With Teeth

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 316 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 316

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2014
    9
    Only after 8 years I start to regard it as Trent's chef d'oeuvre. Even if there are few lyrical improvements bar his alcohol enslavement, he had certainly been working on his vocal skills. 'All The Love In The World', 'The Hand That Feeds', 'You Know What You Are', 'Every Day Is Exactly The Same' and particularly 'Beside You In Time' are the highlights to me off the whole record.
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    maybe it moves away from the original style of Nine Inch Nails but it's still one of the best albums of the band and one of my favorites.

    I feature Grohl participation in songs like All The Love In The World and Every Day Is Exactly The Same.

    I give 10 to album because the whole album is a musical odyssey along with The Fragile
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    The heaviest pop album ever made. Relentlessly Trent, more streamlined than fragile. More hooks than a tackle box. The hand that feeds is one of the best songs I ever heard. Production is very beast. Bad Trent nailed it here.
  4. May 26, 2012
    7
    I liked With Teeth quite a bit, and it did grow on me with repeated listens. I feel that the second half of the album is stronger than the first half, which is my main complaint. I feel that track 4, and track 6 onward are the strongest on the record, but that's just my opinion. This is still a good album and a must listen for any NIN fan.
  5. Dec 14, 2010
    7
    Previous Nine Inch Nails works including the Fragile, Downward Spiral and Pretty Hate Machine were filled with emotion and grit in the lyrics and in the music itself. With Teeth is far more accessible and makes listening to this album easier yet this album has no real grit in it. It seems as if Trent Reznor is trying to make The Fragile into popular culture. But he is not trying anythingPrevious Nine Inch Nails works including the Fragile, Downward Spiral and Pretty Hate Machine were filled with emotion and grit in the lyrics and in the music itself. With Teeth is far more accessible and makes listening to this album easier yet this album has no real grit in it. It seems as if Trent Reznor is trying to make The Fragile into popular culture. But he is not trying anything new, just remaining in safe territority. 1994's 'Hurt' is seen in 'Right where it belongs' which is the last track in standard albums. It's an okay song but is fairly unremarkable. Reznor was known for pushing himself, but he simply is not, preferring popular lyrical themes- anger with the government that is strongly present in songs such as The Hand That Themes. But the album does have good songs. The best song on the album is 'only' because it is refreshing and is experimental in how Pretty Hate Machine became a modern- classic. 'You know what you are' is heavy with the Downward Spiral and that's a good thing as this track is very strong and angry. Certain copies of With Teeth had a fourteenth song called 'Home' which is an impressive song and a highlight and beats Right Where it belongs in trying to be like Hurt. Overall, it is a good album but not his best. Expand
  6. coalhalop
    May 5, 2008
    8
    With Teeth was highly anticipated for me, since NIN could have gone in either direction in the six years since their last release. Luckily for me NIN appeared to be in a good space that allowed T Rez to release an album of tracks that ranged from the decent, "With Teeth", to the fantastically sublime, "All The Love In The World" and "Right Where It Belongs". The single, "The Hand That With Teeth was highly anticipated for me, since NIN could have gone in either direction in the six years since their last release. Luckily for me NIN appeared to be in a good space that allowed T Rez to release an album of tracks that ranged from the decent, "With Teeth", to the fantastically sublime, "All The Love In The World" and "Right Where It Belongs". The single, "The Hand That Feeds", is another stand out track that is reminiscent of earlier NIN releases, especially the high end tones in the crescendo at the song's end. Track #2, "You Know What You Are?", also seems to be from earlier NIN studio sessions. Overall, "With Teeth" seems to be one of NIN's better pop records that was aimed at getting him back in the charts and thus back in the public view as an artist who is trying to say something, unlike the vast majority of the acts dominating the charts, tv, and playlists. Expand
  7. TravisD.
    Aug 19, 2007
    10
    One of Trent's best albums
  8. Jean-FrancoisP.
    Jun 13, 2007
    9
    A solid hard rock album which lack a just bit of originality considering it's a Nine Inch Nails album. It's good to know however that Mr. Reznor has moved from the goth and "I hate God" period to present a more "adult" and accessible side. Hence, it is very different from the previous works. *The first album you should buy if you're new to NIN **The song Only definitely A solid hard rock album which lack a just bit of originality considering it's a Nine Inch Nails album. It's good to know however that Mr. Reznor has moved from the goth and "I hate God" period to present a more "adult" and accessible side. Hence, it is very different from the previous works. *The first album you should buy if you're new to NIN **The song Only definitely stands up as a sexy disco bass riff. Unique like only NIN can do. Expand
  9. Crash
    Apr 8, 2007
    8
    This is a solid record for Trent. It has enough substance for NIN fans and enough appeal to bring in new listeners. Perhaps the album could use more raw emotion I have come to expect from Mr. Reznor. Very solid outing but everyone in the world can find ways to improve and Trent is no exception.
  10. JB
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    First of all, to anyone who says Renzor has run out of ideas, or the album is some how misplaced in his brilliant career, I don't believe that he could have picked a better point in his career to produce such an album. Its not the 90's anymore, and sooner or later any artist has to change their sound. I believe that With Teeth was one of his best releases since his debut album, First of all, to anyone who says Renzor has run out of ideas, or the album is some how misplaced in his brilliant career, I don't believe that he could have picked a better point in his career to produce such an album. Its not the 90's anymore, and sooner or later any artist has to change their sound. I believe that With Teeth was one of his best releases since his debut album, the lyrics are as deep as ever, and I hope to god that we see more albums in the future. I give it a ten, and any true NIN fan would do the same... Garnett is right, its more than music, its therapy... Expand
  11. t.al
    Oct 7, 2006
    8
    i'm really enjoying 'with teeth'. 'now' i'm really listening to it. don't judge just listen is my advice. take your time. thanks trent. from you i don't expect anything. don't need.
  12. MattO
    Sep 23, 2006
    6
    Not that this is a bad album... It's just that, if Trent Reznor had evolved past his Pretty Hate Machine days, this would be great. Again, not that this is a bad album; if you took out a good portion of the lyrics and put in something less childish than "Every day is exactly the same" or "There is no you/There is only me." On a good note, several of the songs you wouldn't hear Not that this is a bad album... It's just that, if Trent Reznor had evolved past his Pretty Hate Machine days, this would be great. Again, not that this is a bad album; if you took out a good portion of the lyrics and put in something less childish than "Every day is exactly the same" or "There is no you/There is only me." On a good note, several of the songs you wouldn't hear on the radio (All the Love in the World, You Know What You Are, Sunspots, and the Line Begins to Blur) are a pretty good evolution for Reznor, whether or not this sounds like he did (lyrically, anyway) back when he first started. 3 of 5, 6 of 10. Expand
  13. Clark
    Sep 3, 2006
    8
    What people seem to forget when reviewing "With Teeth" is that it simply isn't the 1990s anymore. If Mr. Reznor gave us another electronic-soaked album with simple but true lyrics, people would complain that he's giving us the same thing since 1989. Not so. Personally, I believe this to be NIN's worst album, but what you have to remember is that NIN's worst is better What people seem to forget when reviewing "With Teeth" is that it simply isn't the 1990s anymore. If Mr. Reznor gave us another electronic-soaked album with simple but true lyrics, people would complain that he's giving us the same thing since 1989. Not so. Personally, I believe this to be NIN's worst album, but what you have to remember is that NIN's worst is better than most band's best. I'd rather listen to this than anything playing on the radio today. "Right Where It Belongs" is a great tune that sounds like it could have been on "The Fragile". Reznor reminds us that he can still produce a sexy hit, with "Only" and to a certain degree, "Sunspots". The lyrics are still simple, yet true. Worth the money I paid for it, and its getting a proper amount of play right now. Thank you, Trent! Expand
  14. DGarnett
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    This isn't music, it's therapy.
  15. N8Putnam
    May 9, 2006
    10
    This is exactly the NIN record that I was waiting for. It has 3 tracks from every era (PHM, Broken, TDS and TFragile). It's like an all original greatest hits album and I couldn't have been happier. Trent Reznor is just as angry as I wish I stll was. All the haters can just go jump. Brilliance. N8
  16. miguel
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Pretty amazing stuff. Admittedly, it will alienate longtime fans, but it'll snag him some new ones. I'm a perfect example. People like to rag on this album for being far too mainstream for Trent, but I think this newfound pop sensibility suits him very well. He's a brilliant musician and flexing his "hook" muscle only makes his music sound even more full of life. It makes Pretty amazing stuff. Admittedly, it will alienate longtime fans, but it'll snag him some new ones. I'm a perfect example. People like to rag on this album for being far too mainstream for Trent, but I think this newfound pop sensibility suits him very well. He's a brilliant musician and flexing his "hook" muscle only makes his music sound even more full of life. It makes for an album full of complex, depth-ridden soundscapes - with a pop twist. It sounds great. Turning 40 always does the trick in a veterans career. Expand
  17. GregS
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    absolutely the most incredible cd for anyone whos heard of any of the twelve steps of Narcotics/Alcoholics anonymous
  18. PaulH
    Mar 5, 2006
    10
    Abosolutly AMAZING by far Trent's best and most powerful album sure it is nothing like the downward spiral or pretty hate machine but it's even better, Its catchy, mesmorising and powerful but all in all a pure classic, Well Done Trent!!!!! (P.S Also my best album of the year)
  19. patriciar
    Feb 8, 2006
    10
    You guys are crazy. This Cd rocks, as well as all the other music Trent has ever made.
  20. StephenC
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    This album is by far the best album of 2005, due to its genuine blend of accessibility and complexity. While not up to par with The Fragile (a largely overlooked album by the general public), it clearly has more to offer than most of the Nine Inch Nails catalog (a difficult feat in and of itself).
  21. JohnH
    Jan 23, 2006
    8
    In the average reviewers mind, this isn
  22. BusH8TERIdiotSonofAN_
    Jan 8, 2006
    5
    Disappointing. The Fragile, was, in my opinion, one of the greatest albums of the 90s - by far and away NIN's finest achievement. Every song was a painstakingly woven tapestry of sounds and melodies that penetrated the very depths of the soul. It was beautiful, dark, and left one slightly different after a few dozen listens. No band should be expected to follow up an album like The Disappointing. The Fragile, was, in my opinion, one of the greatest albums of the 90s - by far and away NIN's finest achievement. Every song was a painstakingly woven tapestry of sounds and melodies that penetrated the very depths of the soul. It was beautiful, dark, and left one slightly different after a few dozen listens. No band should be expected to follow up an album like The Fragile with anything nearly as good. Unsurprisingly, With Teeth falls far short of The Fragile, yet Trent Reznor had a full 6 years to work on it! SIX YEARS! It is mystifying that after so much time, NIN offer up such a paltry effort. One feels while listening to With Teeth that it was thrown together in a few weeks to pay the bills. Another possible source of With Teeth's mediocrity is the loss of at least on NIN member. If I'm not mistaken, the guitarist Danny Lohner left the band, and he was certainly an important driving force behind The Fragile. Unfortunately, I cannot verify this since With Teeth has no liner notes, and the NIN website is down. NIN has such a wealth of brilliant material that they could fold tomorrow and be assured of a lasting legacy. Here's to hoping that they do fade away whilst recycling one mediocre album after another. Expand
  23. TaraV
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    NIN's best album.
  24. kevins
    Dec 24, 2005
    10
    NIN has many aspects that create it's original sound. This album seems more simplified then previous ones, and yet still very powerful. The lyrics are easier defined and realy hits the spot!
  25. mikeh
    Dec 17, 2005
    7
    I love NIN, but this is the weakest album. A few moments show greatness ("All the Love in the World", "Sunspots", and others), but it's like it lacks what made the other albums so great. Disappointing as a follow-up to _The Fragile_.
  26. dannyc
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    bad ass band!
  27. AdamT
    Nov 27, 2005
    9
    I listened to "With Teeth" as my first NIN album, I thought it was brilliant, and astounding, then I heard Trent's other records. And I saw the immense difference, it's not a bad one, but when comparing the simplistic poppy hooks of say "Only" to "Mr. Self Destruct" from the "Downward Spiral", "Teeth" sounds much more primitive, a step back sort of. But what's wrong with a I listened to "With Teeth" as my first NIN album, I thought it was brilliant, and astounding, then I heard Trent's other records. And I saw the immense difference, it's not a bad one, but when comparing the simplistic poppy hooks of say "Only" to "Mr. Self Destruct" from the "Downward Spiral", "Teeth" sounds much more primitive, a step back sort of. But what's wrong with a step back? NIN's instruments are much less thrown together, and are much easier to follow, the ballads are more immediately gratifying. This to me, is the worst NIN album, but the worst never sounded so good. Expand
  28. JonS
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    I must say that I can chill out and listen to Every song on this album! I've never been able to say that about Any album!
  29. JeromeS
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    I love this album. I wasn't a big fan of the last album, but this one has a fresh feel with beautiful, pain driven sounds. Unlike some other albums, the darkness is (welcomely) broken up a bit by some funkier songs in the middle of the album. All of it is pure NIN, but the last few tracks meld seamlessly into a masterful ending.
  30. GinaA
    Nov 4, 2005
    8
    I'm amazed with all the negative feedback on this album. If nin has in fact lost their touch, can someone tell me why all their shows continue to sell out within the first minute?
  31. PierreB
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    NIN keeps getting better and better
  32. maxf
    Oct 6, 2005
    7
    if not for sunspots i would have given this a 5. a major letdown after the promise and awesome work of art like THE FRAGILE.
  33. KingInk
    Sep 14, 2005
    9
    Bring it on. Every NIN album I've had the pleasure of witnessing has been a different treat. I owe so much of my life to this man and his incredible insights. With Teeth may be a bit more slick, but it's tight and executed with complete perfection.
  34. ArchV
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    This album is a change and if you can't feel it - go listen 'the downward spiral", "the fragile" or anything else. I like the way that Trent have done this record, it sounds fresh. All of the songs are recorded with live drums, guitars, synths.
  35. AndreaS
    Aug 28, 2005
    1
    Trent has indeed run out of ideas.
  36. vladv
    Aug 25, 2005
    10
    thank you trent
  37. kyler
    Aug 6, 2005
    9
    i wish people could simply accept change. I love this album but i know many people who love earlier nin but because of this album given up on trent and nin completly. So if you don't like with teeth go listen to the downward spiral and shut the fuck up!
  38. PaulF
    Jul 25, 2005
    9
    Shock horror! With Teeth dares to be different to The Downward Spiral....guess thats what you call progress. Reznor continues to move forward, sideways and horizontally, this is a fresh, imaginative and excellently produced album...as always!!
  39. CristinaC
    Jul 18, 2005
    10
    It is amusing to see how people cannot cope with the fact that a person is smart. Simply smart, simply distant. That's how Reznor was, that's how Reznor is and will be. And that seems to bother a lot of frustrated people. The album is good, obviously. Reznor remains a perfectionist in every way, as far as both music and lyrics are concerned.
  40. CarlyM
    Jul 14, 2005
    7
    One third digestble pop, one third bordering on rubbish (the title track, for starters) and one third completely inspired - Right Where it Belongs is exquisite, for which I forgive Trent the rest. Will get a lot more listening.
  41. TBoneM
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    This is a pretty damn good album. The collector, only. Plenty more. I've been listening to this alot lately.
  42. BrianC
    Jun 26, 2005
    4
    Aside from 2 good songs late on the album this is very unmemorable stuff. I am a huge NIN fan since way back in the day. I haven't listened to this in a month - but I have listened to every other NIN disk several times in the time period. Someone else said it best - this should have been solo work - It's not NIN. With Teeth - ha! yeah right! Trent's clearly spent more time Aside from 2 good songs late on the album this is very unmemorable stuff. I am a huge NIN fan since way back in the day. I haven't listened to this in a month - but I have listened to every other NIN disk several times in the time period. Someone else said it best - this should have been solo work - It's not NIN. With Teeth - ha! yeah right! Trent's clearly spent more time on his misguided and misinformed political rantings than his music. Look back at this disc in 5 or 10 years - it will widely be regarded as the weakest. Expand
  43. davidp
    Jun 19, 2005
    8
    A decent offering from Nine Inch Nails. Reviews keep saying there are no new ideas here and that the album is awful. Try listening to "All the Love in the World" and "ONly" -especially the latter-. Tretn Reznor's production values are relentless here as the album shows on hte 5.1 mix. Sad? Yes. Angry? Yes. Cheerful? Yeah, actually. Trent hasn't strech his vocals like this before A decent offering from Nine Inch Nails. Reviews keep saying there are no new ideas here and that the album is awful. Try listening to "All the Love in the World" and "ONly" -especially the latter-. Tretn Reznor's production values are relentless here as the album shows on hte 5.1 mix. Sad? Yes. Angry? Yes. Cheerful? Yeah, actually. Trent hasn't strech his vocals like this before and the increased piano use is a very bold move. Expand
  44. RyanM
    Jun 19, 2005
    9
    Reznor is a master of his instrumentation, but the way these songs were written, he might be a standout writer in any genre. Combining those two skills is With Teeth. It's not the best album of all time, but it's definitely better than you think it is.
  45. CosmoPrelog
    Jun 16, 2005
    1
    About 10 years ago I bet my friend Bobert that Trent Reznor would continue to make horrid records well into the 21 Century. I'm glad to report that I won that bet. Thanks for the moped Bobert!
  46. BrianT
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    Work of art. I had to wait five years for this. It was worth it.
  47. DeannaH
    Jun 15, 2005
    9
    From the beautiful "All The Love In The World" to the ass kicking "Do You Know What You Are" to the toe- tapping catchy almost-could-even-be top-40 "The Hand That Feeds" to the gut-wrenching "Right Where It Belongs", Trent again has given us some fine music. I personaly love his last project, 1999's "The Fragile", but "With Teeth" is by far his best release since 1994's "The From the beautiful "All The Love In The World" to the ass kicking "Do You Know What You Are" to the toe- tapping catchy almost-could-even-be top-40 "The Hand That Feeds" to the gut-wrenching "Right Where It Belongs", Trent again has given us some fine music. I personaly love his last project, 1999's "The Fragile", but "With Teeth" is by far his best release since 1994's "The Downward Spiral". Trent Reznor is back in full swing. Expand
  48. LennonM
    Jun 10, 2005
    9
    I cant claim to be a NIN expert or anything but I am familiar with their work to an extent. Personally I really enjoyed this album. I realize its not their best or anything, but it was definitely a solid 9.
  49. GaryA
    Jun 8, 2005
    9
    Delivers what you would Expect when you buy
  50. DecepticonPom
    Jun 7, 2005
    8
    You can smell the Depeche production. It's a great return.
  51. DavidG
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Some of the best from Rezor, this man is truly a saint, he bears his entire soul and hides nothing. He is what he is and it comes through in his music. God bless Trent.
  52. LaurenB
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    In my opinion, Trent Reznor is one of the only musicians out there today who can create truly engaging songs from such a vast array of sounds- whether they be instrumental, electronic, vocal, or anything else. He can layer what feels like an infinite number of sounds over one another and make them work together to create one mammoth, and usually flawless, piece of music. He is a modern In my opinion, Trent Reznor is one of the only musicians out there today who can create truly engaging songs from such a vast array of sounds- whether they be instrumental, electronic, vocal, or anything else. He can layer what feels like an infinite number of sounds over one another and make them work together to create one mammoth, and usually flawless, piece of music. He is a modern composer. On the other hand, he is also able to create some of the most beautiful and intriguing songs I have ever heard with nothing more than a few simple piano chords and his alluring voice. The awe-inspiring and unique thing about Trent Reznor lies in his ability to achieve both of these extremes- intelligent, definitive complexity and stunning, affecting simplicity. I think this kind of ability is rare these days, and I think 'With Teeth' demonstrates and exemplifies his talent. Expand
  53. JohnM.
    May 31, 2005
    10
    I also expected him to evolve his style to something more subtle (ie: the "Still" album). Nonetheless I was gripped by this CD from the start. I feel that TR nearly covers all his past styles (with a touch of new) on this CD. HIs lyrics seem more coherent than ever or at least on-par with "Pretty Hate Machine". There is a noticeable lack of strong instumental tracks but that may be only I also expected him to evolve his style to something more subtle (ie: the "Still" album). Nonetheless I was gripped by this CD from the start. I feel that TR nearly covers all his past styles (with a touch of new) on this CD. HIs lyrics seem more coherent than ever or at least on-par with "Pretty Hate Machine". There is a noticeable lack of strong instumental tracks but that may be only in comparison to "The Fragile" and the "Still" album. Although many tracks sound very refined and orchestrated like in his later work, the overall mood and atmosphere of the album in it's entirety feels chaotic and frustrated like in "Pretty Hate Machine" and "Broken". I think this was TR's intention given the album title "With Teeth". I wouldn't underestimate TR. I think he's got more surprises coming relatively soon. He talks about it a bit on his website. SCORE: 9.8 Expand
  54. NeilT
    May 30, 2005
    9
    Trent Reznor did me a favour. He came back again with a dynamite album!
  55. zackg
    May 28, 2005
    10
    It is not The Downward Spiral or The Fragile, but it definitely is not crap either. With Teeth is very catchy and does (believe it or not) feature some maturity on Reznor's behalf.
  56. AlanD
    May 26, 2005
    10
    Very interesting. I love that Trent does what he wants. This is an excellent album.
  57. MichaelH
    May 26, 2005
    9
    It is a good album. All these other wannabe critics should listen to some FM radio for a day before critiquing him for not "maturing". Whats wrong with being accessable? I've got every album the guy has and seen him in concert twice and I like it. If you can't get up and move to "The Hand that Feeds" It might be time to move on.
  58. jayman
    May 23, 2005
    5
    4 or 5 good tracks this time out...Reznor clearly is not maturing...I hoped he would turn a corner and dive into more subtle electronics or something, you know, moved on....He could still be a main force in music but chooses not to....
  59. Bruno
    May 23, 2005
    6
    This is far nin worst album. I'm disappointed. The whole album sounds like "The greatest hits of Marylin Manson" But it's not enough for trent and it can't be compared to Fragile, Spiral or Pretty Hate Machine. It's musically, lyrically inmature.
  60. MarcoC
    May 22, 2005
    10
    great album. more to the point then all his previous efforts but can't surpass the downward spiral honestly.
  61. Jen
    May 21, 2005
    10
    Everybody is entitled to their own opinion. I adore this CD.
  62. SakayeSue
    May 20, 2005
    8
    Lets face it, the man is a brilliant musician. Though this album pales by comparison to the Fragile, it shines in comparison to almost any other album out there. With Teeth is energy charged, accessible, and satisfying.
  63. m.johnson
    May 20, 2005
    1
    what the hell are you all talking about? have you NEVER listened to the downward spiral? how could he go from that to THIS? it's utterly disappointing. sorry, trent. :/
  64. ErwinK
    May 18, 2005
    10
    bliss..
  65. HoolaGoola
    May 18, 2005
    8
    With songs like Sunspots,Every Day Is Exactly The Same,Only,and Love Is Not Enough,it's evident that Reznor's depth has grown even greater.Still can't see how people can claim that this is such a "radio-friendly" album though.This isn't RadioDoodyHead or Limp Shitzkit.This is an honest to God Nine Inch Nails album.Probably the most honest and personal yet.I admire the With songs like Sunspots,Every Day Is Exactly The Same,Only,and Love Is Not Enough,it's evident that Reznor's depth has grown even greater.Still can't see how people can claim that this is such a "radio-friendly" album though.This isn't RadioDoodyHead or Limp Shitzkit.This is an honest to God Nine Inch Nails album.Probably the most honest and personal yet.I admire the effortless delivery on it.Buy it. Expand
  66. TimR
    May 17, 2005
    9
    Very much a mature, layered album representing a refinement of what was presented on The Fragile. Let's be honest, Downward Spiral is the watershed album of Trent's career. But that doesn't mean With Teeth isn't one of his best...it is...and that's among a body of work that is nothing short of stellar.
  67. MichaelD
    May 17, 2005
    0
    This does not sound anything like the Nine Inch Nails. This is by far the worst album i have ever bought. Trent Reznor owes me $10!!!!!!!
  68. carlos
    May 17, 2005
    8
    got to love it, good job guyz!
  69. EricaS
    May 17, 2005
    7
    This is definitely an improverment from the fragile, this should have come out a longtime ago.
  70. JoshL
    May 15, 2005
    4
    Before this album, Reznor wrote all the material, recorded it, then hired musicians to play it on tour. For With Teeth, he actually assembled a band; and that was the problem: it sounds too much like THEM and not enough like HIM. Track 13 is the only one that shows any real creativity.
  71. Glenh
    May 15, 2005
    9
    Great tunes, takes at least 2 times listening to the CD to get into the tunes. Listening with headphones at very high volumes brings out the best.
  72. JeremiahH
    May 14, 2005
    10
    One of the best Halo albums ever( for those of you who actually are hardcore fans you'd knoe what i'm talking about) and considering the fact that they've managed to keep it fresh since 1989, if you can believe it, then that is what makes this album so amazing. can't wait til' halo 20. And hopefully they'll have some instrumental songs.
  73. AdamC.
    May 14, 2005
    8
    As an avid NIN fan, I believe this album was worth the 6 year wait since The Fragile. Of all the elements of music, Reznor is the reigning master of texture; I have always appreciated how each of his albums and songs has a completely unique fabric of sound. With Teeth also marvels in textural soundscapes; just listen to the varying colors of "You Know What You Are" and "Right Where It As an avid NIN fan, I believe this album was worth the 6 year wait since The Fragile. Of all the elements of music, Reznor is the reigning master of texture; I have always appreciated how each of his albums and songs has a completely unique fabric of sound. With Teeth also marvels in textural soundscapes; just listen to the varying colors of "You Know What You Are" and "Right Where It Belongs". Perhaps all the more impressive is that Reznor is still creating music that sounds fresh and relevant, even 11 years after the pinnacle of The Downward Spiral. Expand
  74. K.Major
    May 14, 2005
    8
    A little better than The Fragile but not nearly as good as his older albums. Tracks 1, 12, and 13 are awesome, and they sound like nothing NIN's done before, while tracks 4 and 8 recall his best moments. This album is definetly worth buying if you're a fan of NIN, if you're not, you should start with some of his older albums. Note: NIN so did NOT spend six years writing A little better than The Fragile but not nearly as good as his older albums. Tracks 1, 12, and 13 are awesome, and they sound like nothing NIN's done before, while tracks 4 and 8 recall his best moments. This album is definetly worth buying if you're a fan of NIN, if you're not, you should start with some of his older albums. Note: NIN so did NOT spend six years writing this album, if you've been keeping up at all you'll know that he has recently recuperated from a serious alcohol problem and didn't start working until a few years ago. Expand
  75. JasonD
    May 14, 2005
    2
    I've followed NIN from the get go, and maybe now it's ended........only 3 tracks are even decent.......Trent has never produced an album that where every song sounded the same, they've all been phenominal........until now.....very disappointed.
  76. JasonH
    May 13, 2005
    10
    Great. Fresh and classic. Trent is Back
  77. Francesco
    May 12, 2005
    8
    3 very good songs - track 4, 12,13 - other is boring. Big step from Fragile. I dont know if it is good.
  78. kevin
    May 11, 2005
    10
    Trent Reznor has made another quality disk. There is no other music that I can compare to his. Evry song has a sound of its own. Most bands sound the same on every album where he manages to make every song its own experience. good job and hopefully it wont be a long time before the next album. NIN Rules
  79. LeonardoF
    May 11, 2005
    5
    did he took almost 6 years to make THIS record? bullshit. except for the last two tracks, the album is boring.
  80. RayonD
    May 11, 2005
    2
    Not NIN quality should be a solo album
  81. RobL
    May 10, 2005
    9
    Trent Reznor Eates many faces on this classic
  82. MarkusA.
    May 10, 2005
    9
    First nine inch nails album I've bought and the best purchase I've made this year.
  83. CherylD
    May 10, 2005
    10
    Good to see NIN back and still rockin!
  84. ExitDomina
    May 10, 2005
    10
    Excellent release, totally worth the 5 years, Viva la NIN!!
  85. MatthewB
    May 9, 2005
    10
    It was worth the wait
  86. juanc
    May 9, 2005
    4
    Boring
  87. GabrielS
    May 8, 2005
    9
    "With Teeth" fell short of a "10" because 1) there isn't really any transitional music connecting each song as in all previous NIN albums --a quality which set NIN apart from nearly every other band I know, and 2) the lack of instrumentals. Of course, Art is a subjective experience, whether as creator or consumer, and rating or grading Art is kind of ridiculous to begin with. I "With Teeth" fell short of a "10" because 1) there isn't really any transitional music connecting each song as in all previous NIN albums --a quality which set NIN apart from nearly every other band I know, and 2) the lack of instrumentals. Of course, Art is a subjective experience, whether as creator or consumer, and rating or grading Art is kind of ridiculous to begin with. I cannot call Trent (or anyone) a genius. But he has certainly reached the level of genius with each of his albums (not to mention his soundtrack work). Hopefully he will let all the criticism roll right off of him, and do what he does no matter what the world thinks. Expand
  88. stacyl
    May 8, 2005
    10
    It's understandable why Trent produces a CD about every five years. Perfection takes time!
  89. DawnW
    May 8, 2005
    10
    Since I seem to be one of the freaks who liked the Fragile all of the way through, I was actually disappointed at how short this album was. On the other hand, With Teeth is exactly what I need from him now, something lean and fun and loud and ready to rip you up. I agree, the layers of this album reveal themselves with repeated listens (I'm on about my tenth spin now between the car Since I seem to be one of the freaks who liked the Fragile all of the way through, I was actually disappointed at how short this album was. On the other hand, With Teeth is exactly what I need from him now, something lean and fun and loud and ready to rip you up. I agree, the layers of this album reveal themselves with repeated listens (I'm on about my tenth spin now between the car and the computer.) Thanks for sticking out all the shit Trent, and keep it coming. I'm waiting, looking for the end of the f-ing tunnel too. Expand
  90. Dan
    May 7, 2005
    10
    Worth every penny.
  91. JosephR
    May 7, 2005
    9
    'With Teeth' is a breath of fresh air in the midst of this atrocious music scene at the present.
  92. AmitS
    May 7, 2005
    7
    A great album which allows Nine Inch Nails to flex their song writing muscle. Few tracks however, allow Nine Inch Nails' brilliance to be fully realised. An enjoyable and interesting listen.
  93. BenM
    May 7, 2005
    10
    More reminiscent to "Pretty Hate Machine" than "Downward Spiral" to me, but a major return to form with only one slightly duff track (the title track). "Right where it belongs" has to be the successor to "Hurt" - especially after Johnny Cash made it his own
  94. DemonicAngel
    May 7, 2005
    7
    Well, here's the good news - it doesn't entirely suck like so many of us were dreading. ;) Some of the tunes are extremely catchy and remind me of Pretty Hate Machine as well as some of the less suicidal moments of The Downward Spiral, and Trent's production skills are as masterful as ever. The less good news is - the songs (more so in the first half of the album than the Well, here's the good news - it doesn't entirely suck like so many of us were dreading. ;) Some of the tunes are extremely catchy and remind me of Pretty Hate Machine as well as some of the less suicidal moments of The Downward Spiral, and Trent's production skills are as masterful as ever. The less good news is - the songs (more so in the first half of the album than the second) are very repetitious; Trent's vocals, which weren't awe-inspiring to begin with, are really starting to sound strained; and the lyrics are frankly laughable (but then, they've been approaching self-parody since The Fragile). The best way to sum it up is "NIN By Numbers". It's a solid album and should please fans desperate for a quick fix of new NIN, but there's nothing especially new to write home about here. Expand
  95. MichaelK
    May 7, 2005
    6
    A slight return to form in that the music is a fair bit more interesting and natural than The Fragile (none of the forced overbearing instrumentals), and though the lyrics are pretty much the same banal subject matter they at least strive for a punchiness of the past. The title track will probably be the only one I listen to in years coming, however...
  96. mattheww
    May 7, 2005
    10
    ha! better than anything he's done. and pisses all over coldplays latest effort. up yours!
  97. MichaelB
    May 7, 2005
    10
    I could go on for pages, but I'll save you some time and just say BUY IT.
  98. RyanD
    May 6, 2005
    7
    A solid album from start to finish. But sounds too much like the downward spiral. That isn't necessarily a bad thing, I love the downward spiral, but I really thought each and every NIN album had a distinct and innovative sound, that is until this one. Still good though
  99. GD
    May 6, 2005
    9
    This is one of NIN's better albums, sounding at times like both The Perfect Drug and Downward Spiral with a touch of The Fragile. The catchiest tracks are "you know what you are" , "everyday is exactly the same" and "getting smaller" but each song is solid.
  100. JorgeD
    May 6, 2005
    9
    While not as epic or ambitious as TDS or TF, this is an amazing record. It's f**** great to hear new NIN material after all this years!
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Quite frankly, this is the record that NIN should have released if Reznor had wanted to capitalize on the success of The Downward Spiral.
  2. More in line with his tighter debut, Pretty Hate Machine, With Teeth is made up of bursts of dark, scary and paranoid gut punches.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Reznor seems to have finally grasped that listening to a NIN album should not be as torturous as whatever artistic agony went into its creation. [29 Apr 2005, p.145]