and Pretty Hate Machine were filled with emotion and grit in the lyrics and in the music itself. With Teeth is far more accessible and makes listening to this album easier yet this album has no real grit in it. It seems as if Trent Reznor is trying to make The Fragile into popular culture. But he is not trying anythingPrevious Nine Inch Nails works including the Fragile, Downward Spiral and Pretty Hate Machine were filled with emotion and grit in the lyrics and in the music itself. With Teeth is far more accessible and makes listening to this album easier yet this album has no real grit in it. It seems as if Trent Reznor is trying to make The Fragile into popular culture. But he is not trying anything new, just remaining in safe territority. 1994's 'Hurt' is seen in 'Right where it belongs' which is the last track in standard albums. It's an okay song but is fairly unremarkable. Reznor was known for pushing himself, but he simply is not, preferring popular lyrical themes- anger with the government that is strongly present in songs such as The Hand That Themes. But the album does have good songs. The best song on the album is 'only' because it is refreshing and is experimental in how Pretty Hate Machine became a modern- classic. 'You know what you are' is heavy with the Downward Spiral and that's a good thing as this track is very strong and angry. Certain copies of With Teeth had a fourteenth song called 'Home' which is an impressive song and a highlight and beats Right Where it belongs in trying to be like Hurt. Overall, it is a good album but not his best. Expand
  40. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    The heaviest pop album ever made. Relentlessly Trent, more streamlined than fragile. More hooks than a tackle box. The hand that feeds is one of the best songs I ever heard. Production is very beast. Bad Trent nailed it here.
  41. May 26, 2012
    7
    I liked With Teeth quite a bit, and it did grow on me with repeated listens. I feel that the second half of the album is stronger than the first half, which is my main complaint. I feel that track 4, and track 6 onward are the strongest on the record, but that's just my opinion. This is still a good album and a must listen for any NIN fan.
  42. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    maybe it moves away from the original style of Nine Inch Nails but it's still one of the best albums of the band and one of my favorites.

    I feature Grohl participation in songs like All The Love In The World and Every Day Is Exactly The Same.

    I give 10 to album because the whole album is a musical odyssey along with The Fragile
  43. Dec 16, 2014
    9
    Only after 8 years I start to regard it as Trent's chef d'oeuvre. Even if there are few lyrical improvements bar his alcohol enslavement, he had certainly been working on his vocal skills. 'All The Love In The World', 'The Hand That Feeds', 'You Know What You Are', 'Every Day Is Exactly The Same' and particularly 'Beside You In Time' are the highlights to me off the whole record.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Quite frankly, this is the record that NIN should have released if Reznor had wanted to capitalize on the success of The Downward Spiral.
  2. More in line with his tighter debut, Pretty Hate Machine, With Teeth is made up of bursts of dark, scary and paranoid gut punches.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Reznor seems to have finally grasped that listening to a NIN album should not be as torturous as whatever artistic agony went into its creation. [29 Apr 2005, p.145]