With Teeth

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 316 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 316

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TravisD.
    Aug 19, 2007
    10
    One of Trent's best albums
  2. bh
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Impressive is an understatement.
  3. JosephR
    May 7, 2005
    9
    'With Teeth' is a breath of fresh air in the midst of this atrocious music scene at the present.
  4. SakayeSue
    May 20, 2005
    8
    Lets face it, the man is a brilliant musician. Though this album pales by comparison to the Fragile, it shines in comparison to almost any other album out there. With Teeth is energy charged, accessible, and satisfying.
  5. FloC
    May 4, 2005
    9
    Great album. Album is being characterized by many as "angst" ridden. What the hell does that mean. This album's a response to the old days of self loathing and sad depression. This is more of a "rebirth" if you wanna call it. RS and other reviewers need to get off this Angst ridden angry , death to all stereotype. Great Album. It will grow on you.
  6. RenzoN
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Trent is GOD simple as that....
  7. ChrisH
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Pure genius. Listening to this in 5.1 makes me remember what makes me love NIN still. Deep, inventive, emotional, brilliant.
  8. DawnW
    May 8, 2005
    10
    Since I seem to be one of the freaks who liked the Fragile all of the way through, I was actually disappointed at how short this album was. On the other hand, With Teeth is exactly what I need from him now, something lean and fun and loud and ready to rip you up. I agree, the layers of this album reveal themselves with repeated listens (I'm on about my tenth spin now between the car Since I seem to be one of the freaks who liked the Fragile all of the way through, I was actually disappointed at how short this album was. On the other hand, With Teeth is exactly what I need from him now, something lean and fun and loud and ready to rip you up. I agree, the layers of this album reveal themselves with repeated listens (I'm on about my tenth spin now between the car and the computer.) Thanks for sticking out all the shit Trent, and keep it coming. I'm waiting, looking for the end of the f-ing tunnel too. Expand
  9. MatthewB
    May 9, 2005
    10
    It was worth the wait
  10. EricaS
    May 17, 2005
    7
    This is definitely an improverment from the fragile, this should have come out a longtime ago.
  11. ChrisM
    May 4, 2005
    9
    While not as ambitious as The Fragile or The Downward Spiral, there's nothing wrong with a solid album full of great songs. The variety of styles range from introspective piano pieces to full out industrial aggro to retro disco cheese, but Reznor pull them all off successfully.
  12. Blindx0r
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Soon to be over-the-hill, Reznor shows signs of maturity in well crafted music. I'm glad he is staying true to himself and gives you what he wants and not selling out, giving into the masses.
  13. ElaineLaH
    May 4, 2005
    9
    This album is pure, raw nine inch nails. full of emotion and intensity. A+ trent... very well done!
  14. morganp
    May 4, 2005
    0
    emo crap
  15. yasirh
    May 4, 2005
    10
    NIN at its best.
  16. DaveD
    May 5, 2005
    9
    Trent hasn't become a much better lyricist, but he has become a more earnest one, and it pays off very well against the hook heavy, breezy pop songs. Every track on this could find radio airplay, which is a refreshing change of pace after the last couple arduous NIN journeys. But the best tracks are the ones that bookend the record, the wonderful Junior Boys-meets-Depeche Mode opener Trent hasn't become a much better lyricist, but he has become a more earnest one, and it pays off very well against the hook heavy, breezy pop songs. Every track on this could find radio airplay, which is a refreshing change of pace after the last couple arduous NIN journeys. But the best tracks are the ones that bookend the record, the wonderful Junior Boys-meets-Depeche Mode opener "All the Love in the World" and the gorgeously haunting finale "Right Where It Belongs". Great modern synth-pop record. Expand
  17. jasonl
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Trent Reznor is undoubtably a musical genius and this album leaves NOTHING to be desired.
  18. JorisV
    May 6, 2005
    10
    Wicked indeed! Very Pretty Hate Machine, including the future Nine Inch Nails classic Every Day Is Exactly The Same, garuanteed ;). Even the experiments are fabulous, listen to the beat in Beside You In Time. Does the same to me as the electronic track on Ponk Floyd's Dark Side Of The Moon. And did I mention the killertracks Love Is Not Enough, Sunspots, The Line Begins To Blur and Wicked indeed! Very Pretty Hate Machine, including the future Nine Inch Nails classic Every Day Is Exactly The Same, garuanteed ;). Even the experiments are fabulous, listen to the beat in Beside You In Time. Does the same to me as the electronic track on Ponk Floyd's Dark Side Of The Moon. And did I mention the killertracks Love Is Not Enough, Sunspots, The Line Begins To Blur and Only yet? Or haunting opener All the love in the world? Right Where It Belongs tries desperately to be the equivalent of Hurt, but truly, will there ever be a track that comes close to Hurt? Overall a huge 10 Expand
  19. LeonardoF
    May 11, 2005
    5
    did he took almost 6 years to make THIS record? bullshit. except for the last two tracks, the album is boring.
  20. RayonD
    May 11, 2005
    2
    Not NIN quality should be a solo album
  21. m.johnson
    May 20, 2005
    1
    what the hell are you all talking about? have you NEVER listened to the downward spiral? how could he go from that to THIS? it's utterly disappointing. sorry, trent. :/
  22. BuckC
    May 3, 2005
    0
    Do you remember that kid in school who always cried when he lost at dodgeball, or threw a tantrum at Kmart because his mommy wouldn't buy him the new GI Joe figure? He's a musician now. Some one get Trent a blanky and some cocoa ASAP. One. Trick. Pony.
  23. SteveF
    May 4, 2005
    0
    Huge disappointment! I want old NIN back.
  24. JasonD
    May 14, 2005
    2
    I've followed NIN from the get go, and maybe now it's ended........only 3 tracks are even decent.......Trent has never produced an album that where every song sounded the same, they've all been phenominal........until now.....very disappointed.
  25. JosephT
    May 4, 2005
    5
    Trent reznor's initial formula worked up until the 90s. At this point he is simlpy starting to sound a lot like many of his impersonators. There is no innovation here. Nine Inch Nails has started to sound like all those musicians Trent has always put down every chance he got. Trent: simply saying that you are better than your peers doesn't make you any any better, only delusional.
  26. AndreaS
    Aug 28, 2005
    1
    Trent has indeed run out of ideas.
  27. BusH8TERIdiotSonofAN_
    Jan 8, 2006
    5
    Disappointing. The Fragile, was, in my opinion, one of the greatest albums of the 90s - by far and away NIN's finest achievement. Every song was a painstakingly woven tapestry of sounds and melodies that penetrated the very depths of the soul. It was beautiful, dark, and left one slightly different after a few dozen listens. No band should be expected to follow up an album like The Disappointing. The Fragile, was, in my opinion, one of the greatest albums of the 90s - by far and away NIN's finest achievement. Every song was a painstakingly woven tapestry of sounds and melodies that penetrated the very depths of the soul. It was beautiful, dark, and left one slightly different after a few dozen listens. No band should be expected to follow up an album like The Fragile with anything nearly as good. Unsurprisingly, With Teeth falls far short of The Fragile, yet Trent Reznor had a full 6 years to work on it! SIX YEARS! It is mystifying that after so much time, NIN offer up such a paltry effort. One feels while listening to With Teeth that it was thrown together in a few weeks to pay the bills. Another possible source of With Teeth's mediocrity is the loss of at least on NIN member. If I'm not mistaken, the guitarist Danny Lohner left the band, and he was certainly an important driving force behind The Fragile. Unfortunately, I cannot verify this since With Teeth has no liner notes, and the NIN website is down. NIN has such a wealth of brilliant material that they could fold tomorrow and be assured of a lasting legacy. Here's to hoping that they do fade away whilst recycling one mediocre album after another. Expand
  28. MichaelD
    May 17, 2005
    0
    This does not sound anything like the Nine Inch Nails. This is by far the worst album i have ever bought. Trent Reznor owes me $10!!!!!!!
  29. jayman
    May 23, 2005
    5
    4 or 5 good tracks this time out...Reznor clearly is not maturing...I hoped he would turn a corner and dive into more subtle electronics or something, you know, moved on....He could still be a main force in music but chooses not to....
  30. CosmoPrelog
    Jun 16, 2005
    1
    About 10 years ago I bet my friend Bobert that Trent Reznor would continue to make horrid records well into the 21 Century. I'm glad to report that I won that bet. Thanks for the moped Bobert!
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Quite frankly, this is the record that NIN should have released if Reznor had wanted to capitalize on the success of The Downward Spiral.
  2. More in line with his tighter debut, Pretty Hate Machine, With Teeth is made up of bursts of dark, scary and paranoid gut punches.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Reznor seems to have finally grasped that listening to a NIN album should not be as torturous as whatever artistic agony went into its creation. [29 Apr 2005, p.145]