• Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2005
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    Iron & Wine's finest work. Not a bad song on it. I just wish it was longer.
  2. iand
    Jan 24, 2006
    10
    Jezebel is my favorite song . period. numero uno. When I saw him play it in concert I cried.
  3. HarryH
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    Jezebel is the upmost enspiring song i've heard by Iron&Wine yet.
  4. carlosa
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    I was a fan of iron and wine before but didn't have any of his albums but when i heard the woman king ep i instantly liked it and went out and bought it. Sam Beam is channeling some mean,wild 50s delta bluesmen spirits in songs like "woman king", "freedom hangs like heaven", and "evening on the ground (lilith's song)".
  5. matta
    May 26, 2005
    9
    Really, not a bad song on here. Sam Beam's voice mixed with his laid-back approach and beautiful lyrics make his music so special, and so easy to appreciate on repeated listens.
  6. RebekahC
    May 26, 2005
    9
    This EP is amazing, Jezebel is a beautiful song that depicts the story almost sweetly :) .. buy this now
  7. DaveyS
    May 6, 2005
    9
    If you don't like this, then you don't like music...each song is dripping in melody....some of my favorite recordings are EP's that perfect length that satisfies yet leaves you craving a little more...you'd have to go out of your way not to like this...
  8. TomasM
    May 1, 2005
    10
    I think this release has changed the Iron & Wine style from Our Endless Numbered Days. It's more focused, a little less washy. It really reminds me of where Jason Molina is taking his music with the new Magnolia Electric Company stuff - a little heavier, more definite riffs, very reminiscent of Neil Young and his time with Crosby Stills and Nash. Personally, I love this change, I I think this release has changed the Iron & Wine style from Our Endless Numbered Days. It's more focused, a little less washy. It really reminds me of where Jason Molina is taking his music with the new Magnolia Electric Company stuff - a little heavier, more definite riffs, very reminiscent of Neil Young and his time with Crosby Stills and Nash. Personally, I love this change, I really think it focuses Iron and WIne's obvious songwriting talent and makes the payback more immediate. I came away with a much stronger initial impression than when I bought the other two albums. The Woman King EP really blew me away. Expand
  9. AnneW
    Apr 28, 2005
    8
    Solid lyrics and music. However, I think that his past work is a little better. There is no single song on this CD that has captured me like "Cinder and Smoke" or "Naked As We Came".
  10. Chloé
    Apr 20, 2005
    7
    I actually prefer this to his former work... The title track especially is great, and I love that it is a collection about women, which gives the EP particular purpose and an interesting concept.
  11. StarletDragoness
    Apr 17, 2005
    10
    Personally, I felt that the songs on the album were fantastic. I am rather eclectic in my taste of music for the most part, and I can enjoy just about anything- but to find a sing that actually touches me and causes me to stop whatever else I am doing just to sit and listen... This is rare...
  12. Wes
    Apr 6, 2005
    7
    Hmm. I'm an enormous fan of Iron and Wine, and a big reason for that is their signature sound - which seems to be changing. Several critics are seeing this as a good thing, and perhaps it is, but it will take more than this to convince me it's superior. Less hush, more percussion and suddenly Beams voice has less allure, and more pedestrian harmonics. Additionally, Beam seems to Hmm. I'm an enormous fan of Iron and Wine, and a big reason for that is their signature sound - which seems to be changing. Several critics are seeing this as a good thing, and perhaps it is, but it will take more than this to convince me it's superior. Less hush, more percussion and suddenly Beams voice has less allure, and more pedestrian harmonics. Additionally, Beam seems to have traded in the achey beauty and complexity of his lyrics for a little more sonic punch. Don't get me wrong, this is good stuff - but I'm personally hoping for a return to the simplicity of Creek Drank the Cradle. Expand
  13. JohnR
    Apr 6, 2005
    9
    Another stellar Iron & Wine release, with not a wasted note. Excellent ep.
  14. RavingLunatic
    Apr 2, 2005
    4
    Jezebel is still fantastic, and In My Lady's House is pretty good, but the rest just bites. These songs are not good. I've listened to them several times, and they still do not come close to connecting. I think everyone is so anxious to give Sam Beam plaudits for changing up his style that they've overlooked the stale songs. Buyer beware.
  15. MichaelL
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    There was one song off the last record: "Cinder and Smoke" that caught my attention. This short, brilliant EP blew my expectations right off the reviews, websites, etc... It's been awhile since one record, especially one that doesn't really fit in with my already eclectic taste struck me insantly as something I'd probably be listening to for the rest of my life.
  16. thomas
    Mar 27, 2005
    7
    it's puzzling me as to how everyone is saying this is so different or a real progression, but to me, any one of these songs could fit on Endless Numbered Days. i really, really want to like Iron & Wine but too many songs sound too much alike.
  17. Tocci
    Mar 1, 2005
    9
    As usual Mr. Beam has crafted a brilliant album... this time lyrics which float around the role of women in mythology and religion without being too cryptic or scholarly. The new instrumentation is an interesting approach. I especially like the percussion which makes me think that Wilco is not the only band currently listening to Califone.
  18. MackyO
    Feb 28, 2005
    8
    Nice change of pace from Endless Numbered Days, which I count as a dissapointment. Days had a lot more of a blues-leaning than Creek, and Woman King takes those tendencies and brings them a little closer to perfection.
  19. ChrisC
    Feb 25, 2005
    9
    I like this a *lot* better than Endless Numbered Days. It has everything that was good about Endless Numbered Days, but with more energetic, engaging songwriting. I can't wait for Beam's next full album, if this is a preview.
  20. JamesH
    Feb 25, 2005
    9
    Interestingly less lo-fi that previous efforts. Songs (Jezebel, In My Ladys House) that are very similar to previous style of writing really stand out over the more faster paced tracks. One major problem is that it doens't have enough songs on it but then i always hold by quality over quantity.
  21. ag
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    does this guy ever dissapoint? so far, no! he switches it up a bit, and it's still great. his 4 releases are more consitantly great than any other band/artist i can think of. awesome.
  22. AnneL
    Feb 23, 2005
    9
    I love this EP. I didn't know if I would like Iron and Wine with electric guitars, etc, but somehow it still works. Each song is awesome, but Jezebel really stands out.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Woman King is an ideal transition record for Beam, interweaving colorful new threads into a familiar pattern and hinting at powerful and majestic songcraft to come on his next full-length.
  2. Woman King is too short to be considered the high point of Iron & Wine's career -- it certainly points in that direction, though.
  3. Woman King subtly opens the sonic palette up to include more percussion, piano, and wait is that an electric guitar?