Wolf

Wolf Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 162 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length studio release from the Odd Future rapper features guest appearances from such artists as Erykah Badu, Hodgy Beats, Frank Ocean, Pharrell, Laetitia Sadier, and Earl Sweatshirt.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. 90
    Wolf is both a departure and a refinement for Tyler, combining his best traits in such a way as to nearly eliminate his weaknesses.
  2. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    We already knew he was a talented composer and producer, but Wolf suggests he now may just be the finished article.
  3. 80
    At times, there's the sense Tyler's charisma outweighs his content, and as such it's probably up to Earl to deliver the group's first bona fide hip-hop classic.
  4. 70
    Tyler is his own worst enemy, of course. But the buoyancy of the production and the overall intrigue of hearing him struggle with his idle hands prevent the album from getting mired down in too much vanity.
  5. Jun 26, 2013
    70
    It's complex, conflicted, and bipolar. Paranoid, even. Most of all, it reveals the harmless and empathetic character behind Tyler, the Creator's complicated persona.
  6. Apr 4, 2013
    70
    This album is so enjoyable on a musical level that my qualms with Tyler as a personality are essentially nullified, but I’m not sure that will ring true for most others.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    This album is perfect. Tyler has finally matured and found the perfect mix between his usual self that we have seen on Goblin and Bastard andThis album is perfect. Tyler has finally matured and found the perfect mix between his usual self that we have seen on Goblin and Bastard and his new self that we see here on Wolf. Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Tyler, The Creator finally drops his third anticipated album, and in it contains musical growth from all aspects that most hip-hop fans canTyler, The Creator finally drops his third anticipated album, and in it contains musical growth from all aspects that most hip-hop fans can enjoy. This concept album strays a little off from the previous story line of his last two tapes and leaves you with a cliffhanger that excites you for his future releases. Everything is tuned and improved from lyrics to production, and each track has a different type of experience to provide. Tyler The Creator's new musical piece just could be his best one yet. Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    I think this albums is his best album to me personally. He has matured from Goblin a lot. He stated that, cutting bodies up and raping didn'tI think this albums is his best album to me personally. He has matured from Goblin a lot. He stated that, cutting bodies up and raping didn't interest anymore. With this album you get a personal track like "Answer" then you have your having fun go stupid song like "Domo 23" and then you have my favorite which is "Rusty" where he just goes off. His lyrics have gotten way better since Goblin. The production on this album is great!! SO FAR this is the best hip-hop album of 2013. SO FAR!!!! Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    One thing Tyler presents to us in Wolf is that he has finally matured, alot.

    No longer is he talking about rape, no longer do his beats
    One thing Tyler presents to us in Wolf is that he has finally matured, alot.

    No longer is he talking about rape, no longer do his beats feel thrown together but instead feel like hes put in everything he has got to show.

    I love this LP for its catchy instrumentals, brilliant ideas, funny but deep lyrics and its overall consistency.
    Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    The production has improved astronomically since Goblin. There are many great features on this album and it is a joy to listen to. Tyler'sThe production has improved astronomically since Goblin. There are many great features on this album and it is a joy to listen to. Tyler's flow has also improved since goblin. Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2013
    8
    I won’t lie and claim that I’ve been on this ish since the beginning; I was never the biggest advocate of the Odd Future crew. I found theirI won’t lie and claim that I’ve been on this ish since the beginning; I was never the biggest advocate of the Odd Future crew. I found their musings, or lack their of, to be childish and undeveloped (admittedly, the beats were always sick). In recent times, though, the bunch are earning my love and the attention of my ears. This includes ring leader Tyler, The Creator, whose first two works, Bastard (2009) and Goblin (2011) didn’t quite do it for me on their own. And yet, he’s got me swooning with Wolf, the seemingly final album of Tyler’s theorized “Wolf Trilogy.”...

    Read more at: http://www.recomedia.net/music/tyler-the-creator-wolf-review/
    Collapse
  7. Apr 7, 2013
    0
    I'd struggle to call this music. This is pretentious whining from a sad little man with no life experience. It sounds like he recorded it inI'd struggle to call this music. This is pretentious whining from a sad little man with no life experience. It sounds like he recorded it in his basement on garageband. Stay away. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews