WIXIW - Liars
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    Blew me away. By far my favorite album of the year. None of the tracks really fit together or carry some overarching theme (other than stylistically), which makes each song easily identifiable and memorable. I like concept albums but I find most to be pretentious and a little tiring as most of them are just too long and congested. But WIXIW seems easy to listen to if you like to digestBlew me away. By far my favorite album of the year. None of the tracks really fit together or carry some overarching theme (other than stylistically), which makes each song easily identifiable and memorable. I like concept albums but I find most to be pretentious and a little tiring as most of them are just too long and congested. But WIXIW seems easy to listen to if you like to digest music rather than just throw something on the stereo. I get all the Kid A comparisons with electronics/atmospherics but I think Liars have a more sinister and creepy approach to their music. Sisterwold scared the **** out of everyone, but WIXIW while retaining that nightmarish quality seems more aware of the fact and uses gentle touches of synth and other odd noises to keep that paranoia still present but subdued and accessible. Expand
  2. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    ALBUM OF THE YEAR (2012) - LIARS' "WIXIW" - (MUTE)

    Call it Liars' 'Gone Electric Album' minus the motorcycle accident. From the music releases I've heard this year, in the borderless world of boarded-up bodies, LIARS' 'WIXIW' is the album that stayed with me like a life-vest. Under-reviewed and undersold by most of the music press this year, "Wish You" is an album worth rejoicing for.
    ALBUM OF THE YEAR (2012) - LIARS' "WIXIW" - (MUTE)

    Call it Liars' 'Gone Electric Album' minus the motorcycle accident. From the music releases I've heard this year, in the borderless world of boarded-up bodies, LIARS' 'WIXIW' is the album that stayed with me like a life-vest. Under-reviewed and undersold by most of the music press this year, "Wish You" is an album worth rejoicing for. It refuses the easy pop-single and jingle dandruff, even though 'No. #1 Against the Rush' and the 'Exact Color of Doubt' might suggest the opposite. It twists with its own sense of Los Angeles belonging. Recorded under Highway 101--from a road that entrances and disenchants its night-riders with ease--came the sound of this brand new world. Seemingly modest in contrast to Liars' masterpiece of 2006 ('Drum's Not Dead') and their other, more abrasive albums, 'Wish You' grows over you like a wet cloak of its own dark making; it rises in shadows while hiding its wearer's countenance; it's all atmosphere, all the time. The woozy, slurred synths, bird calls, echo loops. For a band known for its no wave guitars, vulcan drumming and pagan chanting, Liars retransmits Gary Numan and Aphex Twin with their own left-hand designs. They drop the noise of their Art Punk past and go wildly into the night streaking Daft Punk, transmuting alabaster surfaces into echo chambers. 'Wish You' is a warm, brave and spectral beauty, showcasing--in the most singular fashion--Angus Andrew's most fragile of falsettos. As their first electronic album, it's 'Kid A'--but with all of the warmth and grandeur of 'In Rainbows.' And of all the albums I heard this year, this one came calling back to me like someone I had lost once but still loved. It dialed back to my phone, my car, my computer, and even into the dreams of the unseen. [100/100]
    Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    Love this album. The first time I listened to WIXIW, it went over my head, but after a few listens, it is a very addictive and cohesive album. That is what I love about this album by Liars in particular, there are so many inaccessible tunes like Octagon and Flood to Flood that become ear worms once the album sinks in. This has been compared to Kid A, but honestly, there is very littleLove this album. The first time I listened to WIXIW, it went over my head, but after a few listens, it is a very addictive and cohesive album. That is what I love about this album by Liars in particular, there are so many inaccessible tunes like Octagon and Flood to Flood that become ear worms once the album sinks in. This has been compared to Kid A, but honestly, there is very little filler here (other than Ill Valley Prodigies) and a better album IMO. Highly recommended for anybody craving something different. Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    really like this album, it's ambitious and nothing like the liars have done. think radiohead's 'kid a', only this is more memorable. best album of 2012 thus far and my favourite liars album. in fact this album makes me feellke calling the liars my favourite band right now, cos all the white boy indie that is around now pales into mediocrity next to this album. electronic wonderment!
  5. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    Album "WIXIW" - meaning "wish you" - is probably the most experimental-electronic position in six album Liars band's career. Arrangements visible even after "The Exact Colour Of Doubt" is a result of a bit ambiental, sometimes even drone style - through a greater focus on the color of the presented sound than in fact on a melodys tone - which is visible even in the "Octagon". It can beAlbum "WIXIW" - meaning "wish you" - is probably the most experimental-electronic position in six album Liars band's career. Arrangements visible even after "The Exact Colour Of Doubt" is a result of a bit ambiental, sometimes even drone style - through a greater focus on the color of the presented sound than in fact on a melodys tone - which is visible even in the "Octagon". It can be concluded that the works represented by the brilliant single "No.1 Against The Rush", keep their moody, varied climate throughout the disc. Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2012
    8
    Stylistic sequel to They Were Wrong; thematic lovechild of Drum's Not Dead and Sisterworld. Lyrically, the album is written up to be more than it is - only a few songs are conceptually tied, and Liars have explored electronic styles similar to those found here many times before. The biggest problem with WIXIW is it suggests a more perfect sound that balances the cerebral, tribal rockStylistic sequel to They Were Wrong; thematic lovechild of Drum's Not Dead and Sisterworld. Lyrically, the album is written up to be more than it is - only a few songs are conceptually tied, and Liars have explored electronic styles similar to those found here many times before. The biggest problem with WIXIW is it suggests a more perfect sound that balances the cerebral, tribal rock propulsion of "Broken Witch" and "Proud Evolution" with the calculated, over-structured futurism of the title track, "No 1 Against the Rush," and "His and Mine Sensations." Focus on the album like reading a map, with each song being its own unique area to explore while still bearing electronic motifs strewn throughout. That's the best way to tackle WIXIW if your new to Liars, or to reconcile this record with the rest of their discography if your a long time fan. It's an 8-9 float. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2012
    4
    If you listened to Kid A and Amnesiac, get ready for some deja vu. This is, essentially, those records without any of the interesting bits. Liars have always been more ambitious than talented, and that trend continues unabated here.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    60
    For a record that strives to sound disembodied, it has a powerful grip. [Jul 2012, p.105]
  2. 90
    Liars have created another standout album that while dissimilar from the rest, is nothing short of amazing and nothing of a surprise from such an exceptional band.
  3. Jul 19, 2012
    80
    WIXIW's pop is still complex and affecting and of beguiling substance. [Aug 2012, p.91]